We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay close to the airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Entebbe

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Entebbe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Entebbe
Save
You added Sunset Entebbe to your Saves list
Plot 25 Church Road, Entebbe, Uganda (Formerly Sunset Motel Entebbe)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free airport transfer
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Entebbe
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Very nice stay close to the airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

A friend had recommended this place to stay on arrival into Entebbe and before having to go on into Kampala.
Very glad I did stay here. A very nice value with very nice service.
The rooms are nice with nice big shower heads and hot water. TV, fans, etc. as well.
The gardens are very nice, the food good and service friendly.
One way transport for free was very nice as we had a very early departure and the driver was right on time taking us.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    39
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
9
16
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mbale, Uganda
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

My change of plan from two days reservation to four was due to the friendly staff and environment in addition to top end services provided.Hotel located in a perfect place free from any noise,security guaranteed,free single transport either to or from the airport at no extra cost.Above all is the beautiful garden not forgetting the delicious breakfasts.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Very nice place and good price. We stayed 3 days. Staff friendly beautiful grounds. Clean rooms iwould highly recommend this place. Good. Meals. Quiet. Helpful staff. Friendly owner. Good value for your. Money

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at Sunset Entebbe, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your positive comments! We have worked hard with the training of our staff and it really pays dividends. It was a pleasure having you staying with us at Sunset and you are most welcome back again. Hope your trip back to Ottawa was good.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Pros - nice garden to sit and relax in, good dinner from the restaurant (but see cons below for concers about the kitchen). Very close to the airport with free transfers.

Cons - room and bathroom were very pokey and quite dated. Other guests drinking in the garden were very noisy and you can hear the tv's from other rooms. We were provided with a packed breakfast as we had an early flight - the bread had areas of green mould on the crust....

There were lots of other hotels in the area so I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at Sunset Entebbe, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments and please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience encountered. We believe that since it was during the xmas days people were a bit relaxed and may somehow have been noisier than usual, and also, a neighbor had a party on that day. We wish you had brought forward the complain at that time giving us a chance to handle it. The bread issue is more alarming to us, especially since so many other people have given us positive comments on our fresh bread and the varieties of it. We have, immediately, put in place a new system that we trust shall avoid any such inconveniences for the future.
Once again very sorry for the inconvenience and please allow us to once again invite you as a guest next time you are in Entebbe. We will not disappoint you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

I stayed for two nights last month and thought this place was quite good.

It felt secure, the restaurant was good and the rooms, although small, clean and comfortable.

I had an early morning flight but they still supplied hot tea and coffee which I thought was quite a nice touch.

10 minute walk from Entebbe - take a torch if you plan to stay out late!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicosia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I spend 10 days in Sunset with my wife.Great place,quiet with excellent service.All management and all stuff members are very friendly I we felt like family members.The rooms were very clean and bathrooms as well.We will back again.I would strongly recommend.Thank you Sunset.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I have visited this hotel a couple of times and whenever I have been there I find the same serenity, cleanliness and warmth that these people share. Every time i was a sole traveler and booked it in advance as usually it is full. The rooms were very clean with crisp white bed sheets and clean bathrooms. At one instance i noticed few ants in my room which I informed the reception for which they took corrective action and were really apologetic for the same. The breakfast is also good with a fruit salad, choice of muesli, eggs, breads and ham and bacon. The full aura of the place is so refreshing. If you have some time for yourself do visit the botanical garden and the Entebbe Zoo. Both the places are worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Entebbe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Entebbe

Address: Plot 25 Church Road, Entebbe, Uganda (Formerly Sunset Motel Entebbe)
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Entebbe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Entebbe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in Kisungu, a desirable suburb of Entebbe only a few minutes drive from the International Airport. This very quiet hotel with 17 en-suite rooms is ideally suited for business and recreational traveller's seeking accommodation before and after their travel within Uganda. The hotel is conveniently situated in a serene environment but close to tourist facilities within Entebbe. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Entebbe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.