We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice modern hotel by the river” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Muelles Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Los Muelles Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Los Muelles Boutique Hotel
Wilson Ferreyra 219, Carmelo, Uruguay   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Carmelo
Biloela, Australia
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
“Nice modern hotel by the river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed at Los Muelles for 2 nights in May 2011. No problems arranging booking from Australia by email.

We booked the suite which is all by itself on the top floor of the hotel so we could have a bit more room. The down side to this is there is a very steep spiral staircase that was impossible to take our suitcases up and there are no lifts in the building. Along with other guests, we had to place our suitcases in a cupboard near reception and continually go there each time we needed something and had forgotten to take it upstairs.

The room was nicely furnished and had large windows so that we could make the most of the river view. From our window we could also see the ferry dock (just across the road) - so this would be an ideal place to stay if you wanted to catch the ferry to Buenos Aires from Carmelo.

Our room had a small bathroom, with a shower, but I noticed another room on a lower floor had some sort of spa bath in it. There was tv and air con and a cupboard to hang our clothes.

Breakfast was included in the price and was a continental buffet.

Staff were friendly and helpful. There is a bar/cafe on the ground floor. In room massages are also available - ask reception to arrange.

There is no onsite car parking, but we were just able to park outside the front of the hotel, where it was very quiet and not a lot of traffic.

Los Muelles is within walking distance of shops and most restaurants. We did drive to Don Gattos one night following a recommendation from the hotel, but we did not enjoy the food we had so did not go back again. Another night we went to a pizza place that was in the middle of town and had a very enjoyable meal and it was crowded with locals, so I suppose this is always an indication that the food must be okay.

One thing that was a bit offputting is the number of seemingly homeless dogs that hang around the dock and town, Because we just about walked everywhere, the dogs would start following us in the hope of food. While they seemed friendly enough, they would leave our sides and chase motorcycles and cars and I was so scared they would get injured it really began to stress me out, so we tried to avoid being too friendly with the dogs and hope they would find someone else to follow.

Whilst in the area we went for a drive to Nueva Palmira and admired the nice riverside area and dock.

Overall, there is a pleasant feel to Carmelo, but the many motor bikes roaring up and down the streets can be a bit noisy.

Los Muelles was in a very peaceful setting by the river and off the main streets. I would stay here again but maybe not on the top floor if I had big suitcases.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    32
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
127
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We came here for a weekend out of BsAs. Carmelo is nice in its being completely opposite the chaos of the city. But this hotel is the nicest part of Carmelo. Nice rooms (ours had a little balconette), nice breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

We had wanted to stay in Colonia del Sacramento but, as we wanted to stay over the weekend and it i was high season, were unable to find anything available at a reasonable price. I looked on trip advisor and saw that Los Muelles hotel had excellent reviews, so we booked to stay there for 3 nights. We didn't regret it at all. The hotel was quiet, beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean, had all the luxuries in the room such as fluffy towels and, probably most important of all, had wonderful staff who did everything they could to make our stay as pleasant as possible. We enjoyed Carmelo and it was very easy to catch the bus to Colonia, which we would highly recommend. Another unexpected advantage of this hotel, for us, was that it is a 30 metre walk to the boat which goes to Tigre and Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bs. As.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

The hotel is superb. Service was amazing as was the decor of the hotel. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The rooms are really nice and the service is 5 star. The location is great. Thank you so so much to everyone!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

This is the place to go if you are looking for peace, relaxation and the latest design trends.
Not too big, not too small, just the perfect size to feel luxuriously at home
Incredible interior design datails and art pieces combined with escellent service.
Everyone is devoted to make you have the time of your life, wondering if there´s anything else they can do to make you even more comfortable.
Whatever you need they will eagerly provide it: restaurant recomendation, touristic information or the perfect cup of coffee by the fireplace.
Every corner of this boutique hotel is preciously decorated with objects from all over the world and pieces of art made specially for the hotel by artists from many countries.
Don´t miss it if you are in Uruguay, it´s really a jewel by the river.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

If you are looking for something different, this is the place. A wonderfull mini resort to explore your imagination!!! Every trip will make you want to come back for more.
All the rooms are totaly different, astonishing tastes in the decorations transports your mind through journys of all kind. The service was great, we were warmly recieved by everyone, most important if you are traveling with children!! Advice...dont miss it!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Muelles Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Muelles Boutique Hotel

Address: Wilson Ferreyra 219, Carmelo, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Carmelo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Carmelo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Los Muelles Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Muelles Boutique Hotel Uruguay/Carmelo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Muelles Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.