We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“alkan hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alkan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alkan to your Saves list
Hotel Alkan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kemal Elgin Bulvari 67 | Marmaris Merkez, Marmaris 48700, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 281 Hotels in Marmaris
Bishop Auckland, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“alkan hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

ive stayed at this hotel a few times . i found the staff very friendly the hotel was very clean its a sun trap at the pool side . the restaurant at the front of the hotel jimmy mezza was great to very friendly staff nothing a bother for them but has been informed that jimmy has bought a new bar on the beach front called jimmy martinis near vip . i will stay at this hotel again its so near the beach

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    51
    18
    9
    7
See reviews for
21
77
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cowdenbeath, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

we stayed here on a jet 2 holiday this wasnot our first hotel the 1st hotel was closed so we were put here it was a good location just a short walk to the beach Jimmy never gave us any hassle th rooms were fine beds really comfy and the guys who worked there were lovley we have booked again to go back next year try the picadilly bar just cross the road and up to ur left brill

Room Tip: try get a room to the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Alkan hotel, a few minor issues that people need to be aware of however.
Jimmys Bar - definately a Marmite place, we chose to have a drink there on a number of occasions however Jimmy kept on at us that we should eat there, in truth we probably would have done had he not constantly hassled us howver there were other places where the food was excellent (Kibele, Seaside, Taj Mahal & Mandarin) that we simply went back to those places rather than be hassled by Jimmy.
Air Conditioning - When we were in Turkey it was in the high 30's, the first couple of dates the aircon was ineffective any it was only after a couple of complaints that it was repaired, that said we still had to move the bed to underneath the unit (which is by the patio doors rather than the middle of the room) to get the full benefit.
Sunbeds - At Alkan I am afraid the english have become the new germans. For the duration of our stay people had towels on sunbeds which they kept for the whole of their holiday, not only is this unfair to other residents and most of them remained unused for long periods of time but we came across a situation where when there was an almighty storm one afternoon and the staff had moved the towels under cover a couple of residents were complaining about "where have our towels been moved to", unbelievable !!
The rooms are large, the bathroom massive, one complaint would be that the fridge is too small to accomodate much, however on the whole this is an excellent hotel which was clean and the staff on the whole friendly.
Given the situation with the sunbeds we simply went onto the beach and used the beds which are free when you get drinks/eat at the bars.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Just returned from another stay at the Alkan Hotel, Marmaris with my sister. We had a great time staying B&B. The rooms were a little tired but it was near end of season, more cleaners were needed, there were only 3 for the whole hotel and they had too much to do. The bathrooms were dirty and the toilet was not cleaned properly for 2 weeks. Breakfast was the same every day and a toaster is needed desperately.
Another exit from the hotel is needed, because it was like running the gauntlet every night trying to pass “Jimmy’s” the restaurant on the front of the hotel, if you were not eating there. He became very abusive and threatening telling several guests they would not be allowed to stay at the Alkan again if they did not eat there. Something needs to be done about this as it is spoiling the Hotel.
All of the hotel staff were wonderful as usual, especially Eren Talip and the Manager.
Can’t wait for our next visit, apart from Jimmy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

brill hotel the staff are excellent especially erin wot a fun guy. very clean rooms cleaned out daily. but beware of jimmys. he is arrogant we ate there a couple of times but didnt like it. we have actually seen him hassle guests from the alkan to why they dont eat there.. you dont have to go there he only rents that place. go to always what a great bunch of lads there. so cheers daniel, ozzy lofty for making our holiday. see you next year.

Room Tip: stay away from jimmys
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

I stayed here with my partner and 3 year old child we thought it was a good hotel,not too big not too small and just the right amount of guests we did request a ground floor room with having a small child but there are no ground floor rooms as ground is reception area first floor is dining area and third is where rooms begun ,we got put on sixth floor but it wasnt a problem as balcony door was too heavy for our child to open anyway plus we had a great sea view and faced back of hotel so no noise from main road we were happy.we went half board and both breakfast and dinner were nice and worth paying the small extra cost for the convienience. pool was very clean and never too busy.room was cleaned everyday and was nicely furnished with quite a luxury bathroom i was constantly in lovely shower! location good too in middle of everything but not too noisy or hectic,would stay again here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We booked a double bed, but arrived to find 2 single beds pushed together. They weren't even trying to hide it, with no joint sheet to cover it. Instead, they both had single sheets and single duvets. Needless to say that on a romantic trip with my partner, this was a big issue. Cuddling was a no, any attempt ended with one of us on the floor wedged between the bed.
We inquired to reception if all the beds were like that - she said they were. I later walked past a maid cleaning a double room, to see an actual double bed that would have been perfect. Considering how lovely the rooms were, this was a major disappointment.
The maids came every day, and the room was always very clean. However, the towels were only changed twice in a 10 night trip, and instead of changing the sheets the maid merely switched them over. Also, we requested extra pillows on the first night as you're only given one each. These never arrived. They also don't do much in the way of cleaning, more just hiding and ignoring. We'd spilt coke on a towel by accident, and when we came back later that day expecting it to be replaced it was merely folded ontop of the bed.
Regardless, the bathroom and shower is lovely, even though the maid did stop giving us toilet paper. This lead to us having to go to a nearby supermarket and buy some ourselves. Not really what you expect from a hotel.
There's a TV that picks up a few English film channels which is handy, especially when you're getting ready to go out or go to bed. Also, the aircon is free and takes a little while to get going, but is really effective once it's there. We couldn't have slept without it!
There's the option for a safe at a reasonable price - well worth getting. However the bellman takes you to it and shows you how to enter your keycode - and watches you as you enter it. Literally, staring over your shoulder as you put in the numbers. We then experience something very strange - the next night the pin had changed 4433 to 3344. Completely by itself. We had no idea what was going on - as we'd left to go to the beach we'd used 4433, as we came back after the maid had 'tidied' it was 3344. Nothing was missing, or even seemed to be touched - but it was very suspicious. We originally couldn't even get into it - it was only when my partner decided to try it in reverse that we could. This also happened on the second to last night. It seemed odd, even though there wasno evidence of foul play. My advice would be maybe to change it every couple of days for extra security. Just incase.
The staff were otherwise very helpful and kind. The reception is 24hr, and that really is true. Everytime we walked past there was someone there with a smile. It definitely makes you feel safer, especially as this is where you leave your bags on your last day before you travel.
The biggest problem we experienced was the sunbeds. People never removed their towels - they literally left them there their entire holiday. Because of this we were only able to spend 2 hours out of 10 days by our pool. The staff don't discourage it, either. To get those 2 hours my boyfriend had to go down to the pool after dinner to put the towels on the last two available sunbeds! It was ridiculous, and totally disrespectful. Also, the pool is just too small for the amount of people surrounding it. It also loses the sun at around 4pm, due to the tall buildings close by. This is a great shame.
Finally, Jimmy's is the bar below the hotel. The staff are lovely and helpful, but do harass as you walk by. But sadly this is the custom in Turkey - there's not one bar or restuarant that doesn't. It was the cheapest 'meal deal' we saw - 12.50 Turkish Lira for 3 courses, and the food was gorgeous. Best food we had the entire holiday, except for the Mandarin Chinese and Taj Mahal Indian slightly down the road - both owned by the same man and absolutely wonderful! Worth the extra money!
The location of the hotel is good, not great. 2 seconds from the beach, and on the main road it's great for the day. But in the night, it gets very tiresome. The Marina with all the fun nightlife is too far away - a taxi is 12 Lira one way which realistically is too much to pay each night. If I had my time again, I'd have chosen a hotel nearer the Marina. The Alkan is simply too far out of the way.
Marmaris as a resort honestly is okay, not great. The beach is very dirty - usually the water is contaminated with fag buts, carrier bags, bits of food and random rubbish. The beach itself is so crowded it's horrible, but at least the sunbeds are free as long as you order drinks from the bars that own that section (usually reasonably priced and very nice). I reccomment Maris Beach Bar, as they were always helpful and had lovely food!
But overall, I wouldn't return to Marmaris. The resort is very expensive and dirty, and most of the shop owners rude and aggressive (they sexual harass the women, I got called Jordan so many times it was horrible!) They try to scam you out of money at every turn ('oh, I don't have change for that 10 Lira note so here's 3 Lira's worth of magnets, thanks!') As soon as you say you don't want the item then, they soon find the change.
If you go, have fun, the Alkan is a great choice. But you might want to choose a different resort altogether.

Room Tip: Try and stipulate about your double bed being an actual double bed! Also, we have the 6th floor whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alkan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alkan

Address: Kemal Elgin Bulvari 67 | Marmaris Merkez, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 281 Hotels in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Alkan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alkan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alkan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.