We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good start after a long trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Boma

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Entebbe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Boma
Save
You added The Boma to your Saves list
Plot 20A, Julia Sebutinde Road, Entebbe, Uganda   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 28 Entebbe B&B and Inns
Horgen
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A good start after a long trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

After a long trip to Uganda I arrived @ 23:00 in the Boma. I was picked up at the airport by one of the hotel staff. After a short ride I arrived at the hotel.

The check in was fast and friendly and the room was quite big. As I was quite thirsty I went quickly to the bar and I had my first beer in Uganda - it was fantastic.

I then had a wonderful sleep in a big bed. The next morning I enjoyed breakfast close to the pool.

I can definitely recommend the Boma. Especially for the 1st or the last night, as it is close to the airport.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    88
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
38
114
48
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This guest house is an easy taxi distance from Entebbe Airport. Indeed the hotel organises pick ups and return journeys to the airport. Rooms are comfortable with fans (which you will need on your first night in Uganda) There is also a pleasant verandah where you can have tea brought in the early morning or in the afternoon. Dining room overlooks a good sized swimming pool surrounded by los of loungers and chairs. Breakfast includes fruit, cereal, toast, any kind of egg and excellent coffee. Dinner menu is OK but nothing special. Helpings are very generous - too much for me. As others have said the staff are excellent. It is a busy place as the flights arrive and depart at odd times of day and night. On our way back home the staff kindly let us store our luggage then have dinner before our flight home. This is the place I would always choose for a day or two stay in Entebbe.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here dozens of time over the past six years. The accommodation, amenities, food and environment are a notch above anywhere else in the area. However, it is the staff that truly set this place apart. They go out of their way to make sure you have what you need and are comfortable. Whether you're on business, vacation, a first-time visitor or a regular, the Boma will make sure you have a good experience. This is our go-to place for rest and renewal. We trust it will be for you as well.

Room Tip: We prefer rooms 3 through 5, but all are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell Butte, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We have been traveling with medical or construction teams to Uganda 3-4 times per year since 2005. About 2008 we discovered The Boma and it has become our home away from home ever since. We always arrive on the 10:15 P.M. KLM flight, and The Boma driver is always there to drive us the 5 minutes to The Boma. The owners and staff are totally friendly and kind. They go out of their way to help make our stay there relaxing and enjoyable. The rooms are private and well done. The bathrooms are spacious, and there is plenty of hot water. The food is excellent and the menu has a good variety. In addition, the outside surroundings are wonderful. They have a small gazebo area where we are able to hold team meetings, and their pool is always clean and fun to be in. As you can tell, I very highly recommendThe Boma to anyone traveling to Uganda.

Room Tip: Room # 2 is the perfect place for a couple. If you are traveling alone, the Budget Room (BR) gives...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herefordshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The Boma Guest House in Entebbe was a real find for the beginning and end of our trip to Uganda. The initial welcome was fantastic, and things only got better from there. Food was first rate, ambience was so relaxing and peaceful - amazing to find such trqnquility just 5 minutes free transfer away from the airport. I'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Perfect location settled in a nice garden and very close to the airport only 5 min shuttle provided by hotel.
The rooms good standard with comfi beds and large bathroom.
Staff is very kind and hepfull in everything.
Restaurant with a lot of atmosphere and good food.
Large swimmingpool with enough sunloungers.
The place to start or end your Uganda trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey,Channel Islands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We arrived late at night in Entebbe and decided to spend the following day relaxing in the wonderful Boma Guesthouse - the perfect tonic for a long day travelling.
Great staff, superb tranquil grounds and excellent wholesome food.
A great place to start or end your Ugandan adventure.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 2 which with its little outside balcony is a real gem. No alarm clock required a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma

Address: Plot 20A, Julia Sebutinde Road, Entebbe, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Entebbe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Entebbe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boma is Entebbe’s original and most exclusive hotel, set in tropical gardens in a leafy suburb, a few minutes drive from Entebbe International Airport. Our rooms combine today’s modern comforts one with the charm and character of the original 1940's homestead. Our staff and management team ensure guests receive a personable service and enjoy hospitality standards which are in keeping with the tradition of this charming lake shore town. Rates include B&B and airport transfers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Boma Hotel Entebbe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.