We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome difference in Donetsk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Donbass Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Donbass Palace to your Saves list
Donbass Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Artyoma St., 80, Donetsk 83001, Ukraine   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Donetsk
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A welcome difference in Donetsk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel several times when in Donetsk on business. It is owned by one of the local oligarchs who uses it as a showcase toy to impress business partners and expats working in the town. The hotel walks a fine line between opulence and kitsch but ultimately would not look out of place in Rome or Paris. Never had a problem with service, rooms or staff. What sums up the experience are the boxes of condoms in the mini bar that are called "For your safety" on the price list. How thoughtful.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    18
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
7
10
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Venlo, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The Donbass Hitel i have been in many times during the last couple of years. It still feels like coming home since the first time i came here in 2005.
Kitchen offeres great tasty food.
Rooms are excelent and staff is very friendly!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I always wanted to stay there but I never could negotiate a price that could be reasonable enough for me to justify staying there. I finally had this opportunity and booked a suite. Comfort, cleanliness, service, all was outstanding. Not all the staff speaks English but is very attentive and polite. In case like I have read in other reviews one is dissatisfied mention it immediately, all will be corrected. On my stay all came perfect. The breakfast is very good maybe not as good as I expected but i cannot point out the exact reason why it felt something was missing. the concierge and the reception was all fluent in english. The location of the hotel was excellent and even though my suite was on the boulevard, i was not bothered by the noice. the room service was also excellent and efficient. I did not have time to enjoy all features of the hotel, but I left with a great feeling. I will go back again if I can get the same deal. please remember that you are in Ukraine and that sometimes if you feel something is not right mention it immediately and most of the time the thing will be solved in a minute. I recommend the receptionist or the concierge that can be your best ally in solving problems.

Room Tip: The bar is very convenient to conduct meetings, and offer very nice pastries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Although I was not staying at the hotel I was recommended to eat at the restaurant. I have never been so disappointed... the food took a long time to arrive, was cold & did not meet my expectations at all. The service was slow & the chef... whoever was in charge as the head chef was not on duty was extremely rude & unhelpful. I would not recommend this hotel to any of my business assoicates or friends. Very poor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Everything in this palace hotel is perfect!
I was lucky because as soon as I arrived I was upgraded to a splendid superior rooms and welcomed with roses and chocolates in the room!
Room service is fast and the staff is super nice ^__^
Breakfast is just awesome and maybe the best I had so far during this trip in Ukraine...
There is a cosy spa in the hotel and massages are just great :-)
I can just say that my stay was really appreciated also thanks to this hotel!!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I visited this hotel on a business trip. While the hotel's main areas look beautiful and the room I was given was quite large, the hotel is not a 5 star hotel. Much of the hotel staff speaks no English. The food on offer looked positively Soviet. And m y room was freezing cold the entire time I was there. In spite of calling multiple times to complain, the hotel could do nothing to remedy this as the highest the heat goes in any of their room is 24.5 Celsius - air conditioning in most countries! If you have to go to Donetsk (and I would ask yourself if you really do), stay far, far away or pack your blankets with you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Fantastic hotel, with excellent customer focused staff. Staff attentive, great and efficient. I do find the hotel a bit pricy though, when compared to other new hotels in the city. Rooms are comfortable and staff went out of their way to assist. Even arranged taxis to collected me from a bar in the early hours of the morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Donbass Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donbass Palace

Address: Artyoma St., 80, Donetsk 83001, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Donetsk Oblast > Donetsk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Donetsk
#1 Luxury Hotel in Donetsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Donbass Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Donbass Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donbass Palace Donetsk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Donbass Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.