We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as it's made out to be.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Iceland Water Park

Iceland Water Park
Al Jazeera, Al Hamra, Ras Al Khaimah 6581, United Arab Emirates
+971 7 206 7888
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Water Parks, Amusement Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Ice Land Water Park is the first offering of the WOW RAK destination, a unique water park with extensive theming in snow and ice offering a mix of traditional water park attractions as well as non conventional and novel water park attractions.
Durban
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Not as bad as it's made out to be.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I visited Iceland water park today with much trepidation having read the bad reviews given to the place. I must admit thou that it was not as bad as it was made out to be.

The water park is massive, and the first thing that strikes you when you enter is how few people there are. You see large areas with tables and umbrellas, but very few people. Also, the pools are mostly empty. You don't really have to queue for any of the rides, and the lazy river which you can ride through on a tube was quite enjoyable. The area they call the wave pool is pathetic, with absolutely no waves.

Overall, it wasn't a terrible experience, but it's not a place i would go back to again. It was not bad, but not great either.

I think the new Yas Waterworld opening in January 2013 will put all the other water parks in the Emirates to shame.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    99
    58
    20
    27
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dubai
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“worth a visit for families with young children”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My family with a 9 year old boy, 15 year old girl and baby stayed over in RAK over the long weekend (UAE National day on 2 Dec) and we decided to try out the theme park Iceland. It was raining that day, hence the park was rather deserted for a Friday afternoon.

Some of the rides like Boomerang was quite fun and the overall landscaping with penguins was nice. It is a good getaway from the hustle and bustle of Dubai.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Not bad, but not as good as Dreamland”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We went over National Day weekend and the park was very quiet. Which was a good thing as when busy I can't imagine it would be much fun. Lots of slides although many very similar, and even though only a handful of people in the park, there was still the occasional queue.

They are quite strict about bringing food in, and also that you are wearing correct swimwear, which is good, and staff were OK and generally friendly.

The park does look a bit worn however, and considering the age of it, I guess it was built on a budget. Cabanas look nice, but pricey. Some of the attractions were closed when we were there - mainly the children's area, and the wave pool had no waves...on the plus side the food was good, and same price you would pay in a regular food.

On balance we prefer Dreamland down the road, but not bad day out.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“splash out at one of biggest water park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

away from the hustle bustle of dubai city one can drive to the Ras Al Khaima via emirates road enjoying the scenic beauty of desert and mountains. not having to reach the RAK city you will directly head for the ice land water park which looks like it has snowed the desert. excellent water slides and tubes.....over weight people please loosen up a bit to enjoy some ride cause if you are 80+ you gonna miss it...food court is good, you can buy drinks too but a little expensive. over all a perfect day for family and friends from morning to evening. ladies if you are shy to be in the crowd you have ladies night too....adviseable to go on week days or go early to enjoy with much crowd....we had done 2 visits already now with family and friends cause we could not finish many of them on our first visit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Some hints to be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Nice place, and I really recommend for the family - but not in crowded summer - the place is suitable for adults and kids, the rides are enough. I have only few comments:
1. Need to have more clear signs in the park to tell you how to reach here or there.
2. stuff need to have more training on hospitality specially in the rides.
3. Should have instructions for each ride downstairs before you go up and find out that it is not suitable for you or your kids - the put general instructions only, for example one of the rides is a must to be couples... Many people reach up then get down again because they discover this late!
4. Should not make ticket price on the length! Same kids age are paying different price because they are different in tall! My son payed for adult ticket, because he is tall, his friend in the same class payed for kids ticket..unfair.

That's all... Otherwise... The place is good... I will go back again for sure.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iceland Water Park also viewed

Ras Al Khaimah, Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah
Ras Al Khaimah, Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah
 
Umm Al Quwain, Emirate of Umm Al Quwain
Ras Al Khaimah, Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah
 

Been to Iceland Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iceland Water Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.