We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but small tweaks needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Rock Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Golden Rock Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Rock Beach Hotel
Siteler mah.Cumhuriyet Bulvari No:41, Marmaris 48700, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 281 Hotels in Marmaris
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very good but small tweaks needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We visited at the end of August for two weeks!
Please put into perspective Turkey five star is not necessary the same in all countries.
We arrived in the early hours of the morning, after a prior email regarding my daughters "18th" birthday during our stay they informed us that they had upgraded our room to a non land room (311) which was a very nice gesture.
The hotel was lovely and most of the staff were great, yes people may say they are rude but yet maybe this could be due to a language barrier?
The entertainment team deserve a big mention even though the only dealings we had was a game of table tennis which I seriously took a beating.. They work a lot of hours but were always friendly.
Feeding times at the zoo were quiet frenzied but yet if you timed it right there were few problems, attention is required in addressing the evening meal times and lack of staff but yet a regular little tip to a waiter helped, Mert was fantastic to us and was a constant positive on our stay.
There is very little wrong with the food, very flavoursome and varied apart from the typical breakfast which is the Muslim one, that was fine by us!
Yes tweaks need to be made but hey it's a new ish hotel but really negative people it is not a bad hotel, would we visit again..... Probably if we visited Marmaris again.. There is very little wrong for the price you pay at the golden rock.
Thank you for our stay... Hopefully we'll meet again.

This is a genuine review and if you require any additional info, please email. Thanks for reading!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    156
    82
    17
    19
See reviews for
113
224
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We only stopped for 6 days.The hotel was very well decorated with nice comfortable rooms. There were plenty of room and sunbeds by the pool and on the beach. The staff were friendly and good at there jobs.
The first 2 days there was a very good selection of food to choose from and then it went down hill fast, because it was the end of the season the food just got less and less and there was a lot less to choose from. The selection was the same everyday for our last 3 days. I realise the hotel was closing down but we still paid the same price as the guests who were staying the week before who got better service. On the last day of our stay they even ran out of beer for the afternoon. (Supposed to be all-inclusive). They were packing the sunbeds away on the beach while we were trying to relax.
And they tried to charge us £30 pound to keep our room on because we had a late flight, even though the hotel was nearly empty. There were only 3 rooms being used on our floor.
It was only thanks to Janet and Graeme who let us use there room on the last day that we could have a shower before our flight because they shut the gym and spa 3 days early that had the free showers in them.
It really was a fur coat with no knickers.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view or an end room they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarrow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We arrived home from the golden rock beach hotel on 21/10/2013.
We had paid for a side sea view and E-mailed the hotel to request a high floor on the pool side of the hotel knowing(from trip advisor reviews) it would get afternoon sun and be quieter.
When we arrived we were given the key to 515 which did have a sea view but was on the outside of the hotel over looking the busy road and the taxi rank and was in shade/ darkness all day we observed during our stay.
We returned to the reception and after being asked what we had requested were given the keys to 610 which was on the pool side of the hotel did had a side sea view and did have afternoon sun my thought at that time was why mess us about .
The room itself was large bright and clean a few tatty edges but ok with one of the quietest aircons we've ever had.
That was as good as it got unfortunately as the lack entertainment only 2 nights of our stay and the restaurant brought it down.
The restaurant if you could find a seat was pooly staffed on all but one occasion we had to clear the previous occupants mess away and reset it ourselves in full view of staff who seemed more interested in talking than working. the clothes even at breakfast were soiled and remained on during the day the crockery was chipped and cutlery on occasions dirty.
The food was badly labelled and repetitive the bad labelling a real problem to my partner who is a vegetarian.
The lack of entertainment was highlighted even more by the fact that most hotels even one in the same chain a block away had entertainment on every night as we walked passed on the lovely promenade (marmaris to icmeler),we know it was nearing end of season but.
It was a shame as at first glance the hotel but many issues need addressing,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

After seeing mixed reviews on here I put it down to people just bn a bit posh. I was wrong

Cons:

Ok so its the end of the season. I stil paid £1100 for 2 of us to go on a 5 star vacation. This included the spar,al acarte, gym and nightly entertainment all of which were closed.

The reception staff didnt want to entertain you. the restaurant was a joke even when quiet tables where full of dirty dishes they were no knives and forks. The food was same every night.

Run out of beer on thursday so got 1 keg from a sister hotel that they moved around the hotel through different parts of the day so you didnt know where you was ordering from

Also started packing up thursday around holiday makers tryin to relax around the pool. Can see many more reviews being added soo after talking to a few holiday makers

Pros:

Cant fault the bar staff had a great barman called erin who you could have a laugh with.

The hotel itself looked Gourgeous and the rooms where of 5 star with a big walk in shower

The cleaners were great and rooms tidied everyday

Will not be returning to this hotel

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We returned for a 2nd time at this fantastically situated hotel,set right on the beach with views to die for.The food is varied and plentiful,although some of the staff in the dining room were rude(turan)We moved to the other end of the dining room and what a difference,we were served by Mehmet who was a joy nothing too much trouble.The rooms were kept very clean and were a good size,we had a side sea view.If you go for entertainment ,forget it!!!The animation team have a cushy job as they dont do anything,but as we dont go for entertainment its not a problem.Things have improved on last year but there is room for improvement if they want to get to the same standard as sister hotel Grand Pasa.All in all I think its good value for money and would return again.

Room Tip: book a side sea view on a higher floor as there is less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

hotel was nice. staff were nice enough if you were nice to them. bell boy (man) had long face after initial rush to room on arrival and giving him a tip. rooms cleaned daily. nice shops below hotel. the worse thing about this hotel is its lack of control in restaurant! russians and germans barge in front of you in the queue to get in. they act as if a famines about to take place. very rude! the manager needs to put in place the two sitting rule. 7-8 and 8-9. with allocated table numbers for guests for both times. this would solve the free for all and the looking for cuttlery and the dirty plates taken and new sittings laid for next guests. every evening meal was a battle and not enjoying at all. chipped china.. dirty underneaths of stacked plates.... waiters nowhere to be seen. other than on their mobiles. only waiter willing to do anything was turan. other than him in the restaurant.. they dont wait!!! would i go back??? no. i dont like feeding times at the zoo! sunbeds.... reserved at 6-7am by people putting own beach towels on loungers. beach has strangers using private area for hotel. you can tell as they have no bands on wrists! a la carte nice as no mad russians nor germans shoving you plus waited on and not same old buffet! nice guys ...joseph and others. hope your wife and baby girl are well!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I would compare this hotel to imitation products that you get all around the markets in Turkey(a fake is a fake) . They May looks good, seems affordable but in reality the quality is useless.

Pros - It is a very new building, Rooms are comfortable and well fitted.

Cons - Staff
Reception staff very abrupt and seemed to pay more attention to the Russians. In general quite unfriendly and straight faced :-I

Bar staff- very friendly no issues I wage a bet that their tips box will be far more than reception.

Cleaning- excellent daily clean in rooms , sheet and towel changes bi daily.

Entertainment- Incredibly annoying. Nice guys but not really into all that Hidedy Hi !! They must have one entertainment manual for the whole of Marmaris, if you seen one seen them all yaaawn.

Restaurant

Food- looks nice but is vile and I am not fussy. On plus side tho there is plenty to choose from but the quality is poor. All meat is the cheapest available and I think the fish where caught by security on beach patrol.

Waiters - Lazy!! I asked for a dust pan and brush to tidy after my 15month year old . They did not even offer to assist, I had to find and do it myself. I left the dust pan for them to empty and it was still there 3 days later.
I was forever asking staff for high chairs and there trays, waiters just shrug and say sorry haha so again I had to find myself.

If you are thinking of trying this hotel and you have a baby my advise is not to do it!! The Russians are rude and there are a lot of tut tuts make you feel like a leper because you have a baby. Staff don't help you at all.

5* very questionable indeed.


Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Rock Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Rock Beach Hotel

Address: Siteler mah.Cumhuriyet Bulvari No:41, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 281 Hotels in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Golden Rock Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Rock Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.