We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, but Carmelo is another story” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Muelles Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Los Muelles Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Los Muelles Boutique Hotel
Wilson Ferreyra 219, Carmelo, Uruguay   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Carmelo
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good hotel, but Carmelo is another story”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We enjoyed this hotel along the coast of the river in Carmelo, Uruguay. Only one person on staff spoke English though, so if your Spanish is so-so, you'll have to brush up with your spanish-english dictionary. Overall the hotel was extremely clean and the beds were comfortable. The bathrooms are very small though, so be prepared to feel a bit claustrophobic. Has in-room safe. Modern design, modern amenities and came with soap, lotion, shampoo and conditioner. The experience at the hotel was excellent, and the continental breakfast was good, except for the coffee which reminded us of motor oil and tasted about the same. Now let's talk about the town of Carmelo. Since this is a review for the hotel, and not the town, I'll only say that Carmelo is very sleepy and there's not much to do. Which makes it even better that the hotel was very nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    40
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
138
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed in Carmelo for a few days to make the best of the proximity to family and to the ferry trip to Tigre in BA. This was a fabulous little find, with a very eclectic mix of rooms. The owner reveled in being able to show off his hotel and the wonderful mix of collectables he has acquired on his travels. The ferry terminal is directly across the road from the hotel and is located on the edge of Carmelo overlooking the river estuary. This is a great spot to take a day trip to the Irurtia winery or to go for a leisurely walk around town. Thoroughly enjoyed our week in Carmelo and would definitely make a return visit even if we didn't have relatives in the district.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Coming through Carmelo we stayed at this hotel after my wife and her friend decided that we had to stay there because of the eccentric interiors. We loved it. Everything was spotless clean, clearly the owners had put in an enormous effort to decorate it,and we enjoyed the evening with a beer on the balcony overlooking the river. Air conditiong was required because of the heat. Breakfast was fine, staff were friendly and I would come again.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room and try to get one with a view over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I doubt if I ever stayed in nicer small hotel. It's perfectly located, a few steps from the ferry terminal that connects with Buenos Aires. The room was clean and the bed dead comfy. The place is is nicely decorated and the staff were very helpful and charming. The breakfast was more than adequate.

Just two small gripes: the wifi signal was very weak in our room, just over reception, like dial up internet with the pages loading sloooowly, bit by bit. And, if you need a completely dark room to sleep then better bring one of those airline eyecover things, on our floor the doors of the rooms were all half (frosted) glass so quite a lot of light enters the room at night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Carmelo is of rough charm and the last thing I expected was a modern, boutique hotel. But there it is, right at the river and across from the ferry going to Buenos Aires (muelles = dock or berth).
The place is "India" styled and pulls it off well. THere are interesting bits of furniture and art work and the atmosphere is colourful and artsy.
Staff are professional and friendly. Rooms are well appointed and decorated. I like the stone sink in the bath room.
The breakfast was a bit disappointing but that does not take away from an overall great experience!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gottingen, Germany
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Often, it is the little things that count - such as making the light a bit brighter when noticing that the guest sitting down by the fire has a book or preparing something to eat when a guest returns from a day of sightseeing and does not fancy going out to dinner. The people working at this hotel, and especially Itatí, were exceptionally good at showing service at its best. And then there is the choice of very good wines which are interestingly displayed on a wall to pick and choose from. The backyard facing room I stayed in was comfortable. Not much to see, though, except for houses and roofs. There had been some damage from water on the bathroom ceiling and one wall in the room but as there was no humid smell, I guess everything had properly dried and was just not renovated. This, however, did not diminish the quality of sleep in the very comfortable bed. The hotel is, at least to my liking, a bit off the beaten track but things to see such as Colonia and Fray Bentos are still within reach by car and the quality of my stay made it a worthwhile visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendoza, Argentina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

After living 2 month in Buenos Aires studying Spanish, I needed a break from the summer heat, humidity and chaos of the city. Carmelo was the perfect blend of charming town, relaxing time, wonderful people, and plenty of things to do for a long weekend. Los Muelles is every bit as good as the reviews said it would be. It is in a perfect location on the river, at the south part of town. You can walk to everything you need - shops, restaurants, bank machines, bus station. And although it's a longer walk to the beach (3 km), it is doable. However, I recommend riding a bike - Los Muelles rents them to guests.

The entire hotel is very well designed and filled with many artful touches. It's very clean and modern and the service is outstanding. All the staff are helpful with recommendations for things to do, restaurants, etc. and will make a reservation at the local bodegas (wineries) and restaurants. They were also patient with me as I practiced my Spanish.

Breakfast is ample and includes a variety of fruit and yogurt, juices, cheeses meats, cereal and breads. Lots of healthy options. If you are too tired to go out to dinner, the staff will make you something. My room had a balcony overlooking the river - very peaceful place for morning coffee. There are also chairs on the patio in front of the hotel for relaxing and reading and giving some attention to the neighborhood dogs.

In addition to biking, running, taking sun at the beach, fishing, rowing, and relaxing you can visit several bodegas just outside of town. Each is a short taxi ride. I visited two that were recommended by the hotel. Irurtia - 100 year old family winery - and La Legrado - a tiny boutique winery further out from town that produces 2000 bottles a year and currently offers only a tannat (the most-known varietal in Uraguay) but plans to offer a Syrah after this year's crush. (Note: At La Legrado they only speak Spanish). Both excellent experiences that were completely different. The hotel also suggested a local olive oil producer but unfortunately the place was closed because the owners were on vacation. I would have definitely added that to my itinerary.

I also had dinner at the Yacht Club one evening, outdoors on the patio. It was lovely and the service was fantastic without being obsequious. I am a vegetarian and asked the chef to surprise me. Which he did - making the region's traditional 'milianesa' with eggplant instead of beef.

Transportation is very easy from Buenos Aires. I took colectivo 152 to Cordoba and walked 4 blocks to the Buquebus terminal for the fast boat to Colonia. Bought a ticket on Berrutti Tourismo (www.berruttitourismo), about 20 meters outside the gate of Colonia puerta for the 1 hour ride to Carmelo. Cost was $105Uraguay each way - about $6USD. My first choice was to take the Caraciolla barco from Tigre, Argentina directly to Carmelo (http://www.cacciolaviajes.com/) - a more scenic ride up the delta. But I could not get tickets. Plan ahead because the boat is small. Caraciolla boats dock right across the street from Los Muelles so it could not be more convenient.

Room Tip: Ask if you can have a room with a balcony that overlooks the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Los Muelles Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Muelles Boutique Hotel

Address: Wilson Ferreyra 219, Carmelo, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Carmelo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Carmelo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Los Muelles Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Muelles Boutique Hotel Uruguay/Carmelo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Muelles Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.