We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prominent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mustafa Kemal Ataturk

Mustafa Kemal Ataturk
Marmaris, Turkey
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 61 things to do in Marmaris
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This statue is a monument to the first president of Turkey, Mustafa Kemal Ataturk.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Prominent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The statue is prominent on the quayside just outside the entrance to the bazaar. Many people just look at it not realising just what a great contribution this man made to modern Turkey, making it possible for us to go an enjoy a fab holiday.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    20
    12
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

FANTASTIC STATUE AND FOUNTAIN.
give honour and respect to a great,great man who transformed turkey,to what it is today.....a fantastic country

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“More men like him and maybe there would be peace in the world.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Marmaris is great I want to live there if I could however if you thinking of going then no brainer go.you wont regret it and if you like tats go to sams tattoo behind chinese resturant dont eat there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“amazing - life changing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

This is one of the most visible and prominent statues of turkey. I was extremely fortunate to have been able to visit Marmaris in September of 2011. Needless to say it changed by life. Marmaris is one of the most beautiful stunning places on earth and I am so lucky and privileged to be able to visit this little gem, as the great Kemal Ataturk said, as I have tattooed on my arm; Peace at home, Peace in the world. It speaks for itself; amazing county, amazing people.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“a legend !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

visiting the statue of Mustafa Kemal Ataturk is amazing. when i first visited it. some really nice Turkish man came up to me and was telling me the history about him, and how proud Turkish people are of him, and how they celebrate what he did every year and his death etc. now i pass that on to people when i'm walking past and i over hear them wondering what he is all about. wonderful !!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mustafa Kemal Ataturk also viewed

Marmaris, Mugla Province
 
Marmaris, Mugla Province
Marmaris, Mugla Province
 

Been to Mustafa Kemal Ataturk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mustafa Kemal Ataturk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.