We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch in a museum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Narbona

Narbona
Rute 21 Km 268, Carmelo 71100, Uruguay
+598 4540 4778
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Carmelo
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Narbona Wine Lodge, naturaleza pura dentro de la ondulada campiña uruguaya. Una bodega, una finca, un restaurant y 5 habitaciones de lujo hacen de este, el lugar ideal para el bienestar de nuestros huéspedes.La bodega es una de las más antiguas del Uruguay. Consta de 15 hectáreas de viña y elabora pocas producciones de alto nivel. A lo largo de estos últimos años la calidad de nuestros vinos ha aumentado por demás a tal punto de haber obtenido el mejor Tannat del 2010. Nuestra finca elabora distintos tipos de lácteos. Yogurt, dulce de leche, conservas, aceite de oliva y quesos finamente elaborados, manteniendo antiguas recetas artesanales.El restaurant es un antiguo almacén de ramos generales que conservo sus estantes y mostrador principal. Hoy en día tiene una capacidad para 50 comensales. Su carta consta de comida campestre, casera, basada en productos regionales, muchos de ellos provistos por nuestra propia huerta.Nuestro Lodge cuenta dos tipos de habitaciones, aunque todas ellas comparten el mismo ambiente y el mismo espíritu. Baños amplios y completamente equipados, sofá de lectura, escritorio, plasma, minibar y una decoración refinada selecciona por su propio dueño.Las suites con vista a los viñedos (120 metros cuadrados) contienen una gran terraza con chimenea y una magnífica vista de los viñedos, especialmente al atardecer.Las nuevas suites (70 metros cuadrados), con vista a la nueva bodega de piedra, rodeada de un patio con olivos, durazneros y vehículos antiguos. La decoración es más moderna, con mucha luz natural y una terraza para sentarse a disfrutar de la tranquilidad del campo. Sin duda, Narbona Wine Lodge es una experiencia única que te trasporta al pasado, con el confort de nuestros tiempos.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lunch in a museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Very rich atmosphere, fantastic rooms with interesting decoration in every direction. They sell their own selection of wine (mostly tennat) and serve good albeit meals at acceptable prices. The wine was a little bit of a let down but maybe we picked the wrong bottle. Overall a great place!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    64
    15
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great experience good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This is part of a winery that also has a small lodge. It's a beautiful structure the rooms of the restaurant are really nice it has a wonderful open feel to it. If you are coming for a meal I would recommend taking a tour first we had a wine tasting which was fantastic. Great service and nice wine's also the cheese that they make was excellent. It was a great experience I would highly recommend. The food at the restaurant itself for lunch was ok but not fantastic. Overall a lot of fun and a great outing from the Four Seasons nearby (also the meal is substantially cheaper than what the four seasons provides)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excelent wine cava and restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The place is beautyful. The attention is great. The food is very good and the Tannat wines and licuors are excelents. A very recommended place for a couple dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, USA
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Outstanding service, presentation, and quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The dinner we had at Narbona was one of the top 5 of my life. The ambiance, service, presentation,and quality of the food and wine were outstanding. The cheese plate was huge and the quality of the homemade breads and beef filet were amazing. If you're in carmelo, this is the place to go. It's not cheap by Uruguay standards but for $120, 2 of us had a few drinks, a bottle of their wine, the cheese plate, 2 steaks and dessert. Easily 1/2 the price of what a similar experience would cost in the US. The restaurant charges the same price for the wine whether you eat there or take some home (we took 2 home)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“The setting is like a second honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My wife and I booked the Romantic Getaway with Ryan Hamilton's company The Wine Experience earlier this year where he took us to tour this amazing winery in the quaint, small town of Carmelo. Finca y Granja Narbona was beautiful and very romantic. After a tour of the facility by the young owner that looks like Reese Witherspoon, we had some tasting in the cellar, then enjoyed one of the best meals on our trip (in both Uruguay and Argentina)! I had a steak and my wife had this amazing pasta, which I would highly recommend. The winery also makes their own cheese. The parmesan cheese that came with my wife's pasta was spectacular.

We brought a few bottles of wine back with us on the ferry to Buenos Aires. The setting is so peaceful, I didn't realize until we had gotten there that the winery also had a bed and breakfast and even a pool. If I ever come back to Uruguay, I will do it in the summer and stay here with my wife overnight.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Narbona also viewed

Carmelo, Colonia Department
Carmelo, Colonia Department
 
Carmelo, Colonia Department
Carmelo, Colonia Department
 

Been to Narbona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Narbona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.