We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal for great value. Lunch is a Hampton's classic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lobster Roll Restaurant

Lobster Roll Restaurant
1980 Montauk Hwy E, Amagansett, NY 11930
+1 631-267-3740
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Amagansett
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: Fish & Chips, Seafood, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: "This is where Summer begins." The Lobster Roll Restaurant, also known as "Lunch", is a nostalgic beach shack serving lunch and dinner to locals and guests from around the globe. Our critically acclaimed family restaurant serves beach-side favorites like lobster rolls, chowders, steamers, fresh seafood, chicken, burgers, sandwiches, steak and homemade pies. We also feature a full-bar, gluten-free menu, and an extensive children's menu. Our famous lobster salad is made with 100% pure cold water lobster meat, using the same recipe we created almost 50 years ago! Our lobster salad contains no imitation seafood products, no fillers, no preservatives, and no artificial flavorings. It's all about quality! We have indoor and outdoor seating amidst sand dunes, gardens of summer flowers, umbrellas, beach balls, picnic tables, and plenty of smiling faces! By popular demand, our entire menu is available for take-out. We can also cater to you!
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great meal for great value. Lunch is a Hampton's classic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Lunch has some of the best seafood that the Hampton's has to offer. The cold lobster roll is insane the tuna steaks are extremely good. Andrea's homemade desserts are a must, do not leave the Hampton's before you try a slice of one of her pies. Truly my favorite pies in the world.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Owner at Lobster Roll Restaurant, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
That's so nice of you to say, Jon! I'm thrilled to hear you're such a huge fan of my pies, and that you think we've got a great thing going with our seafood. I appreciate your kind words and certainly hope we'll see you again before summer's end!

From our family to yours,
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    54
    16
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Had A Lobster Roll and went to Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I lived in Sag Harbor for many years and always made time to have lunch at Lunch each week during the season. By far the best Lobster Roll anywhere. Moist,tender,meaty with large succulent pieces of fresh lobster. Great cole slaw and fries. You can't do wrong with anything on their large menu.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Owner at Lobster Roll Restaurant, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Happy to hear you think our lobster roll packs a meaty, delicious punch, Gary! I really appreciate you taking the time to review us and, while it looks like you're not in the area anymore, I hope we'll still be part of your summer traditions for years to come.

From our family to yours,
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Meal of the weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Found this gem on Trip Advisor and thought I would give it a try, best lobster roll in a very long time!! service was fabulous too. Even though it looked like there might be a long wait, we were seated right away and the food came out so fast! Love it here!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Owner at Lobster Roll Restaurant, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
We love you for lovin' us, Denise! I'm so happy you enjoyed your roll and that it came out fast. Hope we'll see you again before the end of the season!

From our family to yours,
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Dinner for two”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Atmosphere and food are great.
Great service with informal beach vibe. Chili was remarkable. Lobster roll is legendary.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Owner at Lobster Roll Restaurant, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Legendary lobster, choice chili, and wonderful waiters? We'll take it! I'm so glad you enjoyed your meal with us and I hope we can welcome you back for more sometime in the near future.

From our family to yours,
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Lunch does dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

There is a giant sign that says "LUNCH" at the Lobster Roll. Imagine our surprise when we stopped in for dinner, which was also excellent. The place is super-casual, with a very up to date menu that even includes gluten-free lobster rolls! It's a real treat by the shore, and in the overpriced East End, you can get a great meal that won't bust your budget.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Owner at Lobster Roll Restaurant, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Happy to hear your dinner didn't disappoint, Steve! I really appreciate you taking the time to spread the good word about us here on TripAdvisor -- it means a lot. I hope we'll see you the next time you're on the East End. Who knows? Maybe it will even for lunch next time!

From our family to yours,
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lobster Roll Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lobster Roll Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lobster Roll Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.