We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accommodating to Hurricane Sandy Victims” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hermitage at Napeague

Save Saved
You added The Hermitage at Napeague to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Travelocity
and 1 more site!
The Hermitage at Napeague
2148 Montauk Hwy, Amagansett, NY 11930   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Amagansett
new york
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very accommodating to Hurricane Sandy Victims”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I want to thank the Hermitage at Napeague for being flexible on its cancellation policy for victims of Hurricane Sandy. I made a long-term reservation for an elderly, disabled couple whose home was damaged in the storm, but needed to cancel the reservation when the couple did not want to stay in a hotel so far from their town. The assistant manager, Randy, was very understanding of our situation and a pleasure to work with. I was especially happy to work with the hotel after Expedia (through which I made the reservation) gave me an unbelievably hard time when I tried to cancel. If the hotel treats its guests as well as it treated us, you will have a wonderful stay at the Hermitage.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    8
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ballston Spa, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

October was a perfect time to go because the rates were very reasonable! Rates are sky high in Peak season. There were 5 of us and we fit very comfortably in our unit. More than 5 people may not fit as well.

The beach is beautiful and very private. It is a short walk to the beach from the units as they sit back behind the dunes. We had an oceanview room but the dunes limit full view of the ocean on the first floor. I think it is like this with every ocean view room unless you book on the top floor. Driving is allowable on this beach so be sure to watch out for fisherman! The ocean was very active this time of year so swimming (not to mention temp) was not possible. We had great fall weather with sun and 65F+ temps so sitting on the beach was great.

The unit was clean and neat and the beds were very comfortable. Some wear and tear was seen throughout the rooms but that is probably due to staying after the end of the busy summer season. Carpets worn, deck furniture torn etc. Each unit is individually owned so the condition of one unit can be completely different that the next but all floor plans are the same. Each unit has two bedrooms, two full baths, fully appointed kitchen, dining and living area and covered deck. The housekeeping staff was very attentive each day and accomodated all of our requests. The pool was closed but the hot-tub was still running at this time of year.

The location is very isolated between Amagansett and Montauk. A taxi ride into either town for 5 people was $30 (plus tip) one way. They charge by the person and the ride is only about 10 minutes to either town. Seems a bit steep but worth it if planning to visit the local pubs. We went to Harvest for dinner. They serve family style meals and be sure to make reservations ahead of time-gets busy on weekends. Very dark so it was hard to read the menu but the food was tasty. There is tons of shopping in Amagansett and Montauk and a "must see" is the lighthouse at the end of the island. You can walk the rocks around the lighthouse and look at the surfers and fisherman take on the crazy ocean. The water is very active at the end of the island.

Rate in Peak season can be up to $5,800+ for a week stay without meals. While the place is really nice, I am not sure if I would spend that kind of money to stay here unless I REALLY loved Montauk in the summer. It is a great place to visit off peak season and just hope for the best with the weather! I will be back to visit again and I do recommend it for others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

This was our third trip to the hermitage. We've loved it every time. We've stayed in two different rooms and both have been very well appointed. The staff always helped us pick the best rooms available which was a big help. The location is perfect - between Montauk and Amagansett - close to the best dining options on the south fork in East Hampton and Montuak. The property is beautiful, you have a cool boardwalk leading you to the ocean and beautiful beach as far as the eye can see. There is a nice pool on the property, but we never used it (why sit by a pool when you can sit by the Ocean?). There are tennis courts on the property. it is right across the road from the walking dunes. We found plenty of hiking options nearby. We absolutely love the peaceful atmosphere that the hermitage provides. listening to the ocean from your room is a nice touch. seeing the ocean from your room is cool - recommend bring binocluars to scan the seas and also we found interesting birding opportunities right from our deck. Each room has a private deck which is awesome - the housekeeping staff did a great job and were very friendly! We love this place and will continue to visit and we recommend it for everyone from couples to families to large parties!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I have been staying at the Hermitage with my family since I was a child and continue to stay there with my husband once a year. Perfect beach location and only a short drive into Montauk, Amagansett Square and East Hampton. Great restaurants in Montauk. I highly recommend East by North East and the Harvest for dinner. John's Pancake House is a must!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This is my 3rd time at hermitage. Beautiful grounds simple but clean. 2 new tennis courts and updated pool area were a great discovery. The only drawback is unit interior - it must be updated fir $700 a night stay. Beach is great with great service. Will come back! Also had to leave 2 nights earlier due to Irene - management didn't offer even partial credit. But overall a great vacation spot !

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Whole place is filthy. Bugs all over. Couch was so dirty that we needed to put towels down just to sit on it.

I would not recommend. Front desk manager not helpful. Very rude. May be worst hotel room I have ever been in.

Room Tip: Dont stay. Bugs in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011 via mobile

The apart-hotel is in a great location, with a lovely pool & beach. The room was more than adequate although the bathrooms are very antiquated, especially given the rates. There is so little choice in the area that they get away with the prices.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hermitage at Napeague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage at Napeague

Also Known As:
The Hermitage At Napeague Hotel
The Hermitage At Napeague Hotel Amagansett
Address: 2148 Montauk Hwy, Amagansett, NY 11930
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Amagansett
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Amagansett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hermitage is an elegant ocean front retreat nestled among the spectacular pristine dunes of Amagansett. This exclusive sanctuary offers uniquely furnished luxurious two-bedroom units complete with living room and dining room, full kitchen facilities and color television with cable service. Private decks for tanning and entertaining epitomize the union of sun, surf and luxury living found at The Hermitage. Bask on the ocean beach or challenge and unwind on The Hermitage tennis courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Hermitage at Napeague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hermitage at Napeague, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.