We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go somewhere else!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pulperia de los Faroles

Pulperia de los Faroles
Misiones de los Tapes 101, Colonia del Sacramento, Uruguay
45230271
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Köln
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We've been here for lunch as all the other restaurants were closed in the afternoon. But we should have walked away immidiately as it took the service fifteen minutes just to take our order. The food (gnocchi with pesto/tomato) wasn't tasty at all. The menu said the gnocchi would be homemade. These were from the supermarket. Just like the tomato sauce. It wasn't tasty at all. I could only eat the half of my plate also I was very hungry.
After lunch I went to the rest rooms. I had to wait because there was somebody in front of me. I was standing right next to the kitchen. So I saw that one of the service personel dropped a filled bread basket, which you get with the food. She was standing with the back to me and started to collect the bread in the basket again. But then the boss realized I was watching and threw that bread in the garbage.
I cannot recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    71
    145
    62
    19
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“tastes like prison food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

The food and service both are terrible here. The food tasted like it was bought from a large company, like Sedexo, that services schools and prisons. The wait staff is slow and and clearly doesn't care.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Jazz on the plaza- nice people -good food- till late in the night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

Walking around after dark - heard the jazz - bouncing down the cobble stones - followed
the music - hours later after many beers & small plates of good food, SWEET !

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Ate there almost every night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Nice atmosphere, delicious meals, fairly priced, they accept credit cards and remain open until about 01:00 am.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We had the worst meal of our six week stay in South America, in this appalling restaurant.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011 via mobile

We should have walked out of this restaurant immediately as the staff were sullen and surly from the moment we entered. We moved tables four times before we found one with a clean tablecloth, which wasn't next to a broken window or the waiters station. When the food arrived is was dreadful. The bread was stale, the fried squid was obviously frozen, not fresh and when the main course arrived it was cold! The food had clearly not been freshly prepared and as it was beef stogagoff it should have been fresh. Instead it tasted as if it had been reheated in a microwave which is clearly what happened when we returned the plate to the kitchen. My husband suggested we pay the bill and leave without eating but we were so hungry we ate half and then left. We told the waiter we were not happy with the meal but clearly he couldn't have given a damn. I would suggest that if you want to eat in Colonia then you avoid this restaurant completely and go somewhere else.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pulperia de los Faroles also viewed

Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
 
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
 

Been to Pulperia de los Faroles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pulperia de los Faroles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.