We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Banana Apart

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Banana Apart to your Saves list
Banana Apart
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sirinyer Mah. Durmazlar Sok. No:14 Armutalan, Marmaris 48700, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #161 of 281 Hotels in Marmaris
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Just got home, the food/breakfast was not good, there was only 1 person at the pool bar to serve you, All in all never Will go back, only interested if you spend, very unfriendly, had mosqioto bites, no help, rooms very basic, bedding not changed regular, not much more to say!

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    21
    7
    6
    12
See reviews for
17
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We've just returned from the Banana Apartments in Marmaris after a two week holiday. What a dissapointment :-(. There were some good and bad parts to this place. Unfortunately,the bad far outweighed the good.
It all started quite well and we were really looking forward to the break.We had been to Turkey once before and loved the country and the people so we were sure we would have another great experience. We made the mistake of choosing these apartments though.
On arrival we were met by Antonio,who,to be fair was reasonably ok at first,considering we didn't arrive until about 1am.He did speak,which, going on later experiences of him,was something you couldn't always be sure would happen, and he carried our very heavy suitcase up the stairs to our first floor apartment. So far, so good.
We were so shattered from the long journey we caught up on some much needed sleep,not taking too much notice of the finer detail within the rooms.
When we had a chance to view the apartment after a good nights sleep (the beds were very comfortable), we began to see some rather worrying things,as well as some very good things.
The good side of the place is the spaciousness of the apartments (or certainly the one we were in).There was a generously sized kitchen / dining / living room,one quite sizeable bedroom and a reasonably sized bathroom. We were pleasantly surprised to find 2 balconies,one of which was a real sun trap and the other was much more shady.Definitely the apartments best feature.
We were also impressed by the overall initial cleanliness of the place.It was nicely decorated with a stone effect floor , so lovely and cool under your feet. Furniture was in generally good condition and adequate for all our storage needs.
However,the worrying aspects of the apartment were all to be found in the kitchen area,in particular the 2 ring hob that was obviously meant to represent the 'self catering' part of the package deal but fell far short of this requirement. As demonstrated in the photos attached to this review that i have added, you would be more likely to serve up a trip to A & E than a full english breakfast if you attempted to plug the thing in and switch it on. At least 3 parts of the flex were burnt through , whilst the middle part of the flex was lashed together with a piece of tape.
Clearly, as much as Antonio was lacking in social chit chat,he was certainly also a stranger to health & safety, in particular, risk assessments, for if he had filled one out, the hob would have been consigned to a rubbish tip long ago. Suffice to say, we didn't ever use the hob. Even if it had been useable, we would have struggled to cook anything very much as there was only one small saucepan.
Totally inadequate as a self catering apartment.
There was also a number of random wires hanging out of the ceiling in the kitchen area and the bedroom.
We decided to have a few drinks at the bar on the first evening, before venturing further afield for a look around Marmaris.
Antonio initially served us, again, with as little effort as possible in the chat department ,and we had a total of 4 drinks, 2 beers and 2 soft drinks. When we decided to move on elsewhere , and asked for the bill, we were charged a total of 34 lira,which made each drink , on average, 8.5 lira. That meant we were over charged by at least 14 lira,compared to the cost of the exact same drinks in a bar only a few doors down from the Banana apartments.
We decided there and then never to buy drinks there for the rest of the holiday as it was such a rip off on that first visit to the bar.
This actually did us a favour as we then regularly frequented the bar just down the road,on the corner called No Name bar & restaurant,which was excellent,both in atmosphere and value for money.
Another good aspect of these apartments is the close proximity to the beach,so really, as mentioned by a previous reviewer,your best bet is to use the apartments as a cheap base for a bed, refresh area after a day at the beach & night life in the centre of the town.
Another very bad aspect of these apartments is the lack of cleaning once you have checked in. The cleanliness is fine to begin with,then it just gets left after you have arrived. I had to be very assertive with one of the staff when our towels weren't changed after the promised 3 days. They were filthy and desperately needed changing.
In fairness, once i had pointed out the problem, within 10 minutes max a cleaner had arrived and changed them over. The floors were only swept once in the 14 days we were there,but rubbish was cleared regularly.
The worst thing was that the bathroom wasn't cleaned at all in the 14 days and it was disgusting. A very spasmodic approach to cleaning i must say.

But the thing that really put me off the place was on our penultimate day there i met a lady, staying at the apartments, in the shop a couple of doors down from the apartments who was queueing to pay. We started to chat and she told me that she was so unhappy staying there because she had come down to the reception to use the computer,had got muddled trying to access the internet,had asked Antonio to help her with it and he had laughed at her when she burst into tears. She had enough of her own problems due to long standing illness etc without that compounding her frustrations. That takes him into another league and beggars the question...Why on earth is he working in the service industry? He quite clearly despises the general public.
I certainly wouldn't ever want to stay there again, but would definitely visit Marmaris, just in a different apartment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

After extensive research we booked theses apartments, on arrival we were shown to a room in the attic, there was no way you could walk around without being bent in half!
We booked a one bedroomed, twin bedded apartment and got a double bed when queried this a cleaner was sent and put down the sofa in the living area, which totally filled the room!
The wardrobe was so small you couldn't hang dresses or trousers up, the bathroom was dreadful, window broken and 2/3 of pane of glass missing!
We were told it wold take at least 3 days to move us, which we said was not acceptable, we were moved after 1 night, to the 2nd block, still top floor, no lifts, better but still only 1 bed so a single put you up was in the living area, at least here we could have a shower without flooding the bathroom!
The younger staff really weren't interested although Errol was very nice and the cleaner was great.
We basically spent as little time as possible here and would never stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Great value for what you pay. The apartments are also in a great location in terms of the beach and bars/restaurants and not too noisy. Staff are lovely and the rooms are clean and simple and exactly what you would expect for a small apartments at a cheap price.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

just got back from two weeks in the banana apartment, absoultely brilliant apartments where at last you dont get mithered by the staff, there on hand as and when you need them which is much better than some aparts we have stayed at where the staff constantly mitherin you, antonio and tim who manage the aparts are a credit to the place extremely helpful and both great guys . never felt so relaxed before thankyou to all the staff at the apartments for making our stay enjoyable we will deffo be goin back there again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Booked this apartment as a first timer in turkey. The apartment it's self was ok but the staff are terrible, so unfriendly. They were not helpfully at all and tried to charge for items that we hadn't had. We ended up just using the pool but even that was rubbish as all the kids ended up with a rash over their body, the pharmasist told us it was because there was too much chlorine in the pool. We told the staff, jack and tim, but they weren't interested at all.
Turkey is a lovely place and would defiantly go back there but I would urge anyone going to marmaris to stay well clear of these apartments as they are rubbish.

Kev from manchester

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Was having a great time here till the manager tried it on with me and i refused he then must of spoke to the other staff because they were all cliky and they were being nasty too.. I went with just my partner but we met aload of other people there and they all seen it too none of they have been back since either.. Terrible terrible place, have been going turkey years too.Just glad i didnt have my children with me.

Room Tip: theres more hotels around this close to close from stay well clear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banana Apart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Apart

Address: Sirinyer Mah. Durmazlar Sok. No:14 Armutalan, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 281 Hotels in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Banana Apart 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Banana Apart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Apart Hotel Marmaris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banana Apart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.