We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel, keep an eye on your hotel beach towels, thiefs about.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turunc Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Turunc Hotel to your Saves list
Turunc Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Turunc Beldesi Marmaris Merkez, Marmaris 48740, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 281 Hotels in Marmaris
lincolnshire,
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“lovely hotel, keep an eye on your hotel beach towels, thiefs about.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This was our first time at this hotel, there was 5 in our party, 2 adults and 3 kids 10, 8, 8, when we got there, there was no problem with check in, but when we got to our room we had a problem, 5 people and only 4 beds, when I booked with THOMAS COOK I asked them on 4 separate occasions if the hotel rooms will fit us all in, was told they have checked, on the plus side the hotel manager the next morning sorted this out, they moved us to another room, which we was happy with. the hotel was lovely, the staff were very friendly, hotel was lovely and clean, our rooms were cleaned every day, great job, FOOD, I thought was very good, lots to choose from, breakfast, lunch and dinner, and supper and beyond, there was always food available 24/7, you will not go hungry here, only gripe is that the food is laid out in 4 different areas, so you wonder around trying to find what you want(it's all there if you look) but it can take some finding, we were there middle of may for two weeks, first week was great, second week the amount of people doubled and was getting to crowded for my liking, glad we weren't there any later. POOLS, activity pool was fun and noisy, the top pool was nice and quiet, if not a bit boring. watch out for all the hard sell from the on site shops, especially the hair salon, the owners name is eyupp and he was a pain in the ars, never stoped trying to sell us the hair braiding for the kids, first he said he could do it for £20, when we went to look it ended up at £35 and one disappointed child, so beware. also we had our hotel beach towels stolen on 3 times, and after enquiring at reception this seems to be a problem at this hotel, no help or refund of our deposits, just got told tuff look. not happy with that. but over all I would go back again, we had a great time, lovely friendly staff made the holiday for us.

Room Tip: luck dip what you get, even if you ask before you go, so don't bother asking, makes no odds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    172
    81
    30
    15
See reviews for
213
180
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lodz, Poland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I have just come back fro Turunc,staying there for 7 nights. Really shortly cause I am not good enough in writing reviews:)

In plus:

- Room's standard, general facility (swiming pools, garden's) and friendly staff (waitress, animators, cleaning crew)

- Beautiful view

In minus:

- Definitnelly food. I was coming to Turkey with hope to taste some Turkish specials that I heard a lot of. That wasnt the case and I was very disappointed with quality, warmness and selection of warm dishes.

- meals organizations. Warm food in one room, salad's in another, coffee and grill next to swimming pool. All those different locations introduce a quite annoying chaos during dinner's epsecially.

- not very friendly reception staff, especially guy who seemed to be reception manager (except blond hair lady that you could sort with every problem and issue)

- 2 hours transfer from Dalamat that is handled by bus and small bus. Changing the bus, moving the luggage from one place to another is bit porblematic when you travel with small child (s)


Generally hotel doesnt deserve for 5 stars mainly because of the food. I would probably recommend it to somebody but under above points.

Room Tip: I stayed in block C and I would fully recommend it as you get a nice sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartlepool
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Just had an 8 night stay in hotel turunc.Brilliant hotel and staff.Good variety of food to suit all tastes,even though the food stations were in different areas,cold foods,salads,bread etc in one area and hot buffet in another,but you soon got used to it.The entertainment team was our only gripe,it was shocking,but they did cater for the children during the day,and they were very good with them.We met some lovely people there, Maureen and Ray, wonderful couple.The staff were friendly and looked after every one, sorry cant remember all their names but they are great.The hotel is on the beach and over looks turunc viliage, with panaramic views, the villiage is a 10 min walk to get there, its a lovely little place with a few bars and shops.We did the 5 bay boat trip,on sunshine boat as musti wasnt going out that day and he gets number1 on tripadviser,we had a lovely day out and the food for lunch was lovely.Hotel turunc company has built a new hotel in the villiage called turunc premium it looks fab and is due to open next year,if its any thing like this hotel it will be first class,keep up the good work management and staff, fully recommend to family and friends,would return in a heart beat,missing the hotel already.Trevnali x

Room Tip: We were in room 1417 away from the pool over looked the garden waterfall,suited us fine,nice and qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I am giving this Hotel 5 stars to offset the very unfair criticisms from some other visitors. In truth this is a 4 star Hotel not 5 stars and this is reflected in various ways. Minor imperfections to the building itself and a tendency for large volumes of visitors to reduce the personal touch at the dinner table means it is not quite there. Sales is another minor irritation, you will be pestered by people trying to sell you anything from a massage to a photograph, be warned what they quote you to start with will escalate rapidly to a much higher figure, they are very proficient at milking money. Now having made those negative points this is a nice hotel in a nice place within easy walking distance of Turunc and with an extremely varied and large selection of fairly good food. I took seven people ranging from 6 years old to 28 years old plus teenagers and my wife, we all had a very good time. Transfers are about 2 hours but bearable and despite the reviews the staff were very friendly and approachable. The beach includes gravel and is small but private. The local sea contains minimal wildlife and fairly plain fish with the occasional brightly colored one. Entertainment is pretty much what you would expect, good for what it is, but doesn't try to be top end.
Tip.
The entire area has woken up to the idea that they can, for example, get you in the chair for a Turkish shave then before you know it you are paying for a face mask, facial, and while still in the chair, a massage. The price then goes from 5 Lira to 40 Lira, Be Firm. Excursions always seem to include expensive photos with heavy sales. Excursions such as diving which start at 90 Lira then evolve into additional certificates and photos which can triple the price per person. The hotel health center uses this technique in an intense way, they will find you. Forewarned is forearmed.

Room Tip: We stayed in the newer block extending up the hill and had a good nights sleep every night. I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forres, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Firstly, if you've booked this hotel for your holidays, you won't be disappointed.

We arrived about 3 in the morning after a long transfer, changed buses in Marmaris onto a smaller minibus and I think it took so long because the driver couldn't find half the stop off hotels he was looking for, didn't matter though. Check in v quick and easy and we were taken first to our room then to the all night snack bar. Soon as we arrived in the snack bar and I had a coffee in front of me, I thought, wow, this place is idyllic. The transfer back though was nearer 4 hrs and we did change buses again in Marmaris (on a busy main road, suitcases and people everywhere and angry Turkish drivers trying to squeeze past!! Entertaining! )

Rooms were great, a choice of pillows, just call reception if you want something different, big balconies, great room service, cleaned every day, fresh bottled water and a proper double bed, not the usual 2 singles pushed together. Hairdryer, little toiletries etc, all good. Oh and the shower was brilliant, quite powerful.

We personally went here for a quiet week away and that's exactly what we had. There are things going on if you want to do them, I didn't which is maybe just aswell as we didn't see an entertainment rep all week. I would estimate 30% of staff brilliant, the rest are, well, just people doing a job.

There are a lot of food stations going on almost round the clock. I don't expect to go abroad and eat british food, have lived overseas for many years as well as having travelled extensively and for me, the food is the reason I have not given this beautiful hotel 5 stars. You get all the usual breads, cheeses, salad stuff, meat options were a bit samey, chicken of a sort, meatballs/kebab of a sort and fish everyday. It wasn't always warm, never mind hot and by the time you queued to get your meat then went round all the tins inside for something to go with it, then next door to the salad bit then again to the bar, if it was ever warm to begin with, it certainly isn't by the time you get organised and sit down. Not very well thought out compared a lot of other hotels and the majority of the food is definitely catered for the Eastern European, Russian holiday maker. You also have to time it right, prime dinner time for families with small children etc and you may not get a seat. We went out to eat in Turunc a few times. Cannot recommend Han restaurant on the sea front enough. T-bone steak, pepper steak all the trimmings, drinks, coffee etc, £25 for two of us. It was beautiful!

Turunc itself is a lovely village, enough shops if you need to buy things, no hassle at all from the shop keepers, a pleasant stroll from the hotel. Plenty trips out if you want to do them all from either the hotel or from Turunc itself, boat trips, mud baths, Rhodes etc.

The shop keepers at the the hotel, photographer etc aswell have to come out around 11am everyday and try to sell their goods, they are by no means pushy and are happy to leave you if you say no thanks. They're just doing their jobs. My husband and I both had a couple of massages at the spa which were good and he had a Turkish shave and spruce up which he said was great.

Would we return? No. Am happy we've been to Turunc, the hotel and grounds are lovely, there is just something about this hotel and I can't quite put my finger on it. There are beautiful aspects and things which are not so good but Have had better At different hotels. Did however, have a lovely holiday so don't be put off. You'll enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Transfer from hotel took approx. 2.5 hours and after such a long day was tiring (and we didn't swap transport) but there is a halfway break to get a drink and something to eat.

Upon arriving at the hotel we were greeted by friendly, helpful staff. Our room was disappointing as they put us over the road into the hotel where all the cars park so knew this would be noisy (later in the holiday we realised this is also the stop for the bin lorry). After speaking to the receptionist and requesting a room change we were kindly advised to wait till the morning, which we happily did.
However the male on the reception next day who was called 'Recep' was very rude, we advised him that the staff from the night before had advised us to come back for a room change, which he was very un co-operative about, he told us to come back at 2 (others he told to come back at 12??) as people will have checked out by then. Myself and my partner then decided to scout out other rooms which were empty that the cleaner was finishing which we made a note of, one particularly took our fancy. We then returned to the reception at 12 and requested this particular room, to be bluntly told "no, people may have requested this room who aren't here yet" to my confusion as we had requested a room which fitted the spec of this one and we were here now?? Anyway after sitting very annoyed about how we had been treated I spotted the manager, who I had originally spoke to via email prior to arrival about the room, he promptly changed our rooms without hesitation.
Our new room was 3 floors up and overlooked the pool and partial bay, such a difference from the original room. The rooms are beautiful with very good sized balconies, a fridge which is stocked daily with bottled water. TV (approx 2 English channels), hairdryer (would recommend taking your own) and air conditioning. We could not get our air con below 17 degrees and upon speaking to the reception were told that's the temp? After asking if they had a fan we were told no, anyway we then ended up having to sleep with the balcony door open for the holiday, which was noisy at times, especially with the constant loud beeping of the tea/coffee machine and during food service times (keep this in mind if you request a pool view room). The rooms are cleaned daily and the whole hotel and grounds are spotless.

The food is lovely and fresh and there was a lot on offer. Plenty of drink variations, which the staff will happily make up for you, including cocktails. Only let down (not from the hotel) is the rudeness of some customers who do not believe in standing in a queue or saying please. Pointing to the beer pump and shouting "BEER" is not my idea of manners.

There are 3 pools, the small round one was mainly used by those with children, the other shaped pool was close to the beach and had entertainment/music and the large square one for those who want a slightly quieter life. There were a lot of wasps which were attracted to peoples drinks but we found if you covered your drink this helped. There are also staff around the large square pool who will replenish your drinks for you.

There aren't many English tourists at turunc hotel, mainly French, Spanish, Turkish, German and Dutch. Other than the manners of some this didn't bother us.

Waterpark was brilliant but hill up to it is very very steep, there is a block of apartments up there too which I would bear in mind if you want to be near the aqua park.

Turunc village is lovely and the staff are very friendly and don't pester you. There are just enough shops and a couple of supermarkets for what you need. On the way to the village on the harbour there is a restaurant on the left up some steps called ES, would highly recommend. Food, prices, service and the view were fantastic! 3 course meal with drinks was £15 each.

You can get a water taxi to Amos, Icmeler and Marmaris from turunc harbour for a few pound. We did visit Marmaris just to see if it lived up to its name and it did, the shop owners are very over bearing and we definitely won't be visiting there again any time soon. During May we were told the taxi only runs until approx. half 5 but in the busier months it does run till later but if you ask before you get on the boat they'll let you know.

On site of the hotel is a mini market, barbers/hairdresser, spa, photographer, diving centre and a jewellery shop.
Don't be pressured into services from barber/ jeweller/ photographer/ spa, they will approach you when sunbathing. Don't be afraid to haggle with them or to say no.

Hotel provides beach towels for refundable 10€ and they're very nice too! Upon leaving they have a luggage room with CCTV where you can leave your cases.

Overall a lovely place to stay and a stunning hotel. You won't be disappointed if you have booked here.

Cons
Transfer time
Unhelpful reception staff
Air con issue
Very loud tea/coffee machines- hotel manager......turn the beep off or down!!!!!
Wasps

Room Tip: Ask for a high, quiet room and don't be afraid to ask for a room change if you're not happy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

this was our first time abroad with a 6yr old and a 2 yr old and after reading a couple of reviews i was a bit dubious as to what we were going to find- I didn't need to worry!!- we landed at night and the transfer from the airport to hotel was about 2 hrs long which i was dreading after reading what people had put but it was fine!!you get stop off for a break and yes you do have to change onto a minibus at marmaris- but this worked like clockwork thanks to the rep who was great and to both the drivers who were polite and helped with all our luggage - there were 8 people in our party 4 being children!so if i can do it with a groggy 6yr old and a terrible 2yr old- anyone can!!- we arrived at the hotel about 1.30am again i was worried after what people had written as to what we were going to be greeted by -again i shouldn't of worried!- we were met by very friendly night staff on reception who made a fuss of the kids, helped with all the luggage, snack and drinks were made available to us which was lovely! Our family room was great with 2 spacious bedrooms which were cleaned daily and our towels were changed daily again the cleaners were very polite and friendly.the hotel itself is set in lovely grounds with 3 swimming pools- we spent most of our time on the sunbeds next to the children's pool with the beach just off it which was perfect for us as we could leave the older children either on the beach or by the pool while we did whatever with the younger children!we went every day to the aqua park which is also set in the hotel grounds- it is brilliant- again it caters for the small children ,adults and older children with different types of slides! my older daughter and husband loved it there!!The food was excellent!- you have a great choice of food which every meal time is fresh!- some of it is cooked in front of you!- its not all english food but what do you expect when you are not in England!the children loved the fact they could go up and help themselves, drinks are available all day you just help yourself to juice and water, tea/coffee and you get served at the bar for fizzy and alcoholic drinks- again all waiters/bar staff are very polite nothing is too much trouble for them they all made a big fuss of the kids- even making non alcoholic cocktails for the children!!My husband had a turkish shave at the barbers which was great- again the staff there are very friendly and helpful. i had a turkish bath and massage which was fantastic- they even let the kids come in for the bubble bit and my husband was allowed to take them in the jacuzzi while i had a massage- again staff were lovely!!We had a photo shoot done and the photos were fabulous!!- it was no obligation and you just buy the photos that you want- again the photographers were lovely and made a fuss of the kids every time we walked past!-the entertainment at night is good fun and the children went to the mini club beforehand so they could have their little disco- again the staff work very hard to make sure everyone is having a good time and made sure the children were made a fuss of!we had night time flight coming home as well- we had to check out of our room a 12pm but the transfer wasn't until 6.30pm- again nothing was too much trouble we were allowed to leave our luggage in a room at reception which we could go into at anytime and we were allowed to have showers and get changed at a family room at the spa which was great as we were able to spend our last day on the beach still and at the aqua park without having to worry about going home dirty!the overall view of our holiday here is that we had a fantastic time at this hotel which is kept spotless- the staff work endlessly to make sure that everything is kept clean and that all your needs are catered for with charm and politeness!- we would definitely come back to hotel turunc

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turunc Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turunc Hotel

Address: Turunc Beldesi Marmaris Merkez, Marmaris 48740, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Marmaris
#19 Luxury Hotel in Marmaris
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Marmaris
#38 Family Hotel in Marmaris
#47 Romantic Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Turunc Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FOR DON’T SAY ‘WISH’, CHOOSE TURUNC HOTELThe hotel consists of five stylish blocks that are environmently friendly it also boasts a very friendly and professional staff team that invites all its guests to discover the beauty of Hotel TURUNC.You’ll be admired to Turunc Otel because of the unique quality of service, delicious meals , friendly staff and decorated rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Turunc Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Turunc Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turunc Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.