We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A budget hotel for vacationers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of City Hotel

Save Saved
You added City Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Al Muntaser Street, Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 25 hotels in Ras Al Khaimah
abu dhabi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A budget hotel for vacationers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We got a deal 420 Dhs from the internet on this hotel which was accordingly the cheapest in Ras Al Khaimah 3 star hotels that time since it was EID holidays, Chekin =18th Oct, arrived early around 10am and thankful there was a room available.Chekout=19th Oct

Reception: very accomodating . will be serving you juice and arabic coffee.
Rooms: poor- smells smoke and cigarette. room design and linens normal, its not really a hotel kind more of an apartments style.
bathroom: poor

Advise: most rooms smells cigarette.. This is a place to stay for the night or leave most of your belongings , if you plan to your spend your most of your day outside.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    12
    5
    3
    8
See reviews for
10
5
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Looking for a convenient and yet cheap stay in RAK, I would recommend it. its located close to the malls and always taxi is available which makes your life easier. Used room service late night and the food was decent to the amount we pay. The reception staff were very accommodating and helpful with requests. They offer all the very basic services that one on a busy schedule might need.

Only bad thing being the loud music that reached to the room from the bar.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The staff are always amiable and accommodating. I asked for a room on the 4th floor with a balcony. It is only a view of the mall and steady stream of traffic, but the room is clean and spacious with sufficient number of cable channels. Shower was always hot. The chefs will prepare according to your dietary restrictions. The menu is limited but again, the chefs welcome requests. The breakfast buffet is good with healthy options and you can ask one of the eager chefs to whip up an omelette or chapatti. It is a central location close to two malls. There is ample parking. You cannot beat it for the price and friendly service. My only complaints are the booming loud noise from rooftop night club and some guests smoking at breakfast in a totally smoking hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from bar and night club
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We got a deal on this hotel donut was very cheap. 200 Dhirams for a twin room. We only wanted a bed to sleep in and breakfast, which is exactly what we got. Don't expect 5 star service, but the location was close to golf club and city, it was clean and we had excellent view if sunset outside on balcony.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yaqoob T, Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your valuable time to pen down your Feed Backs.

We are glad to know that you have experienced one of our best deals on the discounted room rates.

At City Hotel now we are also promoting other Adventure tours and just to add more value to your stay City Hotel is been transformed to a complete Wi Fi enabled Hotel which is absolutely free for all our guest.

We shall also make sure that we stand up to your expectation of a class service on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

My family stayed at the City Hotel for the RAK Half Marathon in February. While the hotel is convenient as the race is directly across the street, the hotel is dated and run down. Upon our arrival, we checked in and were given keys to our room. It was strange to find out that some rooms used keys while others used key cards. The key for be of the two rooms we booked worked, while the other did not. Maintenance took care of this in rather short order.

The primary reason I give City Hotel a 1/5 rating is that we stayed on the 8th floor. There is a salon, a massage area, and roof access to a club on the 8th floor. The entire night, until 3:30am was constantly filled with loud music wand loud people in the hallways. Definitely not something I wanted since my son and I were scheduled to wake up at 5:30am to get ready for the race. I called down to the front desk twice. Once, they said they would contact the salon. The second time, they said they would send security up. Not sure if they really did anything or not. If they did, it didn't last long. I don't know if other floors are better, but if you stay here, make sure they do not put you on the 8th floor if you want to sleep at all.

Other info - the sheets were clean and the wifi was faster than I've encountered in many hotels. My wife and daughter ate breakfast, and said there was a good selection. Water pressure in the showers was low.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

What a terrible experience. We got no sleep for the 2 nights we stayed there because of the loud music. I rang reception at 3 am to ask when the pounding loud music would stop and was told 4 o clock Ma'am! No hand towels or shower mat in the bathrooms, just 2 bath towels. No place to plug in a hair dryer near to a mirror. A nightmare stay... Never again!!

Room Tip: Don't believe there could possibly be any good rooms in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Best Hotel for business travelers.
1. Breakfast is really nice.
2. Free Wi-fi with fastest connectivity speed is the real boon. It's really great!
3. Location is excellent. To travel anywhere you easily get taxi on the doorstep.
4. It is just opposit to the best Mall of Rak i.e. al Manar Mall and carrefour Shopping Giant.
5. 24 hrs hot/cold water.
6. Speedy and friendly check in / check out.
7. Overall service is quite good.
Just one suggestion -
Need to make HVAC/ exhaust system more effective in coffee shop area adjacent to the reception to restrict the smoking zone.

Tried other properties in Rak but this one is really good and value for money. The Hotel Incharge Mr. Yakub is very helpful.

Will definitely visit again!

Room Tip: Choose room away from the Night club so that the noise won't disturb you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Address: Al Muntaser Street, Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah > Ras Al Khaimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 25 hotels in Ras Al Khaimah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Hotel is in the heart of Ras Al Khaimah, directly across from Manar Shopping Mall. It offers free Wi-Fi, massage treatments in the beauty salon, and rooms with balconies.Dining options include a sushi and seafood bar and casual dining at the 24-hour Balance Dine-In Café. Guests can stay late at The City Lights Bar and Chill Pub.The spacious rooms are air-conditioned and include satellite TV. Some have a sitting area with a sofa.A 24-hour front desk, an on-site tour desk and a car rental service are available at the City Hotel. The property is a 5 minute walk from Ras Al Khaimah’s center. Guests can reach RAK International Airport with a 10 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.