We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overall good could be better for the money.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Faros

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Faros to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Faros
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cami Avlu Mevki Cevreyolu Cad., Marmaris 48700, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 281 Hotels in Marmaris
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“overall good could be better for the money.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

we stayed here september 2010 we have 3 small children,.
First of all the room was an ok size but cramped with furniture but cleaned very well every day fresh bedding and towles daily.
we stayed half board the food was a good standard for adults but not at all for small children if we stayed again i would book self catering.
I think some of staff were friendly enough theres nothing more i hate than the feeling of being pestered, but most of the staff just seemed to get on with the job in hand sort of regimental which i think made some holiday goers uneasy.
this hotel is to fay from the city centre if you have small children but ideal for just a couple.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    104
    38
    29
    26
See reviews for
87
129
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

I have been visiting Turkey for 4 years now and this hotel has put me off. The staff where rude and misreble, the manager is not a people person and thinks he is better than everyone else who summnes his staff with a green lazer like there animals!!!! They check your room to see if you brought any food/drinks in so they can charge it to your room account!!! If you move something from the mini bar they charge you for it!!!! IF YOU WANT A STRESS FREE HOLIDAY DONT STAY HERE ITS MILES AWAY FROM MARMARIS AND IS IN THE MIDDLE OF WASTE GROUND!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Weve only just came back from the grand faros we was there 3rd sept to 17th.hotel was nice .location not good food not bad but no childrens selection at all the staff only three were friendly huesyn , murat and salim nice people the staff seemed on edge when manager was around i found him to degrade and make them feel small it just looked like a consentration camps whenever he was round,I walked in one nite to see the manager recieveing a massage from one of the young domestic boys totally degrading him i dont see why he had to do that infront of everyone atleast keep it out of the public eye. we came as a big group and aleast 20 of us where short changed by quite alot by the same barman who sits constantly at the till he usually works at nite but after a big complaint was made he was put on days, one was short changed by 40 ytl ...

The cleanliness of the rooms where outstanding our maid was so friendly,clean sheets each day mopped floors clean towels even left us lovely arrangements on the beds and cot.
I would come back to the grand faros if the hotel manager changed his attitude towards his guests and staff if he was more laid back and relaxed.He wud earn the hotel more money if he let the staff show there personalities cos people wud actually stay for the nite entertainment. He seemed just interested in peoples money not in his staff or his guests. My tip and advice to anyone goin to this hotel is expect a consentration camp atmosphere and rip offs at the bar !!
From The Liverpool Crew :) :)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

Just got back from the Faros yesterday....what a fantastic time we had. I went with two friends and we had a scream!! Just wish we were there for two weeks. Waiters and Bar staff were all very friendly and helpful, Kenny the Entertainer was excellent aswell. The staff all worked really lopng hours but still managed to smile all day!! Rooms were cleaned every day and towels changed, even the Cleaning Staff were happy and friendly. Food was really nice and eaten around the pool which was lovely. Different entertainment each night....the breakdancers were awesome....definatley not to be missed ; ) Would definately recommend this hotel to others whether you go as a couple, friends or with family as it suits everyone. Well done everyone at the Faros....keep up the good work!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

I went to grand faros for nearly 2 weeks.
I did not know what to expect..... but as many people do i, checked it out online first.
There i've read the positive reactions and thought..i might as well give it a shot!?

Glad i did cause i had a wooonderfull holiday. Thanks to the staff cause i have to say that they make it fun there.
Especially KENNY! I think that if he is not around..it wouldn't be as much fun as it is now.
I'm recommending this hotel to everybody! :) Telling my friends about it and will be coming back next year.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010 via mobile

Just returned from the grand faros hotel yesterday.we stayed for two week bed and breakfast.

The overall holiday was brilliant. We made a lot of friends with the other guests staying at the hotel.

The rooms were nice and cleaned daily which was brilliant. Only downside was we booked a double bed and got put into a single twin room.

The staff at the hotel made the holiday enjoyable. The waiting staff, bar staff, chefs and the entertainer kenny - He was an asset to the hotel..

Only down side we had was the reciption staff. They were not the most friendly staff. They were so unhelpful at times it made things difficult..

Apart from the reception staff we would still go back to grand faros as it was a very nice enjoyable holiday..

Marty + Jen
Belfast!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

Just returned from a week at Grand Faros which we thoroughly enjoyed. Staff very hardworking and friendly (especially Hasam who took time out of his own break to take us to the local market!!! - many thanks). We didn't take the kids but noticed that the staff were very attentive and helpful with the children. King Kenny, the activity organiser, was fab and got everybody involved and made people's stay great fun. Very good value and well maintained hotel with very good quality food. A little way out from Marmaris town centre but shuttle and buses were frequent and cheap.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Faros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Faros

Address: Cami Avlu Mevki Cevreyolu Cad., Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Hotel Faros 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel Faros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Marmaris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Faros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.