We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dalyan

Dalyan
Marmaris, Turkey
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$395*
and up
7-Night Gulet Cruise from Bodrum: Gulf of Gökova
Ranked #6 of 25 Attractions in Marmaris
Type: Ancient Ruins, Cultural
Attraction details
Eastham, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

brilliant boat trip
set off at 9.30 return at 7
costs £5 each with lunch included go see marika boat the guy on there does lazy days and this trip

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    89
    44
    5
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
derbyshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Having checked the price of the turtle beach trip we we.t to the harbour and asked a couple of boats there and found it dropped from £15 down to £11 each so we told the rep in our hotel and they match the price. The trip it self was great a couple of hour on a big boat then transfer to a river boat have a look at the turtles which we didn,t expect to see as it was the end of Sept then on to turtle beach for 1 hour sun and sea back to boats trip down river to mud baths and get dirty , wash off then to the kings tooms back to big boat and a couple of hours cruise back a great daY out don't miss this great value and well looked after

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard Somerset
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Tombs, cruise and beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was a wonderful trip and the 2nd time I have been and that is why I can highly recommend it. The cruise on the river is breathtaking, viewing the tombs 500ft high in the cliffs followed by lunch which was lovely with a choice of three options, the only thing was the drinks were a little expensive but the food was ok. Next furtther cruising on the river to the mud baths, amazing fun and much improved since I went 15 years ago. We embarked onto our boar for a 15 minute journey to turtle beach this was great rest after an early start. Great day out. Do try it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“dalyan first timers trip report”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

hi just back this morning here I have put down some of our experiences
left from Newcastle on the 30th September 2103
morning flight Thomas cook slight delays on boarding and another whilst engineers checked out a fault. however flight was very smooth and made up time
arrived at dalaman approx. 6pm local time .very quickly through visa and passport control .
went outside to find our rep and transport within minutes we were in a taxi for ourselves as we were the only ones off this flight to go to dalyan .nice clear night only concern for the other half was the 135 year old taxi driver the whole way to dalyan he was never off the phone and following the white lines down the centre of the road only letting other cars past when he finally noticed them which I found hilarious .got to dalyan and he had to stop 3 times to ask where our apartments were I had a better idea after poring over the street maps and other info on trip advisor
anyway onto our place of stay the sahin apartments
first impressions very clean. pool area was large and plenty of room all around
the manager ougthon very helpful we were given the choice of three rooms finally choosing on 106 which was a good size and again clean with a small balcony the toilet and shower again spotless with the shower having a plentiful supply of water although first thing in the morning tended to be cold until the sun got up a bit [we are early risers ]
anyway introduced ourselves to the staff kasam and bayko and sorry cant remember your name the night shift guy all of whole were very nice pleasant and helpful the whole stay
we were only here for a week as we had already booked these apartments for august next year in a party of 9 but on a whim myself and my better half booked without telling the rest and I spent a good part of my time posting photos for the rest and trying find out things that they were asking
right showered and changed off for a walk first priority getting some money changed after reading all of your views re this I went to the post office which was showing a rate of 3.287 great best I have seen so went in to change 200 pounds came out with 640 lira the slip showed a bit more but no loose change was given plus the commission off not really impressed
so from then on went to askoys which a lot of you on here have also mentioned straight 3.2 rate
and I got this all week till the second last day then it had gone down to 3.1
mind you it doesn't help when its a jewellers when the wifes about cost me a fortune
right back to first night money in hand next prio food walking down the streets which I have to say were not busy and this was the same the whole week got ourselves introduced to kordon restaurant now this was our first time here and I should have none after all the reviews re eating
anyway the wife fancied prawns so in we went got our drinks and ordered these to be told that we needed to go back outside as we had to pick our prawns as they were sold by weight so out we go I picked 12 of the biggest ones 6 each by the way and he then weighed them to be told 145 lira nearly 48 pounds so us being us and it being late yes that's fine
went in had some soup and couple of beers etc prawns came everything looked nice but the wife didn't like them shes a fussy eater she had 2 me being me I had the rest as I certainly wasn't going to waste all that money total bill 182 lira rounded up to 190 later on as we worked our way through dalyan we both felt ripped off being our first night and all that and after speaking to other guest later on they all said the same that they had heard stories re this place
next morning tueday we had pre booked a trip on the lemon lounge boat but the guy came to us first thing to say it was going to rain and could we go on te Thursday as it was going to be better
no problems I spent all morning saying its not going to rain how wrong was i
wife got her self some normal women things done at the beauty salon I got myself a hair cut and a shave don't get me wrong the guy made a good job and I was happy but the price 35 lira and I gave him a tip is this normal for this I have since found barbers on the side streets for next but the last time I got this done it was loads cheaper
now nancy my better half [not ] likes a good latte so I had to trail her all over the place looking for one that keep her happy and approx. 3 million place later she finally settled on the syriana down from café yummy but if shes happy then I get less hassle anyway once decided we went at least 3 times per day so I can recommend this to all of you
back to the rain the stall holder kept moving there stuff back in or covering up and I am still saying its not going to rain well did the heavens not open from mid afternoon thunder and lightening and rain all night and a good part of the next day
great start to our week
now we had decided on going horse riding and after finding out about this the café dalyano was found to be the place we could enquire on the internet the price was 60 lira each
once we got there we were asked to come back in the afternoon as the people who deal with it would be in then so after more lattes and walking we came back only to informed that due to a death in the family no one could take out booking .so off we went with the boss buying more jewellery gods sake give my wallet a break then we spotted and excursion company doing horse riding so we went in and booked this time for 75 lira each thinking well we want to try it anyway
Thursday lemon lounge boat trip good morning nice and sunny went to get the boat and turns out there was only 8 people so loads of room turned out to be a very nice relaxing day with a good barbecue and plenty of swim stops well worth the money
now as we were always up early we ended up going into the central park hotel which was just down the road from us as ours didn't open till later and we had breakfast 3-4 times in here and they all were very good and a decent price with quick service
Friday was or horse riding day but this didn't start till 3.15 pick up at hotel some more pool time the latte time and jewellery time
picked up prompt and guess what taken back to the café dalyano to wait on another couple who had booked before the familys loss and at the original price
anyway the four of us between us the only horses we had seen before were in a john wayne western so this was going to be fun
got to the guys house the horse were all saddled up and we were shown the basics ic how to get on and once we all managed to hold on off we went only for my horse to go right at the end of the road and every one else to go left im trying to tell the horse to stop go left and back but it obviously didn't understand Scottish at this point im shouting on the wife and the guy at the front just whistled and I was back in control
nice ride out through the village and some country lanes past loads of pomegranate fields etc
even saw a load of children picking cotton that was a sight only seen that on films
we then stopped to rest the horses and our guide to us to the top of a rocky outcrop in the middle of a field once up the top the views we beautiful but it was very windy so after some melon and water back to the horses to head back home now due to our extreme speed and handling capabilities on a horse we didn't get back till well after dark but it was an experience especially when barry fell off at the end but already made our minds up be back next year well worth it
dropped of at the local locanta and we all went in now this in where a lot of locals eat its nothing fancy to look at but the food is great and the prices you wouldn't believe
between the two of us we had 5 different plates of food they are not big plate fulls and a water and a can of lemonade total price 20.25 lira not even 7 pounds and we didn't eat it all
kordon you know where you can go
we ate here 3 more times during the day they make fresh pizza etc to order beautiful
Saturday market . latte .then turtle beach on the dolmush beach was empty not to warm but nice stayed couple of hours then latte . then market then pool and some more efes
we had heard good reviews about the lime restaurant but couldn't get in due to coldish weather and no seats available inside so booked for the sunday night they recommended the white lotus
which turned out to be very good starters and mains couple of drinks 78 lira
sunday breakfast at the apartments very good then latte shopping pool latte shopping pool etc
went to the lime meal really good slightly dearer than the lotus but I liked it wife preferred the lotus
then went to the sunray bar live music after 10 pm which was really good prices a bit steep
28 lira for efes and a cocktail didn't stop us drinking it though home 1.30 am latest of the stay
Monday last day guess what breakfast. latte. shopping .latte. pool .latte then ready to pack then last pizza at the locanta
of to dalaman at 11.30 pm flight slightly late but crew really making things move we were last on
just got to our seats and the doors shut and the instructions being relayed to the passengers
again good flight arrived Newcastle aprox 4am home for approx. 5 .15 am

cant wait for next year

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

great trip to Turtle Beach and the mud baths. Its a must if you are staying close enough for a boat trip

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dalyan also viewed

Marmaris, Mugla Province
Marmaris, Mugla Province
 
Marmaris, Mugla Province
Marmaris, Mugla Province
 

Been to Dalyan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dalyan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.