We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good staff,average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel to your Saves list
LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plot 23-31, Circular Road, Entebbe, Uganda (Formerly Windsor Lake Victoria Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Entebbe
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“good staff,average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

i stayed here for a month on a business trip and was very pleased so the warm welcome by the staff.the hotel property is not very big but average with good pool and gym .the rooms in the new wing have very bad carpet smell .i changed the room 4 times.the old wing is better.the new rooms are very small.the food is OK but the hotel chef will make anything you need.the prices for the food are approx 10 us d.the rooms are clean and room service is not good though.the hotels has lots of bugs and mosquitoes.only good thing is the staff which go all out to please you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaicoLakeVictoria, General Manager at LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Mr. Vishalsaneja,

Thank you so much for your comments and your stay with us at Laico lake Victoria Hotel.

I disused it with my team for each point in your comments and for improvement on the quality in the hotel.

I hope to welcome you again at the hotel and please do not hesitate to contact me "gm@laico-lakevictoria.com".

Best regards,

Marc Peters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    66
    55
    19
    14
See reviews for
13
30
15
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This is my 5th time staying in this hotel. A real oasis in Entebbe, Uganda. Rooms are clean, service is excellent and the help of the front desk is remarkable. We met the Front dest manager r Mustafa Geneva who was very helpful in all our requirements and make sure that our stay in the hotel are problem free.
Breakfast is generous, and the only concern is the internet speed which is related to third party provider.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaicoLakeVictoria, General Manager at LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Mr. Husein MM,

Thank you for your comment and your stay with us here at Laico lake victoria Hotel.
I hope to welcome you again at the hotel and please do not hesitate to contact me
"gm@laico-lakevictoria.com".
Best regards,
Marc Peters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Quite charming and well organized Hotel. My stay started on the 17th of May and continues for another week. Mostly impressed by the service of the Hotel especially the front Desk that leaves you with no worries or any complaints whatsoever. Smart and friendly staff have been deployed around the lobby, swimming pool and the lobby entrance to make you feel very comfortable and quite satisfied. I believe their Manager front Desk, called Mr. Mustafa has invested quite a lot in the atmosphere and distinguished welcome and service in this Hotel.
Staying in Lake Vic is surely Best value for money..

Room Tip: Rooms away from the swimming pool are probably recently refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaicoLakeVictoria, General Manager at LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Joseph K,

Thank you so much for your positive comments and your stay with us at Laico lake Victoria Hotel.
I hope to welcome you again at the hotel and please do not hesitate to contact me at "gm@laico-lakevictoria.com".

Best regards,

Marc Peters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Because of my work, I am staying at the "Lake Vic" regularily, as a hotel guest as well as a pool guest and my visits were constantly a pleasure.
The rooms are nice and perfectly clean, with a tasteful design and a comfortable atmosphere (and A/C - you will need that at times! :) ). If you are a person that enjoys TV after a busy day, you have a big variety of international channels that no other hotel in Entebbe has to offer. The breakfast is a delight and you can even enjoy it at the beautiful terrace. The staff is very friendly and helpful and you have the feeling you are in good hands all the time.
One of the highlights is the pool area, that you can also enter as a non-hotel guest for a small charge of 10000 UGX (about 3$). An on-site pool bar and restaurant provides you with fresh cocktails and snacks and the staff is extremely friendly. A big plus is a wide range of guests staying at Lake Vic - from international soldiers to businesspeople - and you always get someone interesting to chat with.
The only con is the regular restaurant food; I have to admit you miss a lot if you do not also check out the other places in Entebbe.

To sum up, Lake Vic is a great Hotel if you anjoy the luxury side of Africa. The cost-performance ratio is ok and you are in walking-distance of the most important places in Entebbe (Entebbe Town, the Zoo, The Botanical Gardens, Anna´s Corner,...).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaicoLakeVictoria, General Manager at LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Maria J,

Thank you so much for your positive comments and your stay with us at Laico lake Victoria Hotel.
I hope to welcome you again at the hotel and please do not hesitate to contact me "gm@laico-lakevictoria.com".

Best regards,

Marc Peters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gembloux, Belgium
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently close to the airport and walking distance from lake Victoria, it could use some refurbishing My room although really clean and spacious, furniture was old and carpet worn out. Weak wi-fi as well. But staff pleasant and very competent

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaicoLakeVictoria, General Manager at LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear McU4,

Thank you so much for your comments and your stay with us at Laico lake Victoria Hotel.
I disused it with my team for each point in your comments and for improvement the quality in the hotel.
I hope to welcome you again at the hotel and please do not hesitate to contact me "gm@laico-lakevictoria.com".

Best regards,

Marc Peters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

The corridors made me a bit uncertain of my choice of hotel when I got there, but I calmed down when I got to the room. The room was nice and comfortable. It was clean, but had a slight smell, but it didn't really bother me.
The breakfast was nice, but lacks a bit of finesse. Hotel staff is friendly, but partly ignorant and ineffective. Compared to the price, I didn't feel I got value for money here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaicoLakeVictoria, General Manager at LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Smuari,

Thank you very much for your comments and your stay with us at Laico lake Victoria Hotel.
I disused it with my team for each point in your comments and for improvement the quality in the hotel.
I hope to welcome you again at the hotel and please do not hesitate to contact me "gm@laico-lakevictoria.com".

Best regards,

Marc Peters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Entebbe, Uganda
Level Contributor
149 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Got picked-up at the airport and brought to the hotel after staff wasted 30min looking for a guest who didn't show.

Check-in was an experience with you filling-in a form and then bringing it to the cashier's cubby hole to pay, then bringing the receipt back before you get your key. Somebody look at the productivity and efficiency!

Bellhop brings you and your bags to your room via not so bright corridors. You see your room - and... It could have been bigger. Two bags make the room a bit cramp. A bottle of water, an empty fridge, a tiny TV, a safe, then the toilet (which looked quite clean).

Ordering food takes quite a while at the restaurant, nothing really special in terms of taste.

Breakfast was quite a spread but again, nothing special.

Check-out also was also the same as the check-in process.

Nice pool.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaicoLakeVictoria, General Manager at LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Edfaigmane,

Thank you so much for your comments and your stay with us at Laico lake Victoria Hotel.
I disused it with my team for each point in your comments and for improvement the quality in the hotel.
I hope to welcome you again at the hotel and please do not hesitate to contact me "gm@laico-lakevictoria.com".

Best regards,
Marc Peters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Entebbe
1.4 mi away
2Friends Beach Hotel
2Friends Beach Hotel
#1 of 23 in Entebbe
4.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel - Entebbe
Protea Hotel - Entebbe
#6 of 23 in Entebbe
4.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Heights Hotel
Lake Heights Hotel
#3 of 23 in Entebbe
4.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Airport View Hotel
Airport View Hotel
#5 of 23 in Entebbe
4.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
4.8 mi away
4 Penguins Hotel
4 Penguins Hotel
#15 of 23 in Entebbe
4.0 of 5 stars 14 reviews
4.2 mi away
Thames Hotel
Thames Hotel
#23 of 23 in Entebbe
4.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel

Address: Plot 23-31, Circular Road, Entebbe, Uganda (Formerly Windsor Lake Victoria Hotel)
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Entebbe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Entebbe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious and elegant, the Lake Victoria lovely hotel nestles in well-manicured, palm-studded Step over the threshold of Lake Victoria Hotel into an Oasis of tranquility in classic colonial style. Tropical gardens with verandahs and terraces overlooking the calm beauty of Lake Victoria Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laico Lake Victoria Entebbe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.