We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we enjoyed our stay!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ekin Aparts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marmaris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ekin Aparts
Save
You added Ekin Aparts to your Saves list
Cildir Mevkii Hatipirimi Mahallesi, Marmaris 48700, Turkey, Marmaris, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Marmaris
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“we enjoyed our stay!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

just back from 2 weeks in ekin,we stayed in apts they were basic but clean! we never expected much for the amount that we paid for the holiday and it did the job. we met somereally lovely people over there and were happy enough with the workers. maids came every day cleaned and mopped, staff inrestaurant happy and friendly, it was my sons birthday while we were over and muammer organised a cake for him and cocktails he was delighted. place is basic but clean and that's all we wanted .we enjoyed staying here and location was great dolmus stopped outside the frontdoor . local market next door for fresh water/milk etc...thanks for a nice holiday craig , Cheryl and Jamie xxx

Room Tip: if in apts ask for low floor as no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    10
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

just returned from a 2 week stay at ekin appartments.we booked through thomas cook and based our choice on trip advisor reviews. well we were not impressed at all.appartments are in serious need of updating.view from balcony a joke .all we saw was rubbish on next doors balcony.no table on balcony or chairs we had to take the chairs from the table inside mind you they were the cheap white plastic ones.those were the ones u had to use inside as well as outside.no lift in these appartments so be prepared to run up stairs at night because the lights work on a sensor and dont come on until u are halfway up flight .dangerous !!!
the air conditioning is a joke.ours didnt work to start with then when it did you had to choose between being cool or sleeping because it was so old and noisy it was like having a tractor in the room with you.
not enough sunbeds and a lot of them were broken.noticed they were just dumped at side of hotel and appartments along with all the large water bottles .
the standard of cleanliness was a total joke.the maids came in every day but dont think they did any cleaning.my partner bedcover had a large hole in it .wasnt replaced until he spilt coffe on it so it had to be replaced with an other cover that had hole in it. i put my coffee cup on the table and it left a coffee ring on the 2nd day of our stay was still there the day we left .balcony was never cleaned or mopped nor was floors appartment got a quick swipe with a brush. rubbish that was left under sink next to bucket was left for 4 days before it was removed.
the bathroom was a disgrace.rim round toilet bowl was never cleaned.taps were disgusting and as for the shower head yuck.taps dripped as did shower and you needed muscles like schwarzenegger to turn them off.two days running we were left only one towel between us.had to go to management so we could have another .
the helpfull staff was a joke .one waiter never smiled couldnt understand english and never got order right.head barman was ok but one night we asked him for a menu cos partner fancied a sweet and he was told you will only get ice-cream or a pancake so why bother we are still waiting for the menu.
one tv and it was in restaurant only turkish programmes not for the guests but for staff and families .eh sorry but surely bbc news even .wouldnt put on wimbledon final so we had to leave our hotel bar and go see it somewhere else.i never watch tv on holiday but being scottish and it was andy murray well..........................
not a nice quiet hotel very noisy due to serious domestics in one room.

would not return and would not recomend to anyone.hope thomas cook look into the cleanliness issues .

Room Tip: book elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltcoats, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Just recently returned from a 14 night stay at Ekin Apartments, July 2013. Firstly before moving on I must apologise to the manager Mo for my review as he is such a nice friendly man and very helpful but I do feel the truth must be told unfortunately so here we are and I do apologise also for the length of my review:
LOCATION
Apartments are perfectly located midway between the main road running through the resort and the Armutalan area with its many bars / restaurants so a short stroll in either direction takes you either to the beach area or some great restaurants in the other direction.
SERVICE
The apartments are attached to the Ekin Hotel so all food and drink is supplied by the hotel bar and kitchen. The staff of young lads work extremely tirelessly and for long hours for little reward and should be commended for this. The head man "Izzy" was at times quite gruff and appeared more interested in constantly checking the tips box. On the subject of tips, these are shared between the staff on a hierarchy level starting from Izzy, then the chef, waiters and lastly the night porter / pool boy and pot washer lad. The cleaners did a good job, sheets were changed 3 times in 14 days and towels changed every 3rd day, although again the majority of sheets and towels had holes / tears in them and seen better days.
WiFi was exceptionally poor quality and only available at the bar area for a very limited distance and could be improved.
ROOM
We had a one bed apartment on the ground floor overlooking the pool. Room was large and spacious so this is a plus. We arrived in the early hours so did not really take much time to view our accomodation properly, however in the cold light of day we were quite surprised at the standard of the room as based on previous reviews we expected just a bit more. Starting with the fridge, the whole base area of the fridge was covered in mould and ground in grime and had obviously seen better days. The bathroom light cover was actually sitting on top of the wardrobe leaving a bare bulb in the bathroom, floor tiles were cracked and chipped and the shower was next to useless. One of the bed settees had a fist sized burn on the front. In the bedroom there were bare wires from the Air Con unit in to the wall plug socket, not ideal if youngsters staying there. Beds were rock hard, however we did ask for extra pillows and these were supplied willingly.
To be quite frank the Air Conditioning is useless, I could blow cold air better than that and was most definetely not worth the expense of 140 Lira for the 14 nights.
On asking the manager a general question re the Apartment rooms it appears that these are actually rented from a 3rd party owner on an annual basis which may explain the lack of investment in them on a year to year basis.
FOOD / DRINKS
Drinks were reasonably priced and no more expensive than elsewhere in the resort. Food started off in the first week as exceptional and certainly was good value and quality. However for some unknown reason during week two the quality and standard of the food dipped considerably and on one occasion we actually also waited over an hour for a breakfast to be made and served.
POOL AREA
The apartment side has a larger pool than hotel side so we used that whenever we went poolside. Very much depends on the clientele at any given time however it soon turned out that if you wanted a sunbed you had to be up at daft o'clock to claim one. Second week the pool water became cloudy and was clearly not as clean as it should be. This was pointed out to staff, however it was insisted that the pool was fine and no problems. Turns out the pool filters were not cleaning the water correctly and PH levels were poor. As a sufferer of a major ear infection from a previous years holiday elsewhere I now wear ear plugs in any pool I visit but I do feel that the management should have acted and advised customers of the problem rather than just insisting the pool was safe. Also second week the sunbeds were not laid out by the night porter, if you wanted a bed you had to go down to the pool at 8am and lift a bed yourself, again not ideal for elderly or perhaps disabled customers. Distinct lack of sunbeds, not enough available and many of those that were available were cracked or broken in some way. There were also no chairs or tables in the outside areas other than the seating area in front of hotel bar.
SUMMARY
If you are on a strict budget then these apartments would be fine for using as a base for sleeping in. We do NOT have high expectations and fully understand you get what you pay for, however there are basics which can and should be applied from any hotel and this is sadly lacking here. The Apartments need some considerable renovation and I fear that unless this happens at the end of this season then they may well fall in to a worse state of disrepair than they are currently.

Room Tip: Quite simply, dont have an apartment room..............
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

It is our first time at Ekin Apartments. But they had a good reputation . And I'm glad we came. 2 pools & lots of sun beds. All the staff are friendly & helpful. The food I can't really say because we have only had breakfast here. But they are nice. The rooms are clean & the cleaners are in every day which is good. Family ran & they are all nice people. Will come again.

Room Tip: Attic studio have small bathrooms. & balcony can't see over. But we don't spend much tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have stayed in Marmaris 5 times now and i can say the Ekin Hotel has been the best find ever. It is a small hotel but the most friendly welcoming place i have stayed in so far. It close to everything you need for an amazing holiday. The rooms are basic and very clean and the staff are so friendly and helpful it really helps make your stay more enjoyable. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Marmaris

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Our fifth year returning to the Ekin Apartments and everything was as great as always. Wonderful atmosphere, great service nothing is too much trouble. Staff and owners are just fabulous so friendly and helpful. The hotel is a great base located centrally to facilities of Armutulan, access to the beachfront and the dolmus stops right outside the hotel to get to the central area of Marmaris, marina and bazaar. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Well we are now home bit tired but very happy,what a time we had at the Ekin apartments,everything was just perfect,couldnt have asked for more.
The rooms were spacious and had all you need,air con was a must and great to have a fridge,the staff were simply amazing always greeted with a smile,nothing is too much trouble.
The cocktails were very strong lol you have to try the barman special after 2 i was feeling tipsy quite a bit tipsy tbh.
We ate several times at the ekin and the food was fab,friends who joined us also commented on how good the food was,I will miss the poached eggs on toast every morning.
Always plenty sunbeds available around the 2 pools which are spotless clean,also the cleaners did a great job lots of clean towels etc,
Will we go back?oh yes we will,september.
Thanks to everyone for a fantastic holiday,you really made us feel welcome and we cant wait to see you all again.

stephen and susan

Room Tip: pool facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ekin Aparts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ekin Aparts

Address: Cildir Mevkii Hatipirimi Mahallesi, Marmaris 48700, Turkey, Marmaris, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Marmaris
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Ekin Aparts Hotel Marmaris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ekin Aparts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.