We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for the beach, terrible for a wedding” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Colony Beach and Tennis Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ocean Colony Beach and Tennis Club to your Saves list
Ocean Colony Beach and Tennis Club
2004 Montauk Highway, Amagansett, NY 11930   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Amagansett
USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice for the beach, terrible for a wedding”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed at Ocean Colony for a wedding over a long weekend. If we had to do it over again, we would choose other accommodations. We were eight people and initially rented two two-bedroom units.

The trouble began when we arrived, well after 5PM because of traffic. All the staff had left by then, and they'd left the keys to our units in a box outside the registration building. Or they were supposed to leave keys to our two units, but they instead gave us one of our keys and a key to a unit with a similar number to ours. Fortunately, the second key was to a unit in which some other relatives were staying, so we didn't barge in on a stranger. We weren't able to fix things until the following morning, but luckily so many family members were also staying at Ocean Colony that we were able to find beds for everyone the first night. I thought it was very unprofessional that there wasn't someone on duty 24 hours a day, and that when we called the emergency number to sort things out, the service gave us a phone number that was not answered when we called.

Once the room situation was sorted, we were left with one loft unit and one two bedroom unit. Both were a little run-down. The decor and appliances were probably really nice about twenty years ago, but you got the feeling that a few thousand people had used them before you got there, hadn't been careful about it, and stole all the frying pans. Despite the advertised free wireless internet, only the loft unit was able to access the network, and the signal was so weak that our computers couldn't maintain it for more than a few minutes at a time. The internet speed was around 512Kbs, for those interested. There weren't any Ethernet outlets. The power outlets upstairs in the loft unit did not function. The beds were soft and short, so tall people and those who prefer firmer mattresses were somewhat uncomfortable.

The loft unit had two bathrooms and the two bedroom unit only had one, which I would not recommend if you need to attend several semi-formal events. There were no full-length mirrors, and the second loft bathroom did not have a hair dryer. The bathroom in the two bedroom unit did not have a fan, only a heater which was ineffectual for clearing the room of humidity. The lighting was extremely poor in all bathrooms. These aren't the sorts of things that matter when you're on a vacation at the beach, but they matter when you've got a wedding to attend.

The weather was rainy and warm, and whenever the sky cleared it was while we were at an event, so we did not get to enjoy the outdoor amenities. The views from both units were beautiful. Because it was so warm and so humid, we chose to rely on the air conditioner rather than opening windows (The mosquitoes seemed to be able to get through the screens). There was not air conditioning in the bedrooms, only in the living areas. This strikes me as backwards, but perhaps it is a strange New York custom. In order to get the upstairs in the loft to 70 degrees, the downstairs living area needed to be freezing. Luckily this did not affect the couple staying in the downstairs bedroom, because with the door shut the air conditioning didn't reach that bedroom. There were heaters in every room except the upstairs areas in the loft, but we didn't need them.

We only saw one ramp for wheelchairs. Most of the units are accessed by going either up or down stairs. The driveway and parking lot weren't paved, but had pebbles instead. Pebbles are not ideal for walking in while wearing heels, and there were also complaints from people who wore sandals and got pebbles trapped beneath their feet as they walked. All in all, Ocean Colony Beach and Tennis Club is not a great place to stay if you're in town for a wedding, need access to the internet, or like to sleep in a cool room. It is not a hotel. It seems far more suited for a week-long summer vacation at the beach.

Room Tip: The lofts are better if you're traveling with a group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    14
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
23
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

My large family all rented (about 10) separate apartments for their families at Ocean Colony over the first weekend in June during a big wedding weekend. The apartments semed to vary widely in the quality of furnishings/decor/amenities. Ours was somehwhat shabby, but perfactly acceptable. Each apartment is privately-owned, so you take your chances. Great place for kids, nice (heated) pool and wonderful access to amazing ocean beach -- though the water in early June was still too cold to swim and the weather too cold/windy to play any tennis. Location is about half-way between East Hampton and Montauk. We would likely have returned later in the summer for vacation but could not bring our [indespensable] dogs. You're on your own for cooking (shop before you arrive) w. kitchens -- but don't miss the clam shack just down the road!

Room Tip: Ask for newly-renovated and/or ocean-front/view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011 via mobile

Beach and location are fantastic but the units... In bad and poor shape to put it mildly. 1 bedroom go for around $100 in October and that is about right but in late August, over $400! We were supposed to stay 4 nights but had to leave after 1 : ran down, rust,... in unit -we asked to get another one that was slightly better; might have done in the 80's rather than 70's, no view and no access to Internet. Shameful.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
334 reviews 334 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Just back from a short trip to NY and stayed at the Ocean Colony Beach and Tennis Club in Amagansett. This is a Co-op community with privately owned units but rental is handled by a single management company like a hotel. The complex has two tennis courts, a swimming pool (not very big) and a “Club House” which consists of a deck, a small seating area, bathrooms and a table tennis table. The beach is just steps away and there are towels, and beach attendants who will set up beach umbrella and chairs for you. We were there from Thursday to Friday and the beach was quite deserted with few guests there, it’s almost like having your own private beach with the only sound being the lapping of waves and seagulls. The tennis courts were in very good condition and were also not crowded (you sign up for a time to play in the rental office) and it’s really pleasant to play in the evening when they are shaded. The room we had was a north facing top floor one-bedroom/2 bath unit with a loft, a balcony overlooking the tennis courts, and a kitchen. There are flat-screen TVs in every room – the loft has two twin beds and a bathroom, the one bedroom has a queen size bed, and in addition the living room has a pullout bed so the unit can accommodate 4-6 people quite comfortably. The only thing about the loft is that there is a skylight facing the beds and there is no shade on that window (so light sleepers might not want to use that room). All in all we really liked the place and had a great time enjoying the proximity of the beach and could easily spend a whole week there! There are two restaurants nearby (the complex has no F&B on site) – Clam Bar right across the street, and Lobster Roll a block away. We tried the Clam Bar – it’s ok but nothing special, and they use Styrofoam plate and plastic utensils. I ordered the teriyaki shrimp skewer and it was not what I expected – the shrimps were incredibly bland and tasteless and the teriyaki was just a dipping sauce. The menu has a lot of deep fried stuff which is probably something that they can do better. They also don’t accept credit cards but has an ATM on site. For any other shopping or more restaurants choices you’ll have to go to either Montauk or the village of Amagansett or East Hampton which were short drives away. Lastly, one thing I want to mention however, is that in the morning we were woken up at 5 am by the loud sound of helicopters flying low and making repeated rounds overhead. It lasted for a whole half hour. We forgot to ask the office what it was so are not sure whether it is something that happens regularly – because if it does it could be a nuisance because it’s hard to go back to sleep after that. But then again it would be a problem for all the hotels in the vicinity.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

I originally wrote my first review on the Ocean Colony in July of 2009, it is probably posted above or below this one, and it is titled "Thank goodness the refrigerator was broken."

To update and give a more detailed and informative review, I'd just like to add that my family has returned every year for the past three years, at different times including Memorial Day Weekend, Independence Day weekend, and then a regular summer weekend in late July. Also since the refrigerator broke, and we really enjoyed that super nice room near the beach with the loft, we always splurge for one of the loft bedrooms, and we invite more people (The more the merrier). Usually rounding around fifteen people of all ages, and the adults of course, sleep on the bed while the teens and younger adults crash on the floor in blankets and sleeping beds. Also I've met others there who were vacationing and I have seen their rooms as well.

So my review? I absolutely love the place. However it is inconsistent because what the website fails to mention is that this is a time share. Over seventy different people own individual rooms. .. thus why they are decorated so differently. Some rooms even have photos of who I presume, own the rooms. So I recommend that if you go, and I definitely advise that you do, if you don't like your room within the first fifteen minutes, just ask to change rooms. In addition, I think that this place had the ideal location between Amagansett, East Hampton, and Montauk Point, and other sites such as the Phantom Forest/Hither Hills State Park, the Art Barge, The Surf Lounge, bicycle paths, walking trails, et cettera. Also the Ocean Colony is super easy to find, drive into, and has really nice staff that can accommodate most issues like an extended check-out, a broken room fixture, or extra towels and/or toiletries.

One thing I could change? I'm caught between adding a jacuzzi or painting/adding to the wooden balconies and staircases.... they look old and cheap, not beachy. It makes it feel too much like a sleep away camp for little children and teens... I wouldn't even mind some paint or tiles, or even more plants, vines, et cettera... but do not let that discourage you. The vacation is still going to be a one of kind, and amazing experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westchester ny
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

Just what we needed! We had a fantastic time at the Ocean Colony. We had a one bedroom loft room with an ocean view which was perfect for us and our two small children. The beach is beautiful and never crowded. We went Mon-Fri so it was pretty quiet around the area. Perfect location, 10 min to Montauk or East Hampton. The kids loved both the beach and the pool. My only complaint is that we didn't stay longer. We will be back, can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

This is a great place to stay for a short trip to the Hamptons area. It's very secluded and has it's own private beach area. During the summer the beaches in this area are packed-but not here. The beach is fantastic if you love big waves. This hotel is not cheap but none of them in the vicinity are during the summer months. The Ocean Colony provides kitchen amenities so you can go out to an area resturant (the choices are very extensive and excellent) for one meal and prepare something in your room for the others to make up for the cost. They've got a nice pool and tennis courts, beautiful grounds and a great location central to everything that you go to Amagansett for. We've stayed here more than once and the staff has been great every time.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Colony Beach and Tennis Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Colony Beach and Tennis Club

Address: 2004 Montauk Highway, Amagansett, NY 11930
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Amagansett
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Amagansett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ocean Colony Beach and Tennis Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Colony Beach And Tennis Club Hotel Amagansett

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Colony Beach and Tennis Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.