We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Promising hotel, but still a lot to improve” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Danat Al Ain Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Danat Al Ain Resort to your Saves list
Danat Al Ain Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Al Nyadat Street, Kuwaitat Area, Al Ain, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Al Ain
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Promising hotel, but still a lot to improve”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel has a very good potential - it is nicely situated in a beautiful oasis town of Al Ain. The views from the hotel are very nice, all rooms with balconies are renovated (but not bathrooms, which gives a strange contrast) and very nice breakfasts offered. It has a very nice and relaxing swimming pool area - a safe pool for smaller kids, good family pool and great olympic size pool for good swimmers, as well as outside jacuzzi, pool bar, lifeguards, playground for children, etc. However, I got the impression that the hotel is currently still undergoing renovation as parts of it are already renovated and nice while some other parts are completely old and abandoned. Also, be careful - it is a very family friendly hotel, but during the weekends it gets crowded and very noisy at night being a popular spot for wedding celebration, discos, etc. We couldn't sleep during the night of a Valentine's 'day' celebrations and when we called the reception, they didn't even say sorry, only informed us that there was a celebration with a DJ... I believe that it can become a very nice hotel with great facilities, but still needs to make renovations, soundproofing and service improvements.

Room Tip: If you stay during the week, then definately take the pool side room as the view to the oasis is ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed M, General Manager at Danat Al Ain Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear guest,

On behalf of Danat Al Ain Resort team, we would like to thank you for your precious time enlightening the Business & Leisure travelers about your experience with our services & facilities. We are delighted that you liked the hotel facilities, meanwhile we are sorry to hear about the challenges you faced. I assure you that your comments have been taken very seriously and have been passed on to all the relevant departmental managers so that they can address with their teams since we take our service commitment very seriously and assure you that the challenges you experienced were the exception and not the norm.; I hope that this experience will not deter you from using our hotel in the future and I look forward to seeing you again at the Danat Al Ain Resort and assure you of our best attention and services at all times.
Yours sincerely,

Ahmed Margoushy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    102
    41
    21
    14
See reviews for
118
61
18
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed in this Hotel a few years ago when it was a Inter-Con, was 3* at best. Now under new Danat management the rating has fallen. During my 5 day stay the Internet failed to work even once, no wifi, no cable, nada anywhere in the hotel! The front desk staff think they are doing you a favour if you ask them even the smallest request and the Italian resturant is 'faulty towers' reborn. I will not return. The Rotana Al Ain is a much better choice, nice people and a Trader Vic's bar that makes great drinks.

Room Tip: Don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed M, General Manager at Danat Al Ain Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear guest,
we would like to thank you for taking the time to note down your experience during your last visit. we are sorry to hear about the challenges you faced during your stay and dinner at the Luce restaurant. I assure you that your comments have been taken very seriously and have been passed on to all the relevant department , I hope that this experience will not deter you from using our hotel in the future and I look forward to seeing you again at the Danat Al Ain Resort and assure you of our best attention and services at all times.

Ahmed Margoushy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Had a great experience at this hotel. Staying for 2 nights and got upgraded to a suite... huge lounge room (with dining and kitchen we didn't use), spa in bathroom. A welcome pastry platter was a very nice touch. Lovely views out. There's only one thing that could have made it better - outdoor furniture so we could sit and enjoy the view on one of the 4 balconies. Will definitely be staying there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed M, General Manager at Danat Al Ain Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of Danat Al Ain Resort team , we would like to thank you for your precious time enlightening the Business & Leisure travelers about your experience with our services & facilities. Your sincere comments and observations are highly appreciated. We are delighted that you liked the hotel services, looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future; please keep an eye on our Facebook page as it has all the latest happenings in the hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Ahmed El Margoushy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsugaru, Japan
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Wonderful memories of Friday-night karaoke at their Horse & Jockey Pub and their Itailan restaurant (pretty good food there, too), very good breakfast buffet at their Arabesque Cafe, and their tea shop is a great place to relax and do some quite reading (their Green Tea Lea Toureg and Black Tea Ceylon OP are both great for beating back bronchitis and other respiratory maladies).

P.S. Sorry, the name of the Italian restaurant escapes me at the moment.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahmed298061, Guest Relations Manager at Danat Al Ain Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of Danat Al Ain Resort team, we would like to thank you for your precious time enlightening the Business & Leisure travelers about your experience with our services & facilities. Your sincere comments and observations are highly appreciated. We are delighted that you had quality time at the Horse & Jockey Pub, Luce -the Italian restaurant- the Arabesque and our Tea lounge.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future; please keep an eye on our Facebook page as it has all the latest happenings in the hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Ahmed Margoushy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My headline says it all. Went here over my birthday with my husband and my parents. We had 2 adjoining rooms...

Cons:
a. 4 people- 2 rooms- limited tea sachets. When we asked them to send up more tea and sugar sachets the following morning, the guy refused to give us more than 2 sugar sachets even though we had 2 rooms. For a starred property this was shocking... he said- we are nt allowed to give more than 2 sugar sachets- my husband then had to explain to him about us havin 2 rooms and he has 2 sachets by himself.

b. At breakfast we asked the guy at the omlette bad if he could scramble eggs for us with a few onions instead of an omlette and he refused to do so- the next minute an emirati came up and asked for scrambled eggs with cheese and he happily made the same for them.

c.My husband asked them to surprise me a midnite with a cake and decorate the room. Whilst checking in the receptionist tells me- "maam and the room is decorated as per your specifications'. What a bummer...... 3 hours later I receive a call where they ask me mam have u recd the surprise cake? Makes you wonder if Danat ever trained their staff.

I have stayed at Jabal Danat in AUH before and it was a lovely experience- but Al ain- I have no words. The property was nice, rooms were tastefully decorated but alas the staff ruined my 30th birthday....

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahmed298061, General Manager at Danat Al Ain Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear guest,

On behalf of Danat Al Ain Resort team, we would like to thank you for your precious time enlightening the Business & Leisure travelers about your experience with our services & facilities. We are delighted that you liked the hotel, meanwhile we are sorry to hear about the challenges you faced. I assure you that your comments have been taken very seriously and have been passed on to all the relevant departmental managers so that they can address with their teams since we take our service commitment very seriously and assure you that the challenges you experienced were the exception and not the norm.; it was rather of communication error. I hope that this experience will not deter you from using our hotel in the future and I look forward to seeing you again at the Danat Al Ain Resort and assure you of our best attention and services at all times.
Yours sincerely,

Ahmed Margoushy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

i didnt like the place. its so noisy :too much kids everywhere.
the tea lounge cafe has a very poor quality of coffee.
swimming pool is crowded all day and night.
if you want to calm diwn & relax, then this is propably not the right resort.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed M, General Manager at Danat Al Ain Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your observation on tripadvisor, meanwhile we are sorry to hear about the challenges you faced. I assure you that your comments have been taken very seriously and have been passed on to all the relevant departmental managers so that they can address with their teams since we take our service commitment very seriously and assure you that the challenges you experienced were the exception and not the norm. I hope that this experience will not deter you from using our hotel in the future and I look forward to seeing you again at the Danat Al Ain Resort and assure you of our best attention and services at all times.
Yours sincerely,

Ahmed Margoushy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed in Al Ain for 1 night during my recent trip to the UAE. Danat resort is a great place to stay! The room was clean and spacious. The pool is perfect to relax after a day of sightseeing. And the staff was very welcoming and helpful. I was truly satisfied by my experience at Danat.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahmed298061, General Manager at Danat Al Ain Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of Danat Al Ain Resort team , we would like to thank you for your precious time enlightening the Business & Leisure travelers about your experience with our services & facilities. Your sincere comments and observations are highly appreciated. We are delighted that you liked the hotel services and the staff attitude, looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future; please keep an eye on our Facebook page as it has all the latest happenings in the hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Ahmed El Margoushy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Danat Al Ain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danat Al Ain Resort

Address: Al Nyadat Street, Kuwaitat Area, Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Al Ain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Al Ain
#6 Luxury Hotel in Al Ain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Danat Al Ain Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Danat Ain Resort is a recently renovated luxurious 5 star Resort nestled in the lush green landscape of the garden city of Al Ain, with three swimming pools, four Tennis and Squash courts in addition to extensive children's activities. as well as an array of food and beverage restaurants, Italian, Indian, Far Eastern and English Pub. Cultural and leisurely activities surround the Resort. A short drive takes you to Al Ain Zoo, Wadi Adventure water park, Hilli fun city, Bawadi mall and Al Ain mall. Al Ain National Museum and Sheikh Zayed National Museum offer glimpses of local culture and history. To experience the best views of the city, a drive up to Jebel Hafeet Mountain is a must. At the foot of the mountain is Green Mubazzarah a collection of hot springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Danat Al Ain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danat Al Ain Hotel Al Ain
Intercontinental Al Ain Hotel
Danat Al Ain Resort Emirate Of Abu Dhabi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Danat Al Ain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.