We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made a do” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Club Dorado Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Club Dorado Hotel to your Saves list
Club Dorado Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Merkez Mahallesi Sehit Ahmet Benler Caddesi Sayar Sokak No 2, Marmaris 48700, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 281 Hotels in Marmaris
Preston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Made a do”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

On arrival we had to be to be taken to another hotel at 3.am and we were given various excuses. We had a 2 year old with us an he was not impressed.

This holiday is ok if you plan to eat out every night. I lived off soup and rice. When the chips were warmed up they were like cardboard. The all inc drinks were a joke they ran out of red wine and all they had was vodak, white wine, gin on some nights. Then only food every night was chicken and a bit of goat. There is no entertaiment. We had entertainment twice in 2 weeks. About 20 people watched a Liverpool match after 20 mins had to turn over to turkish match because manager had bet onTurkish match.

MY ADVICE IS DO NOT GO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

some of the staff were nice and they were and they were only paid £10 per a day!!!????

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibrahim s, General Manager at Club Dorado Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear lily-rose1001,

Thanks for your review on Trip Advisor. We are sorry you were relocated on your arrival but we had some overbooking issues caused by an IT issue which caused us problems and extra cost and we were disappointed about the impact this had for our guests. We have a varied menu which has been designed to suit the needs of the majority of our guests and are disappointed to learn you did not consider the range to your taste. We have never served goat in the hotel as that would cost more than our budget allows! No entertainment….. but then there was entertainment … limited in October due to the educational commitments of many local Summer season entertainers but we make an effort to offer some which is more than most 3 star hotels in the area does. We are pleased you liked our staff and thank you for your kind comments about them.

isayar@clubdorado.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    144
    99
    57
    128
See reviews for
168
170
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

-rooms were clean
- staff were nice (to me at least)
-at first we got a room with a double bed on the third floor, however a quick trip to the main desk and we got another room on the fifth floor with 3 single beds(which was lucky considering:)
-noise echoes upwards from lobby, this could cause a problem on the lower floors - but didn't really affect me as i was on fifth floor
-food was alright, albeit a bit basic and it was almost the same every day, but for three stars what do you expect....

bad points:
- no water provided to clean our teeth (had to buy from the shop across the road)
- not enough cups at meal times
- they packed the furniture away for end of season whilst we were still using them
- no signs telling you what you`re eating and the chips sometimes went cold very quickly
- no information about an apparent free shuttle bus to ishmela(found out about this on last day)
- people leaving plates and cups on landings
- staff walking away from bar when you needed to be served
- tourists were put behind the bar just before closing time

strongly advise NOT to go to "TERRI AND SEPTEMBER" for excursions - go to BATMAN directly opposite the hotel instead - Terri and September ripped us off and then got shirty when we complained about it - one of them also then wanted to fight one of us in the street

**lastly and possibly most importantly my friend bought 3 pair of sunglasses, 2 of these have since gone missing, best we can tell they were last seen in their room...

Room Tip: fifth floor - away from lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibrahim s, General Manager at Club Dorado Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear 50pence777,

Many thanks for your review. We always try to respond to guests requests and were happy to have been able to accommodate you in a triple room that suited your specific requirements. Thank you for your comments regarding our food selection, nice to read that you thought what you were provided with was suitable for a hotel with our rating. We will ensure food is labelled at each meal time in future as this has been a point raised by guests on trip Advisor. Tap water is perfectly safe in the hotel for washing including oral hygiene but if bottled water is more desirable it can be obtained from our water dispenser next to the all-inclusive bar free of charge, just fill your own bottle! We have read about the cup shortage in quite a few reviews and are amazed as there is plenty of crockery in the hotel. It’s an issue that will be investigated and resolved for future visitors and thanks for bringing it to our notice. Our free shuttle bus to Icmeler beach is advertised on a board close to the main door of the hotel but perhaps we should have clearer notification and as a result of your comment the service will be detailed in the hotel information leaflet that will be provided to all visitors in 2013. Sorry to learn you lost some things when you stayed with us, we would have been happy to help you had we had the loss reported but after checking we have no record of any notification of sunglasses missing. Every year we reunite guests with all sorts of things from mobile phones to beach towels and sun cream. We keep a log at reception for items that are reported missing and which have been handed in. Overall it sounds like your party had a pretty good time and were lucky with the excellent weather we have had in Marmaris this October. We hope you come back sometime next year and visit to see the improvements promised.

Best Regards

isayar@clubdorado.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Totally agree with nick s !!!!! Hit the nail square on in the head.
But I would like to add the last thing i wanted to see whilst eating the slop they called food was numerous stray stinking flea invested cats roaming around the dinner hall , it is disgusting and made me and my friends feel deeply sick most evenings.
The steps leading up to the hotel were covered in bin juice and old food from the minute we got there until the moment we left.
And to finish off there was dirty plates and cups left on our floor all week with flies and cockroach's swarming them !!
This place Would be better off knocked down and made into a car park to save everyone the Misfortune of staying here !!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibrahim s, Guest Relations Manager at Club Dorado Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Graham3252,

Your review is not a realistic description of the hotel or its facilities. Nobody has previously reported infestations and cats at the hotel are pets not strays. If there had been some positive comments to substantiate things we would have responded seriously. Knocking the hotel down and making a car park in the middle of a tourist resort is not a serious option and such comment exposes a nasty agenda which we have no interest in becoming involved in.

info@clubdorado.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saundersfoot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Lets start with the positives.... spacious & clean bedrooms which are serviced daily by the very friendly & helpful housekeeping staff. Plus a balcony which is good. Beds were on the hard side but I slept OK. Location OK - 15 mins to walk to water front & a shuttle which runs every 10 mins.

Now the bad bits..... I work as a receptionist in a busy hotel so I understand the importance of service with a smile. Please note Club Dorado IT COSTS NOTHING! The team at the hotel is mostly male and we were grunted and scouled at on a daily basis and made to feel very uncomfortable in the public areas. There was one female receptionist who happily let me stand at reception for 10 mins while other members of staff stood around doing nothing until I had to ask to be served. Ridiculous! There was a male member of staff who screwed up his face in confusion every time I asked him a basic question- I gave up in the end!
We were told to Sshhhhh when we were sitting in the public lounge/reception area and then shortly after they switched the lights off...thanks guys!
We were pounced on as soon as we came down after check in by some guy trying to sell us trips - give us a chance to breathe after a 2 hour transfer please! after this he wasn't interested in us and ignored us the entire time like most of the staff. I strongly believe that the reason for being snubbed is because we travelled in a group of 3 girls 5 boys - had the boys not come they would be slimy & innapropriate towards us like we witnessed with other female guests (its actually a huge relief) but to be at least greeted would be nice.

I have stayed in cheap hostels all over the world and never ever have I been so disgusted by the manner of the staff. They all have attitudes and need to learn that a smile goes a long way & people will not return if they are made to feel unwelcome & uncomfotable.

Now...THE FOOD! unidentifiable meats floating in a bland sauce....sound nice??? I enjoyed the salad selection but you can't eat salad day in day out. Breakfast was a write off, the cooked breakfast (mostly beans, watery scrambled egg or boiled egg) was left out without being heated so if you went down after 8.15am it was stone cold. There was a very small selction of cereals and ran out of coffee cups daily. We ate dinner in the hotel once and went out for the rest of the week. You would think with it being all inclusive they would provide light snacks & drinks throughout the day but nothing.

We all worked hard this summer for a relaxing holiday at the end and each of our group was thoroughly dissapointed with the hotel, I couldnt wait to get home! The biggest let down is the staff - training is definately needed in this area... here's a few phrases they could try 'Welcome' 'may I help you?' 'good morning' etc

There is a lot of hotels in Marmaris where you would pay the same so try somewhere else!

Room Tip: Very noisy open plan building so not ideal for sleeping children
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibrahim s, General Manager at Club Dorado Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Wilsy 1988,

Thanks for the review and the kind comments about our rooms and cleaning services. We were very interested to read your comments as you say you work as a hotel receptionist in the UK. We have noted your comments regarding customer service and we have already mentioned in many previous responses that we intend to spend a considerable amount of time before the 2013 season on staff recruitment and training to deliver an improved level of customer care for our guests, many of whom are regulars. We note your comment about being asked to tone down the noise your party was making in the evening and would refer you to the comments made by other guests who had serious issues with noise disturbance. We have to try and make all our guests feel comfortable and as an experienced hotel receptionist we are sure you appreciate that sometimes that does not suit everyone but we do try to be reasonable. We were concerned about the comments made about our staff. You mentioned that you did not experience being treated ‘slimy and inappropriate’ and reasoned that was because you were in a mixed party of males and females. We find this somewhat presumptuous to say the least as you and your party probably had no idea what relationships staff had built up with other guests. That said, we will introduce new rules in 2013 for guest contact as part of our customer service programme. We are disappointed that unlike the vast majority of our guests you did not find the food selection to your taste. With breakfast between 8AM and 10AM, Lunch between 12:30PM and 2PM, Coffee and Cakes between 4PM and 5PM and Dinner from 7:30PM until 9PM there is not much time between meals for snacks but if the food provided at meal times was not acceptable we doubt if any snacks provided would have been either. We have had some very good reviews about our staff and the service provided by a small family owned hotel and we will try to improve when we receive comments that are realistic and consider the price paid and our hotel rating.

Best Regards

isayar@clubdorado.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Where to start, our all inclusive hotel stay was the worst place I've ever stayed. One of the staff named Alex was so abrupt to customers never smiled and decided to watch Turkish football on telly when there was English matches on so all the English had to go out to other bars to watch them.He called an old man names for only tipping him 5 lira saying it wouldn't buy his child a lolly pop, the pool was ice cold, the drink was cheap rola cola nd the vodka was like battery acid which I received in a beaker with lipstick on the rim. The food was not nice no variety we had a choice of small hotdogs in a tomato sauce or boiled chicken drumsticks which looked vile , rice with chick peas and salad and a few cakes.at breakfast there was never any cups available I approached a member of staff who said people take them to their room so there's a shortage so I went outside to seating area to find about 20 dirty cups,if u don't like continental breakfast ur only choice is toast, I over heard an English guy getting excited one morning telling everyone there was muslie on , so after putting up with the slop for a couple of days and spending money eating out for some decent food one of my friends went to talk to the manager to complain and within minutes two of our party were surrounded by all the Turks from the hotel feeling very intimidated a rep attended and advised we leave the hotel he said u could stay of ur own accord but said he could put us in another hotel 20 mins drive out of marmaris he's words we're it is so easy here in turkey to get hit over the back of the head put in a boot and go missing forever, so as you can imagine we sharply packed , as we were leaving we realised it was one of their heaveys waiting to take us in his car , we phoned our own taxi to take us to another hotel .I can honestly say not one person staying at club dorado were happy with the hotel it's the worst hotel I've ever stayed and will never go back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibrahim s, General Manager at Club Dorado Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear 113456,

What can we say? Sounds like something from a Turkish Mafia novel! Joking remarks from staff taken so seriously, battery acid, drinking container shortages and to top it all Turkish Football on the TV in a Turkish holiday resort! Surrounded by Turks (well it is Turkey) during a meeting with the hotel management and the tour rep…. concern about being hit on the head and missing forever. If that was accurate why were the police not involved? Hotel heavies and a fast taxi to somewhere else…….. surely this was a bad dream or paranoia or both? Questionable considering the statement that ‘not one person staying at Club Dorado were happy with the hotel’. Scroll down this review site and read some of the comments from other guests who were resident at the same time. We try to make serious responses to guest reviews but in this case we just have to let browsers read what has been reported and consider how exaggerated things have become in retrospect for this guest. We hope future holidays are a better experience.

Best Regards

isayar@clubdorado.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

nice clean rooms with a very good friendly service - but the all inc food and drink is basic

strongly advise not go to "Terr`s excursion shop" - turn right out of hotel - two minutes down the road on the right - next to sara`s bar - Terr and September are complete con artists and liars - which one of them then followed up with first insults and then threats of violence - with locals waiting in the wings - a horrible experience for me my friend and our two kids - go to batman`s shop directly opposite hotel entrance for a very friendly service that you can rely on receiving - will never go back to marmaris again due to Terr and one other horrible experience there

altinkum is ten times better in all ways

Room Tip: open plan five floor hotel with a noisy lift that had a gap in the centre of the closing doors and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibrahim s, General Manager at Club Dorado Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Andrew w,

Thanks for your review on trip advisor. Glad you liked the accommodation and that you found something to your taste from our all-inclusive food selection. We can’t comment on your experience with travel agencies locally but pleased to learn you found an excursion provider which could satisfy your holiday needs.

Best Regards

isayar@clubdorado.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I've stayed in Marmaris once before and this has confirmed this part of Turkey is not for me. I was at the hotel from 23rd Oct - 30th Oct.

We arrived gone midnight and was greeted by the female receptionist who gave us our room key, air con remote and told me the hotel has free WIFI, we didn't actually get told where to go but it is clear there is a lift.. We went up to our room on the 3rd floor and that is where the noise began.

The hotel is all open plan so you can hear everything from everyone; people coming in at night, people slamming doors and the hotel lift. For the first three nights we go next to no sleep due to this. We spoke to other guests on different floors who felt the same. Our balcony door also didn't close correctly so we could also hear noises from outside. The hotel is clean and the rooms are spacious and the maid does the basics.

We had breakfast on our first day which was horrific. Cold beans, hard boiled eggs and hot dog sausages in a weird sauce. The toaster burns the bread and there was smoke coming from it. (You can smell this from your room) Breakfast stayed pretty much the same all week apart from soggy scrambled eggs on the odd day. Lunch & dinner didn't really get much better, although I'd recommend the chicken nuggets, chicken breast & meatballs. Sunday was the best lunch and dinner. Chicken kebab freshly done in front of us with all the trimmings. (salad, sauces, chips..) The 'beef' was chewy and people wasn't even sure if it was beef. It would be better if there was food tags, I did ask the man standing there but he grunted at me, I just guessed he couldn't speak any English.

As AI you can only use one of the bars, the other bar is for paying only and you get better cups, better drinks and a better service. Bar staff do work hard but sometimes walk away when they can see you walking to the bar, even though there is a sign for one drink per person I sometimes got 5 at a time! They sometimes let young girls work behind the bar, this just slows down the service and both times it was just before the end of AI, not sure if that is the con. If you don't buy drinks from the paid bar I did notice the staff wasn't as nice to you, the people who paid got better treatment, even their luggage taken to the car for them!

The owner is very nice and this is the first hotel I have been in where I have seen and spoken to the owner, he went out of his way to accommodate us and even drove us into town to help sort out a problem.


NOT TO DO WITH THE HOTEL:
Buy your excursions from BAT MAN (across the road) and no September (next to Sarah's bar). September conned us twice and got very abusive when spoken to!

Don't book airport transfers with UNITED BLUE as they came 25 minutes late, dropped us off at the side of the road and we waited 20 minutes then a coach came and we made it to the airport with moments to spare!

Overall I would say the hotel is a nice basic hotel in a good location but there were too many problems wrong with it for me to say I'd like to come back. I found the hotel very boring and there was only entertainment one day. (Male belly dancer & dancers) I will not be returning.

added bonus - The hotel has scales for you to weigh your case

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room, top floor have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibrahim s, General Manager at Club Dorado Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear PartyIslandGirl,

Firstly thanks for your review. You seem to have been given accurate information at reception on checking-in and the lift is adjacent to the reception. With just 12 rooms on single corridor floor we are sure you did not have too much trouble locating your accommodation. We have covered the noise issue in previous responses, sadly there are some very inconsiderate people who cause disturbance although we do our best to ask those who do this to try to be more considerate of others. As a result of comment made on Trip Advisor we will be highlighting this in our new guest information leaflet in 2013 and placing additional sign on each floor. Had the balcony door in your room been reported faulty it would have been swiftly repaired by our full-time technician. We take room maintenance very seriously especially matters relating to health and safety. Your account of the food provision poses several questions. If the toaster was faulty and causing issues with smoke in guest’s rooms why was it not reported? The hotel advertises a Turkish breakfast but also supplements the normal Turkish food selection with British favourites including scrambled eggs, sausage and baked beans. We are sorry that this along with cold meats, salads, bread selection, cereal, preservatives, honey, fresh fruit, fruit juices and hot beverages was not a wide enough range for your breakfast. The issue regarding the labelling of foods has been addressed and will be monitored closely in 2013. We try to treat all of our guests with courtesy but it is fairly likely that guests who use the main bar and who get to know the staff build up a better relationship with them. Any guest can get assistance with luggage on request regardless of their bar spend. We are pleased to note that you got assistance when needed from the owner who took you into town in his own private transport. That level of personal service does not seem to have made much of an impression which is disappointing to read. We were sad to read so many negatives including the issues with other local traders. Hopefully your future holidays will be more successful.

Best Regards

isayar@clubdorado.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Dorado Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Dorado Hotel

Address: Merkez Mahallesi Sehit Ahmet Benler Caddesi Sayar Sokak No 2, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 281 Hotels in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Dorado Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Club Dorado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ares Hotel Armutalan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Dorado Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.