We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Golf View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Imperial Golf View Hotel to your Saves list
Imperial Golf View Hotel
Lugard Avenue | P O Box 90, Entebbe, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Entebbe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Great place, good spacious rooms, interesting furnishing.Greta food and service level. The internet worked very fast and the shuttle services are efficient and fast. Loved it very much and would recommend travelers to check it out

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
1
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Already when you enter you wonder what is this funny smell?? I first thought it was the cleaning product they use but as you move to open the window and find out there's no mosquito mesh and also no mosquito net around your bed, you understand it's doom mixed with lack of airing that gives this more and more unpleasant odour. Then the generator or a/c from other rooms make so much noise you have a second reason not to open your window. You also need to keep the curtains shut otherwise hotelguest in the opposite wing 3 meters away can look right inside your room. The internet is SLOW. They don't have any swimming/sauna/fitness facilities onsite, you need to move to botanical beach and the food is probably of the same bleak and tasteless substance at botanical. Keep away from these imperial whatever hotel and book a nice hotel if you have the choice.

Room Tip: you could maybe get one with a free view. and not one looking out on the opposite wing just meters a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Accessible Hotel, secure parking and receptive customer care. The challenge i faced at this hotel was poor internet, on and off hence disabling one form working adequately. The hotel lacks a fitness center, if one needs these services you have to go to Imperial Botanical Hotel, a sister Hotel. Although its not far from the Hotel, the inconvenience is disturbing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nandi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I recently had an overnight transit in Entebbe between flights.
I had booked a room at the Imperial Golf View Hotel with no real sense of standard or services.
In response to my on-line booking I received an email from the Front Office Manager which very positively responded to my needs. we exchanged several emails and his response was always timely and positive. He arranged a transfer vehicle to meet me at the airport and return me to my flight the next day. The fee was direct to the driver of 15USD each way.

My flight was a very late arrival from London and the driver was waiting, and displaying my name on a card. The driver assisted with my baggage and was most helpful. The car was in good condition and safe.

On arrival at the hotel, I was greeted by the front office manager (despite the late hour) and shown to my room. The room was basic but very clean and the bed comfortable. Cable TV was in the room but a limited service. The bathroom was again basic but in good order and very functional. The hotel compound was very secure and there were both night staff and night security on site. All the staff were friendly and helpful. I slept well until early construction noise the following morning. It was not possible to sleep late.

Breakfast was included in the room tariff and the selection was good. Even for fussy eaters there was plenty of choice and welcome service.

As arranged the previous night, my transfer driver returned and I was delivered back to my outgoing flight in good order.

It was a very good hotel for what I needed.

Imperial Golf View Hotel.
Plot 7, Station Road, PO Box 553 or 90, Entebbe, Uganda
Landline:+ 256 414 322 062 Extn.: 508, Fax: + 256 414 322 083.
Mobile Phone: + 256 753 426 065 and + 256 774 426 065
Email: fomanager@igvh.co.ug
www.imperialhotels.co.ug

Room Tip: Not sure about options on room locations. There appeared to be a lot of choice but I would discuss b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Good place especially the new wing which looks better. The removal of the bar in the neigbourhood (Akamasu) means it is quiet (It used to be quite noisy). It is quit specious and attractive. However the parking seems small for conferences and big groups.

Room Tip: The rooms in the new wing are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iris1992
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a week recently for a conference. Best thing about it is the staff, all of whom were unfailingly charming, polite, and helpful. Their good humor was especially appreciated as they obviously struggle with a lack of basic supplies and not very sophisticated training. These are the things to know to make the stay more comfortable. Do not accept the small, poky rooms on the restaurant side. Rooms on the newer side are much larger, cleaner, more comfortable in every way. Be patient with staff; it often takes them a long time to find extra supplies, hangers, water, etc. This is not their fault, and they try hard. There is a small shop on the road just outside the hotel; if you buy a few large bottles of mineral water and soft drinks and keep them in your room frig, it will avoid frustration. Pressing of clothes is safe and things are returned quickly. Laundry system is not so efficient. A few small things were lost, and several items of other guests were returned to us by mistake. Wifi works, though slowly, in the lobby and restaurant, but hardly at all in the rooms. The small crafts shop down the road (toward the lake, name something like "Sapna Crafts") does not look very promising, but actually has some lovely and not over-priced things. Overall a comfortable place to stay, as long as you stay relaxed and are not in a hurry.

Room Tip: Insist on a room in the newer section, not one of the older, small ones on the restaurant side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kampala
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

It is a well organised and smart with good staff with very good customer care.Their food is so wonderful, the builing itself plus the furniture is so lovely,generally i found the place so attractive and spacious as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Imperial Golf View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Golf View Hotel

Address: Lugard Avenue | P O Box 90, Entebbe, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Entebbe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Entebbe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greetings! From Imperial Group of Hotels-Imperial Golf View Hotel. Imperial Golf View Hotel is our newly acquired Hotel. It was acquired in May 2009. Its Located in Entebbe just near the Airport -Kampala Highway facing the Entebbe Golf Club. It's a 5 Minutes drive to Entebbe International Airport and 30 minutes drive to Kampala City. Currently it has 174 rooms, with 96 additional rooms undergoing construction. We have 10 Conference halls with seating capacity of 10 pax -250 pax. We also have spacious gardens suitable for wedding Receptions,cocktails and corporate Dinners. It has and still is the base for hosting major airline crews.The hotel is currently undergoing an expansion to meet the demand for accommodation. By December 2014, the swimming Pool and the health club/Fitness Center will be open to all in-house guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Imperial Golf View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Golf View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.