We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for overnight in Entebbe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel - Entebbe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel - Entebbe to your Saves list
Protea Hotel - Entebbe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36-40 Sebugwawo Drive | Entebbe Road, Entebbe, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Entebbe
Seattle
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Convenient for overnight in Entebbe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This fairly new hotel is just 5 minutes from the airport, on the shores of Lake Victoria. Ideal location for a one night stop. Friendly staff and free Wi-Fi. Security is tight - and welcome. Rooms are clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the central bar area, facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cymon C, General Manager at Protea Hotel - Entebbe, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear AdventureTraveler63, Thank you for taking the time to complete your review with Trip Advisor. We trust you have taken home good memories of your trip through Uganda and East Africa and look forward to welcoming you back to the Protea Hotel Entebbe in the near future. Kind regards Cymon Charnley cymon@proteaebb.co.ug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    37
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
3
17
3
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The Ugandan staff are the tops, welcoming and helpful. Good breakfast buffet. And the rooms are comfortable. But for returning visitors, the limited menu is dull, unchanging; the pool is small; the gym drifts into decline; the WiFi continues to be unreliable. No striving to improve. Location good for airport but avoid rooms in the block behind reception unless you enjoy the relentlessly aggressive beach disco sounds from next door.

Room Tip: Above and beyond the dining room is quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cymon C, General Manager at Protea Hotel - Entebbe, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
ear Peter D, Thank you for your feedback received regarding to your recent stay with us, without such we would not be aware of the concerns experienced by our GUESTS. I am please to advise that the WiFi has been addressed as with the out of order unit in our health center. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Protea Hotel Entebbe in the near future. Kind regards Cymon Charnley cymon@proteaebb.co.ug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Protea Entebbe never ceases to amaze me - the friendly staff welcome, the location, the glorious rooms and the excellent cuisine. Excellent also for its position in close proximity to the airport. It is certainly the best choice hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cymon C, General Manager at Protea Hotel - Entebbe, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Maistryj2801, Thank you for your feedback received regarding to your recent stay with us, it is always a pleasure to receive positive GUEST feedback, as communicating such feedback to the TEAM is most rewarding. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Protea Hotel Entebbe in the near future. Kind regards Cymon Charnley cymon@proteaebb.co.ug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Fantastic place as it is, guests are definitely not welcome.

This is made clear when arriving at the entry: The guards - as usual in Uganda - just intrude the vehicle and even without greetings or explaining.

When asked what they are checking for, they cannot explain. - Also they didn't know what some potential dangerous instrument - a bomb for example looks like...

In consequence I ended up at a different place where guests were treated as guests

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cymon C, Manager at Protea Hotel - Entebbe, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Hidde B, Thank you for your feedback received. Whist you have indicated that the level of security experienced upon initial entry to the Protea Hotel Entebbe is extreme. Please do be assured that such levels carry the sole intention of maintaining the safety of our GUESTS. This so as that any GUEST, once within the property can feel at ease knowing there is a vigilant security service in support at the property. Your note re the guard not greeting or giving explanation has been noted and will be addressed. However please be assured that the lack of response by the guard to your question is in keeping with current training. When you are in Entebbe next, please feel free to look me up at which time I can review some of this with you. Kind regards Cymon Charnley email : cymon@proteaebb.co.ug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed in May in Protes, First of all the staff are very professional and polite, very helpful and extremely nice.
The rooms are great , even though we had to change our first room becaue it was overlooking a construction site, however when we complained the manager came and was very helpful and immediately gave us a better room.
I recommend this hotel for pleasure and business.

Room Tip: the hotel is not complete yet, they are still building so make sure you tell them that you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

In seven days had been on five flights, in three countries and the next day would be on four flights on my way back to the States. Was looking for a place close to Entebbe Airport to relax

The staff, from the initial greeting through every interaction, was friendly and helpful (special mention of Sharon). Great dinner and breakfast buffet topped off with a beautiful view of the sunrise over Lake Victoria http://instagram.com/p/n9oKb8iBt3/ . Next time, I will arrive earlier in the day so I have more time to enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

I've stayed in a number of Entebbe hotels with widely varying levels of quality experienced, but the Protea delivers a consistently good product. It's literally right outside Entebbe Airport and Lake Victoria forms an impressive part of the back garden. Rooms are nice, very spacious and well-equipped. The WiFi is okay, it often cuts out mid-browse but I've had far worse in so-called superior hotels. We asked for an early breakfast the day we were leaving and this was facilitated with no fuss at all by the young lady who checked us in. The hotel also availed the use of its airport van to take my group to a local restaurant for a small fee, then came to pick us up again. The staff are very friendly and attentive, which is always something one appreciates. This hotel is definitely one of Entebbe's nicest.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel - Entebbe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel - Entebbe

Address: 36-40 Sebugwawo Drive | Entebbe Road, Entebbe, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Entebbe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Entebbe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel - Entebbe 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Entebbe is ideally located on the glistening shores of Lake Victoria and a convenient 1km from Entebbe International Airport. Protea Hotel Entebbe's trendy restaurant, Tides, is a must visit, offering an exciting and truly inviting a la carte menu 7 days a week. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, specialties include fresh Tilapia and Nile Perch. Daily specials 'with a difference' are also a firm favorite with locals and tourists alike. After a busy day, with its own special ambience and superb lake views, the perfect place to kick off a decadent evening out or simply just to relax and enjoy the sunset with an aperitif before dinner is The Terrace. Added attractions include the Entebbe Golf Club, Botanical Gardens and Uganda Wildlife Education Center. As part of the education center day trips can be arranged to Ngamba Island Chimpanzee Sanctuary, Ssese Island Trips, Fishing trips for Nile Perch – the largest fresh water game fish in the world or sunset cruises for the less adventurous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Protea Hotel - Entebbe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel - Entebbe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.