We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“real gem of a place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boma

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Entebbe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Boma
Save
You added The Boma to your Saves list
Plot 20A, Gowers Road, Entebbe, Uganda   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 34 Entebbe B&B and Inns
herefordshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“real gem of a place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The Boma Guest House in Entebbe was a real find for the beginning and end of our trip to Uganda. The initial welcome was fantastic, and things only got better from there. Food was first rate, ambience was so relaxing and peaceful - amazing to find such trqnquility just 5 minutes free transfer away from the airport. I'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    94
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
40
120
53
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Perfect location settled in a nice garden and very close to the airport only 5 min shuttle provided by hotel.
The rooms good standard with comfi beds and large bathroom.
Staff is very kind and hepfull in everything.
Restaurant with a lot of atmosphere and good food.
Large swimmingpool with enough sunloungers.
The place to start or end your Uganda trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey,Channel Islands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We arrived late at night in Entebbe and decided to spend the following day relaxing in the wonderful Boma Guesthouse - the perfect tonic for a long day travelling.
Great staff, superb tranquil grounds and excellent wholesome food.
A great place to start or end your Ugandan adventure.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 2 which with its little outside balcony is a real gem. No alarm clock required a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

The Boma in ENtebbe Uganda is a delightful place to stay near the airport. An English style house with a lovely garden in a very quiet neighborhood.The room we stayed was not great....the light was so dim I could not read. My daughter's matress was terrible...We preferred to have the bed taken away and both sleep in a queen size bed . The safe was inside the closet with no light.The food was homely and good. The service very good. Everybody tried to do their best in a very soft and delicate way.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
1,075 reviews 1,075 reviews
184 hotel reviews
Reviews in 350 cities Reviews in 350 cities
655 helpful votes 655 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Boma was a pleasant end to our ugandan trip in a very peaceful setting.

The pool is clean and large enough for a good swim.

We ate out (taxi 5 dollars each way to faze 3 restaurant) so cant comment on evening meals.

Its furnished in an old fashioned manner which isnt really my thing but nonetheless its a relaxing spot with plenty of loungers by the pool and places to sit and it has a lot more charachter than most airport/town hotels

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Boma offers a relaxed friendly environment to recharge prior to seeing the Gorillas or anything else in Uganda. The rooms are cosy and the food is homely. The ground are beautifully kept and relaxing by the pool is welcoming at the end of the day.

The staff were extremely accommodating in organising our transfers and assisting with flight bookings. Free Wifi is available in most of lodge and there is a printer if you need to use it.

The surrounds are peaceful and there is a generator for the inevitable continuous power outages that occur in Entebbe.

Rooms have mosquito nets but don't forget your personel repellant. The mossies are out in force at sunset.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed at the boma on the way over to Uganda begining of October. It is in a quiet corner of town and is quite secluded. Its small but has very nice gardens and a lovely pool.

The staff are friendly and very helpful. Free Wifi!

I also returned on my way back at the end of December and the only real issue i had with the place were the beds - however they have upgraded them to spring matress. None of this foam matress business! Rooms are cosey and comfortable and clean.

the best thing about this place is the food!!!! Zanzibar fish curry - I dream of it.

Not the best place to go on your own unless its over-night. difficult to mingle with people but great for a stop over.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma

Address: Plot 20A, Gowers Road, Entebbe, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Entebbe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Entebbe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boma is Entebbe’s original and most exclusive hotel, set in tropical gardens in a leafy suburb, a few minutes drive from Entebbe International Airport. Our rooms combine today’s modern comforts one with the charm and character of the original 1940's homestead. Our staff and management team ensure guests receive a personable service and enjoy hospitality standards which are in keeping with the tradition of this charming lake shore town. Rates include B&B and airport transfers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Boma Hotel Entebbe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.