We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellent Western Europe food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Basilico

Basilico
The cove Rotana resort | Al Hamra, Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
07-2066000
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 304 Restaurants in Ras Al Khaimah
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Exellent Western Europe food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We when for a family lunch. Service was remarkable and staff very friendly. The sea view from the terrace was amazing. Recommend to go outside if possible. Food was a delight and we truely enjoy. Highly recommend this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coveresort, General Manager at Basilico, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Basilico Restaurant for your dining experience with your family and thank you for highly recommending us. We were delighted to read that you were pleased with our food and service.

Again, thank you so much for your valuable feedback and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back


Best regards,

The General Manager
The Cove Rotana Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Highly recommended. Excellent service and ambience. You can dine indoors or outdoors overlooking the beach. Food is excellent and presentation is top class. Wine is very reasonably priced and I would highly recommend Basilico Restaurant to all.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coveresort, General Manager at Basilico, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Basilico Restaurant for your dining experience and thank you for highly recommending us. We were delighted to read that you were pleased with our food and our service.

Again, thank you so much for your valuable feedback and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back


Best regards,

The General Manager
The Cove Rotana Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Its good......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Me and my colleagues visited this place for an early dinner. The first sight of this resto is that requires little bit of face upliftment. The menus were good but limited options considering its mediterranean theme line. Never the less the starter Harira was great and can be comparable to its original place Morocco. There is sitting out arrangement in open air also. The entire dining experience was pleasant n enjoyed a great time over there. One small thing, this resto does not have open wifi connection and have to pay 45 AED per hour payable at the reception of the hotel and not in the restaurant itself. The management can look into this small but important aspect for improvement and to make wifi experience completely open.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coveresort, General Manager at Basilico, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of your recent dining experience at the Basilico Restaurant.
With pleasure we learnt that in general you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments and suggestions are noted and will be shared with our team members concerned.

Once again, many thanks for your feedback which gives us the opportunity to improve our services.

Best regards,

The General Manager
The Cove Rotana Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have visited this restaurant now 3 times, and are now voting with our feet until there is a drastic improvement in the food and wine. Let me explain.

The first time we went to this restaurant was for a Friday brunch, the food was very good the wine was barely drinkable. The second time was with a group of 10 friends, again for a friday brunch,this time the food was disappointing and the only wine acceptable was the sparkling.

The third time was for dinner for a table of three. We tried three different bottles of wine, which were not drinkable, finally we agreed to stay with beer , only for the waiter ( who was terrific) who persuaded us to try one more bottle. We kept this, probably more out of sympathy for the waiter , who was trying so hard. Two of us ordered the rabbit, it was inedible, so tough and hard, it would have cracked rocks! At this point we asked to see the chef, turns out he was the sous chef and he admitted he had not tried the rabbit so couldn't comment! We had spaghetti , which was passable, drank the one bottle of wine and escaped as quickly as possible from this miserable experience .

Having lived for 10 years in Dubai, and enjoyed world class restaurants , this was a most disappointing experience. What none of us can understand is why the wines are so poor. We now live in RAK, and know there are many decent wines available for 40 dirhams a bottle. So someone is not doing their job correctly.

Will we go back? A resounding NO, until we hear that there has been a major overhaul on the F& B in this restaurant. And that sentiment was echoed by all our friends, all of whom live here. You know what they say about bad news travelling!

A great shame as the location is fabulous, the staff ( Seraj) in particular very helpful. However as I said in the beginning , I'm voting with my feet until I hear something different.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volketswil, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“a mut every day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

well - yes we enjoyed imt every day, the open designed kitchen, good food great service mad it easy to decide

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilico also viewed

Ras Al Khaimah, Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah
Ras Al Khaimah, Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah
 
Ras Al Khaimah, Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah
Ras Al Khaimah, Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah
 

Been to Basilico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basilico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.