We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Excelsior Sharjah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Excelsior Sharjah to your Saves list
Grand Excelsior Sharjah
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   King Faisal Street, Sharjah 61191, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 74 Hotels in Sharjah
Muscat Governorate, Oman
1 review
“Average Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

I Stayed here for 4 nights, Initially I had booked for 3 nights then extended for 1 more day.

Staff wanted to swipe my Credit card again for the extended day, I assured them I'll settle while I check out, though I had more than 60000 points in my loyalty card with the group.

Power went off in my room on top floor, then they shifted to 4th floor, not so great one .

Parking and pool is available, near to Dubai.

Don't expect any luxury.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayinnSharjah, Director of Sales at Grand Excelsior Sharjah, responded to this review, October 6, 2010
Dear valued guest,

Firstly we would like to extend our sincere appreciation for choosing Holiday Inn Sharjah!

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback that has been carefully reviewed by our management.

We regret any inconvenience caused and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at Holiday Inn Sharjah

Fadi Ammache
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    46
    30
    8
    10
See reviews for
23
26
17
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights and booked through the ICHotelsgroup website. What a place! Maybe the rooms, decoration, etc, is not up to 5 star, but for sure the size of the room, ours was +100Sqm was just amazing. We were with 2 persons, had 2 bedrooms, a living room, a kitchen. We had to shout to eachother if one was in the bedroom and the other in the kitchen, so huge. Really a great experience. For the rest, the bedrooms were very nice, the room was very clean. Overall a fantastic experience.
Breakfast was not extremely special, but for a European there were so many interesting dishes to sample from that is was every morning a pleasant thing to go for breakfast. The hotel is located in a nice part of Sharjah and you can make some nice walks around the lagoon. "behind" the hotel you can find little restaurants and we ate there. Delicious, they didn't cook out of the menu, but what we requested.
If you are for business in Dubai, this might not be a good place to stay as it takes about 1.5 hour in rushhour to go through the traffic.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayinnSharjah, Director of Sales at Grand Excelsior Sharjah, responded to this review, October 6, 2010
Dear valued guest,

Firstly we would like to extend our sincere appreciation for choosing Holiday Inn Sharjah!

Our two bedrooms suite area is approximately 116 sqm, the one bedroom suite is 69 sqm and the standard room is 39 sqm

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback and we will be looking forward to welcoming you again at Holiday Inn Sharjah

Fadi Ammache
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Arrived in Dubai (DXB) took a 40 AED night taxi ride to the hotel. Check in on the 3rd floor. Breakfast was ok. Staff was real helpful in me obtaining a mail courier service and had no issues getting a taxi from the doorman (less that 30 seconds, twice).
Sharjah City Center (Mall)(Carrefour store) is less than 10 minutes walk away (fast food court). Hotel is attached to a department store (no food or clothes).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayinnSharjah, Director of Sales at Grand Excelsior Sharjah, responded to this review, August 17, 2010
Dear valued guest,
Firstly we would like to extend our sincere appreciation for choosing Holiday Inn Sharjah!

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback and we will be looking forward to welcoming you again at Holiday Inn Sharjah

Fadi Ammache
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

We were in Sharjah for an exhibition. The big plus for the hotel is that the suite we got was so big you got the idea you could play football in it. Plenty of furniture, tables, so we were able to work with several people. Free internet was a plus as well. What was lacking was the competence of the staff connected to the room service. The same dish ordered on different days was quite different every time you got it. It took a long time until room service came. But overall the experience was good. It is a clean and nice hotel, and as I say, the space in the room is amazing. If you would go wtih a whole family, this would be perfect. Also if you have several people who need to work and need tables and work stations, this is perfect.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayinnSharjah, Director of Sales at Grand Excelsior Sharjah, responded to this review, August 11, 2010
Dear valued guest,
Firstly we would like to extend our sincere appreciation for choosing Holiday Inn Sharjah!

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback that has been considerably reviewed by our management.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at Holiday Inn Sharjah

Fadi Ammache
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

Be warned, despite the hotel claiming being a 5 star , it is actually a 3 star hotel. Otherwise this is a good hotel to stay in Sharjah despite the inconsistent attitude of reception staff.

Reception is awkwardly located on the 3rd floor, checkin was smooth. When we got in our rooms we were impressed by the space and decor, bed was very spacious, tv and other facilties were standard, bathroom was well equipped.

Room service was faboulous, quality of room-dining food was superb and we mainly dined from that. The hotel has limited things to do except for a small pool on the roof, with shabby views of old broken buildings rooftops filled with antennas and dishes.

We had issues with the reception staff at checkout, bad attitude and very un-proffesional. But we're willing to overlook it being the fact our expectations were low for this place to start with.

Overall if you plan to stay in Sharjah, and looking for a safe hotel in good location, this hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayinnSharjah, Director of Sales at Grand Excelsior Sharjah, responded to this review, August 11, 2010
Dear valued guest,
Firstly we would like to extend our sincere appreciation for choosing Holiday Inn Sharjah!

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback that has been carefully reviewed by our management and needed actions were taken.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at Holiday Inn Sharjah

Fadi Ammache
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

I stayed here for few nights.
It’s located near Sharjah City center, near the way from Sharjah to Dubai.

The location is good, but the traffic would kill you, especially during working hours.

The hotel is clean and nice, but don’t expect much, I mean it has almost everything (swimming pool, good size rooms, car parking, etc), but it’s not luxuries.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

Terrible hotel. Although it is only a few years old, it looks like it is about 20 years old. Beware of the "mini bar". The fridge in the room isn't marked as a "mini bar" and there are just a few things in it. With no price list, it is impossible to determine if these things are complementary. I assure you, they are not, even the water. The food is average but expensive. The hotel is also located in a terrible area with nothing to do. Spend a little extra and stay someplace in Dubai. It is just a few minutes south of Sharjah and there is a lot of things to do.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Excelsior Sharjah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Excelsior Sharjah

Address: King Faisal Street, Sharjah 61191, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Sharjah > Sharjah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sharjah
#6 Family Hotel in Sharjah
#7 Best Value Hotel in Sharjah
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sharjah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Excelsior Sharjah 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Excelsior Sharjah enjoys one of the most central locations in Sharjah, ideally located just 10 minutes from Sharjah International Airport, 15 minutes from Dubai International Airport and 25 minutes from Dubai International Convention / Exhibition Centre on Sheikh Zayed Road , subject to traffic. The Five star hotel is ideal for both business and leisure guests featuring 180 spacious rooms including one and two bedroom suites, all rooms are equipped with high-speed internet access and living area. Other facilities include an outdoor rooftop swimming pool, gym, sauna and steam room. A complimentary shuttle bus is available on a daily basis to the beach. Our all day dining restaurant Al Dana is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. WIFI is available in the lobby lounge which is open round the clock for meals and refreshments. 24 hour room service is also available. For business meetings, the hotel has two meeting rooms with natural daylight that can accommodate up to 220 people. Executive and suite room rates include complimentary high-speed internet access in the rooms, and breakfast. Other famous attractions in Sharjah include the Blue Souq, City centre Mall, Sharjah Business District and The American University of Sharjah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Grand Excelsior Sharjah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sharjah Hotel Sharjah
Sharjah Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Excelsior Sharjah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.