We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient, clean comfortable but some issues” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel - Entebbe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel - Entebbe to your Saves list
Protea Hotel - Entebbe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36-40 Sebugwawo Drive | Entebbe Road, Entebbe, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Entebbe
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very convenient, clean comfortable but some issues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Very close to the airport but no noise from the planes. So extremely convenient if just overnighting between flights.
The suites are enormous, the normal rooms a decent size and well equipped and comfortable.
Looks a lot older the the few years we were told it had been open though and the bathrooms in particular showed some sign of wear and could have been a bit cleaner..... The second time we stayed here our room was next to some machine room which was very noisy all night, not ideal unfortunately but the first night it was very quiet.
The view over the lake is lovely but the lake was very dirty and smelly when we were there, I don't know if that is normal or not. Lots and lots of insects too, nothing the hotel can do about that but expect lots of them, they are lake flies though not mosquitoes which is good!
The staff were friendly but the service was pretty indifferent, especially compared to the incredible service we had elsewhere in Uganda.
The food was ok but pretty ordinary especially for a vegetarian.
All in all, fine for staying overnight between flights as convenient, comfortable and safe but not a destination itself!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    37
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
3
17
3
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The hotel still had some kind of outside construction going on when we were there in February, 2014. Our room with king bed was quite large & had an outside deck...our friends had a room with 2 double beds and it was quite small with no deck...same layout, just smaller. Hotel is VERY close to airport so it is convenient to stay a night or two while in transit elsewhere. Very nice pool and pool bar. My husband had a massage and it was only $18 for an entire hour...he said it was a great massage!

Room Tip: The hotel is circular on the outside, but inside there are a few corners in the circular hallway...i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Best location to stay the night before if you catching the early flights out of Kampala Uganda. Rooms are very spacious, modern and clean. The beach view is stunning. Tranquil outdoor terrace overlooking the beach. Restaurant serves decent food.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Having stayed at the Protea hotel in Kampala, we decided to stop in to this one when we arrived very early in Entebbe for the flight home. First off, the hotel itself is very beautiful and looks pretty new, but I think it's been around for a while. The staff checked our luggage in so we were free to walk around the resort and have lunch. We were happy to find a table on the outside patio area, and the buffet was actually very good. Contrary to some other reviews I found the buffet to have a good selection and was well stocked. In fact, there were too many dessert choices and I wasn't hungry enough to take one of each, although they all looked really good.

We were there so long that we wound up eating dinner there as well. It's true that service is a bit slow, but I guess having been to the Caribbean a number of times (and feeling like I was there with the sun and surf nearby) it didn't bother me much.

I'd definitely go back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed at the Protea Hotel in Entebbe for 8 nights in February 2014. I was there with a colleague on business. The hotel is conveniently located if you are working/playing in Entebbe. The rooms are lovely, most have a balcony overlooking Lake Victoria. The bath was clean and everything except the light over the sink mirror worked. The beds, however, were not comfortable - felt a bit like sleeping on a box spring instead of a mattress. Linens were clean and crisp though and good pillows. Hot water and water pressure were plentiful - a welcome treat not always found in Ugandan hotels. Internet access was free, but came with the typical outages. There were quite a few power outages, most of which were covered by generator (although A/C and WiFi didn't work when on generator power). One complete outage left us in total darkness for a couple of hours one night though. Service at the dining room and bars was good. Food was middle of the road. Breakfast buffet was plentiful but dinner menu was nothing special. They would do better to have more variety on the lunch/dinner menu. That said, the filet steak was delicious and perfectly cooked and for a light meal, the beef kabobs were very good. The wine by the glass was excellent (South African) and they had a good selection of wine by the bottle, beers and other liquor. Overall, on close inspection, the hotel looks more worn than the time it has been open (2 years?). The beach shown in photos on the web site has been flooded since last summer when the lake level rose and there is constant construction to repair the seawall along the lake front. The pool and pool area were lovely and clean. Check-in and check-out were fast and accurate.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room on an upper floor so you have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

This hotel, while it is my regular stop over place in Entebbe, never ceases to amaze me and the service received each visit is always better than the previous. Cymon Charnley the GM personally welcomes guests and take personal pride in ensuring that every detail is perfect. The position, setting, views, food, service cannot be better. Definitely worth more that the price charged.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Being used to very good buffet experiences in the Protea Kampala this meal was a disappointment. Food was contaminated with insects and the desert buffet was out of choices hours before closing.
Coffee, contrary to East African customs was charged extra and when mentioning th lacking items and the insects we we told:We are sorry ....

But nothing was done nor any compensation offered.

Maybe after the group was bought management in all their properties will improve.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cymon C, General Manager at Protea Hotel - Entebbe, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear KaiUWulff, Thank you for your Tripadvisor submission from your recent meal with us. Your feedback is highly valued towards monitoring and improving upon, where necessary, our standards and service delivery.

Please accept our sincere apologies for your observations and experience during your meal. Whilst every effort is made to control the lake flies prevalent to this area, platters upon being contaminated by lake flies, must without question be removed and replaced timeously, as with the replenishment of menu items. Your observation certainly does not reflect the high standard of quality that Protea Hotel Entebbe is usually proud to offer.

As a gesture of our concern, I would like to invite you back to Protea Hotel Entebbe as our GUEST for your next stay and / or meal the next time you are in our area. To make your reservation, kindly contact me direct at telephone (+256)776728028 or e-mail cymon@proteaebb.co.ug I can assure you, should you find an opportunity to take up this offer, that every effort will be made to ensure you enjoy our very best care and attention.

Your interest and concern are much appreciated, and I hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Entebbe again soon.

Cymon Charnley cymon@proteaebb.co.ug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel - Entebbe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel - Entebbe

Address: 36-40 Sebugwawo Drive | Entebbe Road, Entebbe, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Entebbe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Entebbe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel - Entebbe 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Entebbe is ideally located on the glistening shores of Lake Victoria and a convenient 1km from Entebbe International Airport. Protea Hotel Entebbe's trendy restaurant, Tides, is a must visit, offering an exciting and truly inviting a la carte menu 7 days a week. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, specialties include fresh Tilapia and Nile Perch. Daily specials 'with a difference' are also a firm favorite with locals and tourists alike. After a busy day, with its own special ambience and superb lake views, the perfect place to kick off a decadent evening out or simply just to relax and enjoy the sunset with an aperitif before dinner is The Terrace. Added attractions include the Entebbe Golf Club, Botanical Gardens and Uganda Wildlife Education Center. As part of the education center day trips can be arranged to Ngamba Island Chimpanzee Sanctuary, Ssese Island Trips, Fishing trips for Nile Perch – the largest fresh water game fish in the world or sunset cruises for the less adventurous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Protea Hotel - Entebbe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel - Entebbe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.