We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Me and my fiancé were looking for some...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melodi Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Melodi Hotel to your Saves list
Melodi Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Siteler Mah. Kenan Ergin Bulv. No:5 Marmaris Merkez, Marmaris 48700, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 281 Hotels in Marmaris
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Me and my fiancé were looking for some...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010 via mobile

Me and my fiancé were looking for some winter sun at a bargain price. Our holiday at melodi met this to a tee.
Yeah we had to pay extra for a/c and to use safe but we have done in Rhodes and other venues so no point quibbling.
The hotel is in a super spot, just 2 mins from the beech, supermarket round the corner, 25 mins to the bazar and bar street.
The room was basic but comfortable and quiet after entertainments wound down. Because of proximity of other hotels it is noisy at night but hey you aren't going To be going to marmaris for a quiet time!!
There is lots of entertainment nearby. We had a few nights at the hotel - well looked after by nico and 'shaggy'! Music requests granted, good banter and well served.
It took some time to get used to the hassle and haggling but once you get used to it as long as you are firm and polite you can make it past the touts!
The staff did like us to stay however were not rude and aggressive like staff on the strip and at bar street. We felt safe at melodi. I enjoyed the food at melodi, beware the meal deals on the strip - usually get two courses at same time ad have to prompt the staff to serve you. The food at melodi was fresh, well cooked and we ate in peace - our most romantic meals were at melodi as it was quieter and we were not rushed by staff.
Breakfast was standard buffet fare. Fresh bread and ingredients, well served by ahmed. Could do with some new cups but can't complain as you could help yourself and after a night on the strip was a perfect hangover cure.
Memet and karim were excellent hosts and no problems to use the phone - our transfer was late ad they helped us make a few calls.
Room cleaned daily, fresh towels every two days, nothing too much trouble for the staff.
Bit concerned by some of reviews on here - very misleading - if your after a quiet holiday in serene surroundings it is going to cost, this was cheap, cheerful and entertaining.
Would definately return, two weeks on the pop is getting too much for me nowadays though!!!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    76
    35
    18
    42
See reviews for
59
98
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

just got back from here. no hairdryer,no tv. not clean,ripped sheets and towels. only one cleaner for whole hotel. pool cloudy,not clear! staff wanted to know where we were going all the time so we felt we had to sneak out or else get questined and also pressurised into eating at hotel. cups at breakfast were not clean and chipped all round the tops. a pity because hotel location was brill.marmaris is a lovely resort . music at hotel round pool was so loud u had no chance of napping!! never go there again!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

This hotel needs some serious t.l.c. the rooms are really basic beds are about the best thing in there.Theres a dressing table and a built in wardrobe with a shelf no drawers so lived out of our suitcase .Beds were changed every couple of days but not sure what else was done.Pool area very slippy my husband nearly slipped several times while carrying drinks.Staff friendly until they realize your not going to spend your money there.Never stayed there at night so cant comment but we got fed up of paying over the top for a bottle of water (small)2TL so we went out and bought it from the supermarket even though they dont like you to bring your own round the pool. The one thing going for it is its position 2min from the beach and bars and restaurants,but there is a lot nicer hotels in the same area so dont let that reason make you book it.The manager didnt even say goodbye even though he was sat near where we got picked up manners or what .air con expensive £56 FOR THE 2 WEEKS ,Above all would not recommend this hotel but marmaris and the weather brilliant.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

please ignore all negative reviews about melodi at the end of the day its 2 star and you get what you pay for we stayed at melodi in july 2010 and september 2010. Rooms are basic but clean and they are only to wash and sleep in so why moan. The breakfast is standered turkish but ok buffet style. But most of all the staff are great friendly and cant do enough for you the manager mehmet as a very dry sence of humour but a very great guy the pool staff if you like cico and ahmed are great and so are the others everyone i met on holiday are going back to the melodi and so am i not just for the hotel for the staff and atmosphere its brilliant

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

My husband and I have recently come back from a week's holiday staying at this hotel. We are a young married couple. We wanted a cheap holiday in the sun and booked the package very last minute. You basically get what you pay for with this hotel. It is extremely basic and we have stayed in some very basic places in the past having been backpacking around the world. This hotel is one step up from a backpackers but not much more. Our double room consisted of a double bed (we also had a single bed in ours), a dresser and that is it. The ensuite bathroom is very basic but we we were not expecting much more.

The rooms get cleaned and the bedding changed every few days (we think, as it was not quite clear what was actually done!) Overall it was not the cleanest place including the pool.

You should not come to this hotel expecting 3, 4 or more star facilities. It is so cheap for a reason. You have to pay for airconditioning if you want it (£4 p/day) and £10 for the week for a safety deposit box. The breakfast is a traditional Turkish breakfast each morning which consists of fresh bread, butter, jam, honey, fresh fettah cheese, some sort of other cheese, olives and boiled eggs. If you want want more choice or a fry up then don't stay at a 2 star hotel. A lot of people seemed to take pleasure in moaning/ complaining each day about the breakfast, but we actually really enjoyed it. The lunches you can order off the menu are ok, and reasonably priced. You will constantly be hasstled to have dinner in the hotel which we eventually did for one night, and which was NOT good. Just be firm and say that you want to eg. go into town.

As regards the location, it is 2 minutes to the beach and about a 30min walk to the town centre. However there are very frequent local cheap mini-buses travelling to and from town so this was never a problem. There are plenty of restaurants and bars around the hotel in any case. Be warned though of the noise at night. The hotel is adjacent to numerous other bars and hotels all playing very loud music to the early hours of the morning, which is fine if you are staying out until the same time each night, but not if you want to relax and get some sleep!

As regards the service, we found this to be good. Nothing was ever too much trouble for the staff of this family run hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

Arrived at the Melodi and before a hello were immediately sold our air con and safety deposit box (which is behind reception) at £40 for the week. We were given the key and pointed to the tiny smelly lift which is next to really smelly toilets. When we put the air con on a horrid smell of stale smoke came and you cannot even have the balcony open at the same time or it switches off. When mentioning to the staff, they just said to keep the door open! Needless to say we never used the dirty air conditioning at all but werent given our money back.
The room itself would have been fine but - the main light didnt work, the hinge behind the door was hanging so you cannot open it properly without bumping your arm. the main fuse box was hanging open and wouldnt close. The pillows had stains and holes in them. The floors were filthy - hairs and curbies everywhere! In the bathroom was mould all around the shower area, more hairs in on the floor - and one long hair even hanging from the panelled ceiling. Wrappers on floor around the sink. A random plasic bag was hanging across the window - we were too scared to touch it though. The mouldy shower curtain kept falling down. There was a drip coming from the ceiling that lasted for 4 days which felt horrible and kept the floor constantly wet. The staff had said they would come to see it but never did. Shower is cold in the morning - heats up for the evening though. There is no hairdryer and no fridge.
The pool area is not very nice either. We sat one day and the chairs and tables havent been cleaned in a long while. The water was murky looking everyday (cannot see the bottom on some days it is that bad) so was obviously not maintained properly (nothing like the pictures shown as that pool looks clean!). We went to the beach everyday as the hotel was too dirty to stay at. Brekfast is just bread butter and jam and cheese. no ham even! But that is just as well because every time you leave the hotel the saff are asking yu to have food there. So one night we did so we would stop being hassled. I had the plainest tastles spag bol ever with hardly any sauce or meat for the pasta. and then the next night I was ill with food poisoning. I will put this down to this hotel as the only other times I ate were at reputable places I have eaten at before.
If you need to reconfirm your transfer dont ask the hotel as he charges you 3TL to use the phone and wont do it for you! We had booked the extra night through our travel agent but as soon as the staff heard we were about to leave they were trying to sell us another night - we had to remind him we already had the extra night! No entertainment was at this hotel - but they always wanted you to stay for a drink.

The good points - location was good (although entrance is situated in an alley!)
Staff were chatty enough and friendly.

I was glad to leave this hotel. Marmaris itself is fab - Have been to the resort before but made a HUGE mistake choosing this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010 via mobile

We booked our holiday late in Aug and we search our accommodation online prior to arriving in Marmaris. We selected Melodi for it's location and primarily the price. We arrived after being delayed at airport and being transferred by cowboys at the airport, we were welcomed into hotel at arrival and introduced to owner which in my opinion is good customer service. We stayed at the hotel for 6 nights, throughout our stay we did not encounter one problem and were met by the friendly staff on daily basis. In a round up we went to Marmaris on a budget holiday and found what we received is exactly what we paid for we have no complaints and can only recommend that others give the hotel a try. To highlight the service, my friend left his money and cards in room after vacating, these were return to him in Scotland free of charge within 3 working days.

The only problem with the hotel is that the manager is a man city fan.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melodi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melodi Hotel

Address: Siteler Mah. Kenan Ergin Bulv. No:5 Marmaris Merkez, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Marmaris
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Marmaris
#51 Family Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Melodi Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melodi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melodi Hotel Marmaris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melodi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.