We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury hotel with lack of cleanliness and mediocre food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah to your Saves list
Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vienna Street | Al Hamra Village, Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Ras Al Khaimah
Langenzersdorf, Austria
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Luxury hotel with lack of cleanliness and mediocre food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The hotel is very new (has just opened), and has a great building with excellent rooms (just look at their website). The sand beach is very beautiful.

However, the hotel lacks cleanliness and food is just mediocre. At these prices and at the expectation level of a luxury 5*+ resort this is just not acceptable.
* At breakfast at the terrace, they didn’t clean away the used food, so birds came to the unoccupied tables and ate there. The personnel held the new tea cups at the top, so one has to drink exactly where the personnel touched the cup. Nobody bothered to clean away the crumbs from the chairs; you had to clean them yourself after being led to a table. And the floor wasn’t cleaned often enough, there were breadcrumbs and bird feathers lying around.
* The Bed linen had stains once
* The cabanas at the beach are very nice, but most were not cleaned during the week of our stay, so there were quite some bird droppings around and sand all over.
* The food is quite expensive, but the quality is lacking. Breakfast is ok, but has nothing really good or special. The buffet restaurant has nice desserts, but the meals are not good, the turkey we ate there was very dry. The beach restaurant is mostly not good, much of the food isn’t even hot (though I can recommend the cheese cake). The Marjan Arab restaurant has at least style and food is better than all other restaurant, but still can’t reach the standard of any fine Arab restaurant e.g. in Istanbul. There is little selection for food, because the menu doesn’t change at all – I would very much appreciate a menu of the day.

And a few more complaints
* There are sometimes stingrays on the beach which are very painful when they sting. I don’t complain about this fact – the sea is a part of nature – but at least there should be some warning! If not for the internet, I wouldn’t have known this.
* You get free water at the beach – but not every time, sometimes the personnel forget to come around.
* At the fitness center, we saw nobody cleaning the sport equipment between use; there were no disinfecting towels either.
* Any half-decent hotel has an information folder about available restaurants, opening and check-in/out times etc. We got no such folder

Nevertheless we enjoyed our holidays – but the level of service and food is more like a 3 to 4 star all inclusive club. Maybe that is the local standards – the local residents came in quite some numbers every weekend.
We are very sad about this experience at the hotel – because they have an excellent building, great location, many personnel – they just need better management and better cooks.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreHerrenschmidt, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear reise2at

Thank you very much for sharing your kind review about your recent experiences at the Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah.

I was most disappointed to read that you were not completely satisfied with your experience during your recent stay with us. It is with regret I learnt of your disappointment about the cleanliness, service you had experienced, food quality, pricing and I would like to assure you that this is not a true reflection of our usual high standard.

Please rest assured that we have taken the issues mentioned in your feedback seriously and have also shared them with the appropriate departments to handle accordingly.

Please let us know when you plan to visit us again, we would be very happy to welcome you back for another stay at the Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah

Yours sincerely,


Andre Herrenschmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    120
    36
    15
    9
See reviews for
235
357
19
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I'd like to start off by saying that the hotel is beautiful looking and the rooms are very impressive. Unfortunately, we encountered several issues that made our stay really disappointing. Was it a rush-job to get it all finished in time for opening? For a 5* hotel, especially with the Waldorf name, these problems should not be happening!! For the same price, stay in Dubai and you will see what 5* service is like.

Our bathroom door wouldn't close (it needed planed) and the water coming out of the taps was brown. We returned to the room after turn-down and the curtains were on the floor. It wasn't until 12.30am that the second maintenance person was able to fix them. We were exhausted and to top it all off, a member of staff came rang the doorbell at midnight with a bowl of fruit!!! We were checking out the next morning... who on earth suggested this?

We went for dinner at the Lexington Grill. I informed staff I had a food allergy and when brought the food, I was told it was ok, there was only a little of the ingredient in it... speechless. Also, the price of the food didn't match the quality.

The staff, although extremely pleasant, do not seem to have been trained well. There was a definitely an element of disorganization, especially at reception and during checkout. No one could tell us what extra charges were for on our bill. My husband had to write out calculations on a piece of paper to show them that 1+1 did not equal 3, so to speak. Other guests around us were also getting very frustrated as the same thing seemed to be happening to them.

The breakfast buffet was nice. Once again, the waiting staff were vey pleasant, but really poorly trained and didn't come near us. I asked for napkins for the table and half an hour later, some small paper squares were brought out to us. Everyone else around us had linen and other staff were setting up tables with linen napkins... why?!?

There were so many other frustrating incidents that happened, I'd be writing all day. I'm not sure if these things all happened because it's a new hotel or not. Needless to say, it is not up to the same standard as other Waldorf Astorias that we have stayed in. There are lots of other well known 5* hotels with excellent service and facilities, save your dirhams and go to them.

Room Tip: One with a bathroom door that closed and clean running water would help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreHerrenschmidt, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear aroundtheworld_ni

Thank you very much for sharing your kind review about your recent experiences at the Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah.

I am delighted to read that you like the hotel décor and rooms are impressive.

I have also noted some areas for improvement which you have highlighted, and I can assure you that this is not a true reflection of our usual high standards. Please rest assured that we have taken the issues mentioned in your feedback seriously and have also shared them with the appropriate departments to handle accordingly.

Please let us know when you plan to visit us again, we would be very happy to welcome you back for another stay at the Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah

Yours sincerely,


Andre Herrenschmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This hotel has just recently opened. It is quite beautiful in terms of the setting and the décor. Go there for leisure only. They do not understand the pace of business or how to relate to business people.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreHerrenschmidt, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear happyhappyhappy44,

Thank you very much for sharing your kind review about your recent experiences at the Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah.

I am delighted to read that you were impressed with the hotel décor.

Please let us know when you plan to visit us again, we would be very happy to welcome you back for another stay at the Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah

Yours sincerely,


Andre Herrenschmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

- Sumptuous breakfast
- awesome ambience
- Decent pools
- some teething issues including room sockets etc.
- TV channel selection, below average with not much choice for kids and English speaking guests
- Restaurants: pretty expensive even from a 5-star perspective
- Decent water sports available - especially para-gliding :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreHerrenschmidt, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear adonisali,

Thank you very much for sharing your kind review about your recent experiences at the Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed during your stay; especially you enjoyed the hotel ambience and your breakfast experience.

We greatly appreciate your comments and for highlighting some areas that require improvement especially the electricity sockets and the TV channel selection. Please rest assured that we have taken the issues mentioned in your feedback seriously and have also shared them with the appropriate departments to handle accordingly.

Please let us know when you plan to visit us again, we would be very happy to welcome you back for another stay at the Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah

Yours sincerely,


Andre Herrenschmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We had a fantastic holiday at Waldrof Astoria.The staffs are very customer friendly and there to help you for any of your needs.
All the restaurants was well maintained and the beech & pool was very clean and perfect for a family time.

Room Tip: The beach facing rooms are awesome & a rare treat to your eyes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreHerrenschmidt, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear JemyJoseph,

Thank you very much for sharing your kind review about your recent experiences at the Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah.

I am delighted to read that you and your family had a fantastic holiday with us; especially the friendliness of our team members, and the standard of the restaurants and outside facilities.

Please let us know when you plan to visit us again, we would be very happy to welcome you back for another stay at the Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah

Yours sincerely,


Andre Herrenschmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The first thing you notice, or rather do not notice is that there are no signs whatsoever to the new Waldorf Astoria, which was opened in August 2013. The approach to the hotel is a turning down the side of a petrol station!

It seems rather bizarre that the first time you are sure you have found the hotel, is the sign within the rather grand and imposing main entrance gateway.

This was not helped when we phoned the hotel several times before our arrival to identify its location several times without anyone bothering to pick up the phone, which was somewhat surprising for a hotel of the Waldorf Astoria's reputation.

The Hotel is very grand and has a spectacular main entrance and lobby area.

The check in staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was one of the best we have ever stayed in (Classic Room) extremely large (58m2), very well decorated and well appointed, with great attention to detail.

There were a myriad or various light switches which were rather complicated to operate and would have benefited rom some form of clear guide as to what operated which set of lights (this was a bit to 'high tech' for its own good). Also the room lacked a guide / list of the hotel facilities and their locations.

The main pool was rather small for the size of the hotel. There was another smaller pool at the other end of the hotel. It would perhaps have been a good idea to make the larger pool for families with small children and the smaller one simply for adults or families with older children, as it was very difficlut to relax with the constant background noise of screaming and shouting children together with running the risk of getting struck in the face with a stray ball or plastic toy at any moment.

The pool bar and cafe located at the main pool was too small for purpose, as even when the pool / resort was not particularly busy, this area would fill up very quickly, which was not helped by staff who appeared poorly trained and completely out of their depth.

The main reastuarant (The Lexington Grill) however of the ground floor deck was a pleasure, with good food, good service and a fantastic ambience.

As with the approach to the hotel, the interior of the hotel also lacked adequate signage, which obliges the guests to repeatedly seek guidance from the staff as to where to find the various facilities around the hotel.

Overall though it was a very pleasent experience, but there are grounds for improvement.

Room Tip: Seek a sea side room as high as possible to get the best views and avoid the noise eminating from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreHerrenschmidt, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear andrew p,

Thank you very much for sharing your kind review about your recent experiences at the Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah.

We greatly appreciate your comments and for highlighting some areas that require improvement. The road signage is soon to be erected by RAK Tourism which should make the arrival experience easier for all of our guests. Azure is our family pool which is open to adults and children of all ages and can accommodate 60 people at any one time in the dining areas surrounding the pool. Al Fayrouz is our smaller adult only infinity pool. Please rest assured that we have taken the issues mentioned in your feedback seriously and have also shared them with the appropriate departments to handle accordingly.

I am delighted however that you enjoyed the interior design of the hotel and found the team members to be friendly.

Please let us know when you plan to visit us again, we would be very happy to welcome you back for another stay at the Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah

Yours sincerely,


Andre Herrenschmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Had a great stay for a week at the end of October 2013 as a couple with 16 year old daughter.

As Diamond member was upgraded to suite with sea view - a truly excellent room in a high quality and imposing hotel. All aspects of the room (beds, bathroom, dressing room, balcony) were excellent.

Both pools and beach were also great, with lots of high quality sunbeds and cabanas available to enjoy the beautiful weather and warm waters of the arabian gulf.

Service still doesnt seem fully sorted, with problems in the restaurants at breakfast and dinner during the busy weekend periods. Staff were friendly and attentive but the systems don't seem to have been sorted. We ate in the buffet restaurant and the steakhouse and found the food very good in both. Some US guests were getting very concerned about the service with their high standards - we stayed relaxed but it does need to be sorted in a Waldorf Astoria.

We had a slightly weird experience with electrical problems causing flashing lights, phantom doorbell rings and a door that wouldnt unlock when we returned one morning - but the hotel sorted it quickly and offered a complimentary meal in the steakhouse.

So overall we really enjoyed it - the building itself is really high class and the pool and beach excellent. Ras Al Khaimah is very laid back compared to Dubai - although there is a lot of development and there will clearly be a lot more hotels here in the coming months. For a winter sun break hard to beat the weather - if they can sort the service issues it will be a genuinely first class experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreHerrenschmidt, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear JEaston,

Thank you very much for sharing your kind review about your recent experiences at the Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah.

I am delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed during your stay; especially the rooms, poolside and the team members.

I have noted your valuable comments regarding the service and electrical problems; please rest assured that we have taken the issues highlighted in your feedback seriously and have also shared them with the appropriate departments to handle accordingly.

Please let us know when you plan to visit us again, we would be very happy to welcome you and your family back for another stay at the Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah

Yours sincerely,


Andre Herrenschmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah

Address: Vienna Street | Al Hamra Village, Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah > Ras Al Khaimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Ras Al Khaimah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah 5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the palaces of the Arabian Peninsula, Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah, ideally located 50 minutes from Dubai International Airport, will bring the legendary true Waldorf service to one of the most alluring beach front locations in the Middle East. An 18 hole championship golf course and a 350 metre private beach are set against the blue water of the Arabian Sea. The Waldorf Astoria Ras al Khaimah, will be a true luxury resort. The setting of this magnificent hotel will be matched by the unparalleled facilities with its stylish dining and entertainment venues, sophisticated conference and event facilities and its luxurious spa experiences available to guests. The 346 deluxe rooms and suites reflect the palatial surroundings and offer the luxuries of space and tranquillity. Each room extends over at least 72 square metres and offers panoramic views of the Arabian Sea, championship golf course and the impressive Al Hajjar Mountains on the horizon.Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah is home to ten bespoke restaurants and bars, offering an exclusive range of dining and entertainment experiences to suit every mood and flavour. From signature restaurants with succulent steaks and grills at the US steakhouse Lexington Grill, Japanese cuisine with sushi and teppanyaki at UMI, Middle Eastern flavours at Marjan and international dining experiences at Qasr Al Bahar to open air pool and beach side restaurants, elegant tea and coffee lounges serving light meals and traditional high tea and the vibrant night club, 17squared, on the 17th floor. A place of relaxation and restoration; the hotel's spa will offer signature treatments combined with exceptional care to create a place where guests can surrender and restore personal well-being. The gymnasium will feature an extensive range of Technogym equipment as well as a whirlpool and a sauna. Guests can relax in the two outdoor chilled pools and one the 350 meter white sandy beach. Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah offers a unique and timeless setting for gatherings and events of all descriptions. With the personalized service by dedicated event team this luxury property is the perfect location to host spectacular private celebrations, corporate conferences, team building activities, intimate beach weddings, cocktail parties, product launches and executive meetings. The hotel features a VIP arrival hall and multiple pre-function spaces, making it a spectacular venue for weddings, galas and high end corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.