We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boma

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Entebbe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Boma
Save
You added The Boma to your Saves list
Plot 20A, Gowers Road, Entebbe, Uganda   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 34 Entebbe B&B and Inns
Cape Town, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Numerous friends had recommended the Boma to me as a great stop-off whenever you have a few hours to spare before taking a flight, and I am so glad I did stop here! I was made to feel so welcome by the staff, Patrick in particular was fantastic. He is by far the most professional individual I have met in any establishment in Uganda. I felt like a bit of a fraud only coming to lounge around their beautiful pool and read my book in the cosy lounging area without actually staying the night, but it was no trouble for them. It was the most relaxing and delightful day without the usual stresses of trying to reach the airport on time. I had a delicious and filling lunch and very good dinner. The menu is simple but presentation and taste are great. The staff even allowed me to make use of the airport transfer, at a small cost, which was fine, so I arrived for my flight totally refreshed and relaxed. Thank you so much! I will definitely stay longer on my next visit.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    94
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
40
120
53
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I've been staying with The Boma on and off for over four years. The proof in their success is the rate at which they've physically grown and the increasing difficulty I have getting a reservation. The food is good, the rooms are comfortable, the people are friendly and the decor is an interesting Ugandan/European fusion. I recommend this place to all of my colleagues. If you're starting your trip Uganda, this is where you want to stay to get a great start. If you're finishing a trip in Uganda this is the place to clean up and wind down.

It's a little hard to find them at airport pickups, so check your eyes peeled. I also wish they would accept all major credit cards, but I'm sure this will come with time.

Room Tip: I like them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

A friend found The Boma on a Tripadvisor forum and what a gem! I'd been searching for a place with character and service in Entebbe, and The Boma is perfect! The property is immaculate, the rooms are very comfortable (no air condition in the room I was in, but I didn't need it), and the staff are very friendly.

This place has a real charm, and even though it's small, you have a choice of where to eat - overlooking the pool, or overlooking the spacious front grounds. There is a gazebo for relaxing in under the trees, a playground for children, a pool, a gift shop, and a private car and driver you can hire.

The food is really good too, and there's wifi - all the things one needs, within a place that really makes you feel like you're in Africa, and not in a character-less hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

After the flight from the UK via Nairobi arriving here was a wonderful experience. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was everything we could have hoped.
There are bicycles for hire and I would certainly recommend doing this as it is a great way to go down to the botanical gardens and Lake Victoria's shoreside.
That said the gardens and the pool provide a very tranquil environment with plenty of bird life to watch. It was a great starting point on our trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Friendly, helpful staff, nice location, good food....a quiet nice place in Entebbe where you can calm down from the busy life of Kampala or Entebbe. Worth to stay there and to test it out!
The rooms are clean and well accomodated. All in all we were pleased to stay at the Boma Lodge!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

After a hectic week in Entebbe working for Amazing Children Uganda, it was lovely to be able to wind down for a day here at the Boma before my flight back to London. This matches up with my idea of what a small African hotel or guest house should be like. Lots of thoughtful touches (done with the convenience of the guest rather than the hotel in mind); lovely setting and ambience; comfortable and clean rooms; good food and a well stocked bar; and delightfully friendly staff. I will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 30th anniversary and her 60th with a trip round Uganda. Our first night upon arrival at Entebbe and last night before a very early start were at The Boma. What a treat! The gardens and pool are fantastic and a bonus was being able to photograph a couple of birds that we had hunted for on our trip (parrots and gonolek). The service was excellent and we loved the food. Thank you for making us feel so welcome. The Boma will be on our itinerary on our next trip to Uganda. Thanks for making us so welcome. Chris and Auriel Thorpe

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma

Address: Plot 20A, Gowers Road, Entebbe, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Entebbe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Entebbe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boma is Entebbe’s original and most exclusive hotel, set in tropical gardens in a leafy suburb, a few minutes drive from Entebbe International Airport. Our rooms combine today’s modern comforts one with the charm and character of the original 1940's homestead. Our staff and management team ensure guests receive a personable service and enjoy hospitality standards which are in keeping with the tradition of this charming lake shore town. Rates include B&B and airport transfers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Boma Hotel Entebbe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.