We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty and not v expensive.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kazbek

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kazbek
5/11 Naberezhnaya Str, | (Nikolaev), Mykolayiv 54000, Ukraine
(0512)58-21-71
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 25 Restaurants in Mykolayiv
Price range: $14 - $21
Cuisines: European, Grill
Restaurant details
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Tasty and not v expensive.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I would not rate this 5 stars if it was in Kiev or Lviv, but for Nikoalev it's probably one of the top places to eat if you want tasty food. Recommended. Shame that selection of wines is quite limited and poor.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kyiv
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
827 helpful votes 827 helpful votes
“Safe choice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Kazbek Georgian restaurant is a part of Kozyrna Karta chain. It’s not bad at all, and is your safe choice for a decent meal in a pleasant atmosphere with a good service.

Located on the one-way street next to the Quay. Free parking is along the street.

I only rated it average as it has not exceeded my expectations, and in terms of food quality even somewhat disappointed. Georgian cuisine is among my favourite, so I’m really picky about it.

Bozbash lamb soup (ca US$ 5.6) was excellent - rich, reasonably spicy. So was Tavaduri pork with vegetables (ca US$ 9.3).

But then, surprisingly, Khinkali (Georgian dumplings) were served without a knob - how were we supposed to properly eat them? It was impossible to hand them without letting the juice out, so the biggest fun about khinkali was missing. In any case, Khinkali with lamb (ca US$ 5.6) turned out dry compared to the others (pork? can’t remember) we had, and with no herbs. Yet they all tasted okay, if you don’t expect Georgian quality from Ukrainian khinkali.

We normally don’t go to a Georgian restaurant for a dessert, but were keen to try their novelty recommended by the waitress - Fig and Pear pie with Tarragon (ca US$ 5.4). It turned out absolutely delicious! Unlike cheese cake with raspberry sauce (ca US$ 6), which was disappointingly poor; just a plain «syrnik».

The choice of wines by glass was not too diversified. Many of those Georgian wines that I love were missing. A glass of white Alazani Valley cost about US$ 2.5, which is certainly not overpriced by Ukrainian standards. They didn’t have any Tarkhun (Tarragon soft drink), but offered us wonderful Cranberry mors (fruit infusion).

All in all, we spent a good time here. The restaurant was almost empty, so the service was top attentive.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good Georgian cuisine but wine is expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Kazbek is prettily situated just behind the mayor's office next to a park overlooking the river. In summer you can sit on the veranda and watch the world go by and the parents and children playing opposite.

Service has always been good here - reasonably swift to see to your needs, courteous and helpful in choosing unfamiliar food.

The shashliks are generally excellent both in meat quality and in spicing. I only once had a problem with the quality of the meat, and they changed it. The Georgian breads are good, with the specialities of katchapuri (like a large unleavened bread with melted cheese inside, and a raw egg, which then gets mixed into the cheese and, the edges rolled over, then serves at least 4 people!!!). The fruit juices (try fresh melon juice in summer) are good - but a fresh pineapple juice will cost you $6-7.

My only problem is the cost of the wines. With wine, you will not escape for less than 400 UAH (about$50) a head.Georgian wines are generally overpriced in Ukraine anyway; but the only alternatives are French and Italian. So the pricing is up-market, as is some of the clientele.

When you see a group of extra large Lexus and Mercedes 4x4's outside, you will be perfectly safe, but you might wonder who the t-shirted muscle-bound men are who arrive thus and frequent the place on Saturdays and Sundays in summer...

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Excellent Georgian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

Indeed,one of the best restaurants in Nikolayev.I've been there a lot of times-on business,with my husband and family.Food is delicious as it always is in Kazbek chain,the design is stylish,using Georgian alphabet as a decoration,but I have to mention a small disappointment by the waiter once when he "hinted" for tips and music,since I expected something traditional Georgian and not pop...
Do not miss this place when in Nikolayev!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, NH
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Georgian food in Nikolaev, Ukraine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2008

This is one of a small chain of restaurants. We ate there twice on consecutive nights in June 2008. The food is Georgian and very tasty. There were seven of us, and we tried a number of dishes - all good to excellent. Good wine list. We preferred eating on the terrace because of the heavy tobacco smoke inside. We had a very good waiter the first night and a not-so-good one the second. Moderately priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kazbek also viewed

Mykolayiv, Mykolaiv Oblast
Mykolayiv, Mykolaiv Oblast
 
Mykolayiv, Mykolaiv Oblast
 

Been to Kazbek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kazbek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.