We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colonia Suite

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Colonia Suite to your Saves list
Colonia Suite
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Gral Lavalleja 169, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights in late November and were absolutely thrilled with this relaxed but perfectly appointed b&b. Centrally located near all the restaurants and attractions of the old city but off the main drag and very quiet at night. The Argentinian owner and his partner are friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Breakfast was simple and wonderful- served out in the garden if the sun is shining. The rooms were huge and comfortable, with the plushest towels I experienced in our three weeks in Uruguay, two couches and a super snuggly bed. Very much wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    50
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
57
187
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We recently rented two of the three suites in this B&B during a four day family holiday over New Year's. All of us were extremely pleased with our accommodations: both rooms were spacious and included sitting areas, a small sink and frig. The rooms were quiet and comfortable and well appointed. There is also a pretty communal area for reading or conversation. Fred was an especially patient, helpful and charming host and his lovely B&B made our terrific stay in Colonia all the better. We enjoyed breakfast in a walled garden in the morning and often returned there later in the day to read and enjoy a glass of wine. Not to be missed if you are spending any time in this charming town!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsdale, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

From the greeting we got from Fred when we walked in, to the beautiful room we stayed in, to the great breakfast in the morning, they really know how to do it at Colonia Suite.

Its a quick walk from the port, another few blocks to old town, and very peaceful.

Room Tip: Large room, upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and loved it. Fred and Jackie were very welcoming and friendly and made every effort to make sure we enjoyed our stay. Our room was spacious and well appointed and the breakfasts were amazing! Our two children (4 and 5 years of age) were well looked after too, even though they were not the quietest of guests! I would definitely recommend staying here when you are in Colonia.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Very stylish, great breakfast in the garden, very good location, very friendly staff. We had great weather but my only fear would be it could get cold in the room on cold nights as the place isn't the most airtight. Overall very good place

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Absolutely loved Colonia Suite. The owner, Fred, was a fantastic host and the property is beatiful.

The room was huge and well appointed, even had a little kitchenette area. Breakfast was great with croissants, jams, and of course all of the fixings for a chivita.

Fred was extremely helpful, he even offered to give us some money as we were having trouble with some of the ATM machines in town! (we ended up getting some though).

I would definitely return, but would stay longer next time!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Some weeks ago I went to Colonia with my girlfriend in order to fly away from Buenos Aires and relax some days. We spent are ally awesome time (not literally; it basically rained the three days we stayed there!) and mainly thanks to Fred and Jackie. Since the very first moment we entered into this lovely hotel, we felt as we were at home. Excellent hospitality + incredible decoration + oustanding breakfast + good location (just 5 minutes away from the old town) is the perfect combination!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colonia Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonia Suite

Address: Gral Lavalleja 169, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonia Suite 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonia Lofts has three apartments in the historic center in an old renovated house, The apartments have 2 bedrooms, (one on mezzanine),1 bathroom, livingroom and kitchen.Equipement:1 doble bed 2 single beds1 lit de repos.MicrowaveCafetera electricaHeladera Frigo BarDishes, etcAire acondicionado SamsungTowelsHairdryerSheetsNo televisionWe provide the refrigerator with all what you need for breakfast. Colonia Lofts is entirely no smoking.Is situated 700 meters from the ferries and buses terminals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Colonia Suite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonia Suite Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonia Suite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.