We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay, not outstanding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banyan Tree Al Wadi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Banyan Tree Al Wadi to your Saves list
Banyan Tree Al Wadi
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Al Mazraa, PO Box 35288, Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Ras Al Khaimah
Amsterdam
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good stay, not outstanding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

To start with the positive, our stay was good. We were here in December and enjoyed ourselves three days in this beatifully landscaped resort. Our private pool was very nice, overlooking the wildlife. The spa was excellent, the rainforest experience very enjoyable and food and service were excellent.

Now the "buts'. We were here off-season. I do not want to imagine what the average waiting time for the buggy service would be in high season. When you offer this service, you need to make it work like clockwork, otherwise it is very annoying. Second, our pool would have had no privacy at all if the resort would have been at full capacity. To me, the idea of having a private pool is that you have it completely to yourself.

The day we left, we used the resort at the beach to kill the time between check-out and our evening flight. We were very glad to have stayed in the desert. The beach property lacks charm, lacks privay at the private pools and has nothing to do but hang at the rather small and dull central area. To spice it up, there was a DJ blasting at full volume, but this is a very strange choice to have at a five star family resort.

So, for our purpose the desert resort was very good off season, but for these prices one should expect nothing less.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Al Wadi, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear JJWAmsterdam,

Thank you for staying with us recently and for your valuable comments regarding your stay.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here in our resort. Our location and beautiful landscape brought you nice desert scenery, an array of unique cuisines and hospitable staff made your stay truly special. Lastly, relaxing in our SPA and Rainforest offered you tranquility.

We appreciate your constructive feedback regarding our buggy service, your private pool and our Beach Resort. Please be assured that your comments have been shared to our team to address your concerns.

Once again, thank you for staying with us. The whole team and I are looking forward to welcome you back home again to us to show you our enhancements.

Best Regards,

Anders Dimblad
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    267
    142
    65
    34
See reviews for
325
662
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

they have an amazing location.
all products and facilities are top quality.
room design is wonderfiul.
their thai restaurant is one of the best.
great outdoor activities and plenty of things to see around.
they have a great team who are very friendly, follow high service standards and top class hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Al Wadi, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for staying with us recently and for your valuable feedback regarding your stay.
It’s our delight to know that you had a great stay in our resort.
We are happy that you enjoyed your private luxury pool villa surrounded by our natural wildlife, relished our sumptuous cuisine and get pampered by the gracious hospitality of our team.

Once again, thank you for staying with us. The whole team and I are looking forward to welcome you back home again to us soon.

Best Regards,

Anders Dimblad
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

comfortable and very nice trip which i stay in very beautiful villa with very good privte swimming pool in wonderful location in the middle of the desert with many kind of animals and beutiful asnd dunes and desert trees.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Al Wadi, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for staying with us recently and for your valuable feedback regarding your stay.
We are happy that you had a wonderful and comfortable stay with us. Our resort is situated at the midst of the beautiful desert of Ras Al Khaimah where you can relax perfectly. It’s also our delight to know that you enjoyed your private luxury pool villa surrounded by our natural wildlife.

Once again, thank you for staying with us. We hope to welcome you back home to us again for more blissful experience.

Best Regards,

Anders Dimblad
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed for just one night in a Rimal King Villa with my wife and infact.

1. We mentioned almost two weeks in advance that we wanted a cot in the room and had to wait for 30 minutes for one. They brought a really poor quality cot with horrible spring mattress in it. For a quality hotel like Banyan Tree, I would have never thought they would offer their guests a budget cot!

2. The room was huge and pool was the best part of our stay

3. The a/c in the room + tv area did not work properly despite maintenance trying to fix it. The summer heat was 51C outside so a non working a/c annoyed us!

4. It seems the hotel was trying to skimp on amenities. When we got to the hotel we only had two towels and lacked other amenities.

5. The food at Safran was average quality but priced well.

6. In villa dining was quality food and priced well.

7. There was no personalised service at any time in the hotel. We have stayed at Taj Maldives, Hilton Seychelles, Six Senses Zighy Bay and rate Banyan Tree as very poor in his department.

8. Buffet breakfast needs a wider range of options. Also not having waffles is a big negative point

9. Spa was excellent as usual

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Al Wadi, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear CD_DXB,

Thank you for staying with us recently and for your valuable feedback regarding your stay.
It’s disheartening to know that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced regarding our villa amenities and maintenance. We are saddened that you did not receive personalized service and if our breakfast buffet has limited options for you. Please be assured that your comments have been shared to the team to address your concerns.

However, we are glad that you had an excellent experience in SPA and enjoyed your dining in Safran and in your villa despite the misgivings.

Once again, thank you staying with us. We hope to welcome you back home again to us in the future to show our improvements.

Best Regards,

Anders Dimblad
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We really enjoyed the privacy of the villas. Also the way of transportation and the services provided by the employees.

In general, all employees were very helpful and kind enough to address all of our requests.

We will definetly consider Banyan Tree Al Wadi in our next Wedding Anniversary.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Al Wadi, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for staying with us recently and for your valuable feedback regarding your stay.
It’s our delight to know that you had a wonderful stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your private luxury pool villa and the gracious hospitality of our team.

Once again, thank you for choosing to stay in Banyan Tree Al Wadi. We definitely wish to welcome you back home to us again for more amazing moments.

Best Regards,

Anders Dimblad
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

an awesome place to relax, away from everything from the traffic from people and even the housekeeping you dont feel that they are here but they are actually there and very helpful, take a villa with a private pool and you will know the exact meaning of privacy. the only con of this hotel is the food, the restaurant is not that good as the hotel and it has no variety

Room Tip: villa with private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Al Wadi, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Mizo H,

Thank you for staying with us recently and for your valuable feedback regarding your stay.
Our hotel is in a perfect location where you can relax away from the city and break the monotony of everyday whereabouts.
We are glad that you enjoyed your private luxury pool villa surrounded by our natural wildlife. We would like to apologize for any service mishaps you experienced while dining in our restaurants.

Once again, thank you for staying with us. The whole team and I are looking forward to welcome you back home again to us.

Best Regards,

Anders Dimblad
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you want a tranquil place to recoup, this is the place. The serene suroundings away from the hussle and bussle of the city life in Dubai and London was exactly what we needed for the family. Having your own private pool and being placeed near to one another was great. Food for the kids were good, however should have more choices for the kids in the IVD menu as we stayed for 6 nights. Service at Al Waha was great, food quality was fantasitc well worth it. Uday who absolutely a gem, he took care of the family and knew exactly what we wanted when we wanted it without ever being intrusive. Kids club was excellent for our kids whose were between 1-2 years plenty to do. Absailing swing could be more safer, so needs supervision. The wildlife around was a joy to see, felt safe at all times, nice to see when they came up close to the pool. Moon bar was peaceful. Overall one of our yearly trips that acheived our goal, we left rejuvinated. Would surely visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Al Wadi, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for staying with us recently and for your valuable feedback regarding your stay.

We are happy that you had a splendid stay with us. Our hotel is situated at the heart of the desert away from the city life where you can relax in serene.

It’s our delight to know that you enjoyed your private luxury villa surrounded by our natural wildlife, indulge in our sumptuous cuisines and swept away with the gracious hospitality of our team.

Furthermore, we thank you for acknowledging our associate Uday as he took care of your family very well.

Once again, thank you for choosing Banyan Tree. The whole team and I are looking forward to welcome you back home again to us for more great escapes.

Best Regards,

Anders Dimblad
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banyan Tree Al Wadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Al Wadi

Address: Al Mazraa, PO Box 35288, Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah > Ras Al Khaimah
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
#4 Business Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Al Wadi 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banyan Tree Al Wadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Al Wadi Hotel Ras Al Khaimah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banyan Tree Al Wadi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.