We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good affordable meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Porton

El Porton
Gral Flores 333, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
052 25318
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: South American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Very good affordable meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

The value for the quality of food is quite good at El Porton. The service was also pretty attentive and friendly. The pork with apple sauce was the best dish at our table with the ravioli as a close second. Don't skip dessert--the chocolate cake with dolce de leche was outstanding. The cost came to about $25/each with tip.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    68
    137
    27
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We went here after reading other reviews. The restaurant opens at 8 (at least on fridays). The entrecote steak was awesome. That, plus my wife's stuffed pasta (also very good), provoletta (grilled provolone appetizer) and a half bottle of wine came to US $35 - can't beat it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downey, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Parrillada in Colonia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We ate there one evening in September of 2011 and enjoyed the experience very much. The servers were courteous and the food good. We sat at a table with a good view of the parrilla and were able to enjoy seeing all the various meats being grilled there. Good central location very close the to Historic district. We would go back again.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We ate here on our first night in Colonia and enjoyed it so much we went back a second time. Good food, good atmosphere, good service all at afair price.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great traditional cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

If you have the opportunity to stop in, get a seat on the porch and try the Tannat. Good service !

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Porton also viewed

Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
 
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
 

Been to El Porton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Porton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.