We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be so much better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Laberna Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Laberna Hotel to your Saves list
Laberna Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cildir Mahallesi 178 Sokak 9, Marmaris 48700, Turkey (Formerly Balci Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 281 Hotels in Marmaris
East Midlands, UK
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
“Could be so much better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This I a decent hotel in a good location but the penny pinching policies put a damper on the stay.
The hotel feels nice and modern after a refit but the rooms are very small, My room had about 12 inches clearance between the bed and the sliding door of the wardrobe which itself was too narrow to allow clothes to be hung properly and not foul the wardrobe door when trying to close it. The other side of the bed had a gap of about 18 inches to the wall and balcony door. Although the balcony had curtains these were for display only so at night it was never dark in the room even at night.
My biggest gripe was the no food or water from outside the hotel being allowed into the rooms. This meant either smuggling things in or paying the hotels ridiculous prices for water. The bottled water in the hotel was 4.0TL for a 1.5litre bottle but the identical bottles were on sale at the corner shop next to the hotel for 0.8TL. The hotels other policies seem to make everything else extra, air conditioning was extra, the in room safe was extra, even the pool towels were extra.
Whilst there were plenty of sunbeds available the ones at pool level were jammed frame to frame the only way on the them being an undignified crawl up the bed from the foot end. On the upper sunbed terrace more space was available but this area including the sunbed mattresses was never cleaned during my 2 week stay, This was obvious by the markings on the mattresses that peoples sun creamed bodies had left as most refused to pay the extra for the thin abrasive feeling hotel pool towels. I also noted one particular cotton wool bud that was there as long as I was. Another thing to beware of was the use of glass for drinks on the concrete area around the pool, an accident waiting to happen.
Inside the building the corridor lights were on motion sensors but were rigged so that they were only on when directly in front of them this meant walking in darkness between lamps, this was also true for the stairs which were black with no edge markings when going down.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    23
    16
    14
    16
See reviews for
35
42
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

went here for a bath and sauna and massage it was the best one we have had it was spotless and very good no hassle for photos and no problem if you did not want extras £10 for basic package well worth it payed extra for threading and feet and hair treatment

Room Tip: poolside rooms noisey we prefer high up for bit of quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Hotel is very clean and staff is helpful and hotel is quite close to the sea front. My only complaint was that we paid the hotel in euro and got our change in turkish lira at a low exchange rate which the hotel decided to set but I can assume that this is common with all the other hotels. I would still recommend this hotel to people going to Marmaris.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Myself and my friend were moved here from another hotel. Rooms were compact but very modern and air con was lovely. The hotel itself is very nice and staff are brilliant. My only complaint is if you are going half board, don't bother, the food is terrible, not hot at all and not much flavour to anything. Apart from this i would recommend this hotel on a room only basis. We spent quite a bit of money buying drinks in the hotel during the day but when we tried to bring in bottles of water for a night time we was told we was not allowed. I kicked up a fuss and said we would go elsewhere during the day and spend our money somewhere different if that is the way they was acting. We was told there was a mini bar in our room which was 4TL for a small bottle of water. The manager allowed us to bring the water up for one night only. I could understand if we came back with bottles of vodka, but water, how ridiculous. I have never been to a hotel that tried to confiscate bottles of water from guests at night time. Aside from this, the staff are really welcoming, if they changed a few of their policies on bringing just water to the room then i would consider returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We liked the hotel as we saw it on the Internet. Reality was different. The room was too small with barely enough room to move. It had two pillows and a one small summer blanket. The space under the bed had lumps of dust that remained there throughout the seven days of our stay. We also had to pay $8/day for AC and $4/day for using the safe box. The towels were clean but there were no bathrobes or slippers. The TV channels were mostly Turkish with two German channels, BBC, AlJazeera in English, and MBC. The lobby is nice so is the swimming pool.
We only ate breakfast at the hotel and we were greatly disappointed with the cleanliness of the tables, dishes and cutlery as well as the quality of the food and its lack of variety.
If you care about cleanliness and your food, don't go there. If you don't mind the above description, go for it. When I go some other time to Marmaris, I will sure choose another hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at 5am to the hotel, we had a slight problem with the room bookings for a party 7, that was quickly resolved.
Hotel it self was really clean. Fresh towels everyday ect. Only down point for me was the rule of not being able to take your own food and drinks into your rooms. We paid £35 for the air condition for the week which is well needed. Free wifi all over the hotel just ask for password at reception desk.

Would defo recommend this hotel as its nice,clean and stress free

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed here 8-22 July with partner & 2 young kids. Hotel was spotless & really nice. Rooms were cleaned everyday with fresh towels. We had a family suite with a pool view, very comfortable! Pool area was spotless, lots of beds. Food was nice enough just was not a lot of choice at dinner time, so we ate out most nights but the restaurants are all very reasonable with good food! The only thing I would say u are not allowed to take snacks or your drinks from shop up to your room! Staff were all really nice, especially Shine, Metta & Michelle all really friendly & fab with the kids. Had an amazing holiday & would stay here again, good location too!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laberna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laberna Hotel

Address: Cildir Mahallesi 178 Sokak 9, Marmaris 48700, Turkey (Formerly Balci Hotel)
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Marmaris
#24 Spa Hotel in Marmaris
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Laberna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Laberna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seven Superior Gumbet
Hotel Seven Superior

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laberna Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.