We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fornight of Turkish sun and fun” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Verano Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Verano Hotel to your Saves list
Verano Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kumlubuk Mevki Osmaniye Koyu, Marmaris 48700, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #179 of 284 Hotels in Marmaris
Gunnislake, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A fornight of Turkish sun and fun”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We booked 2 weeks at the Verano to compensate for the lousy summer at home. We noted that it was 3* and decided that we could put up with shortcomings described in previous reviews. Some of these were justified, although others were not a problem for us. We live in the countryside and are used to animal and poultry noises at all hours.
The plus points were the weather - wall-to wall blue (sea and sky) and the location. The hotel is set in a bay at Kumlubuk, which it shares with some very up-market properties. Us plebs were somewhat overawed by the comings and goings of yachts and helicopters. Still if the place was good enough for them... At one end of the bay were some ancient ruins (NO, not the party from Manchester!) and most folks made the hot walk at least once. The backdrop was rocky and rugged and covered in pines. We explored the area on a hire motorbike and loved the mountain roads to isolated villages and coves as well as the fantastic scenery.
On the negative side we were not happy that clean sheets and towels had to be requested. The carpet in the room was stained and not vacuumed during our stay. The food was simple 'turkish' fare, edible and generally plentiful although the meat was limited to chicken and reconstituted meat in several guises. After 2 weeks it got rather boring. The all-inclusive bar was what rankled most. This was the area that the management had clearly identified as being potentially costly to them and the process of getting a drink (often flat beer and warm wine) was laboured. There being no alternative in the immediate area most folks put up with the seeviice with a philosophical shrug.
We enjoyed our fortnight and on balance feel that we received good value for money. The quality of the experience was greatly enhanced by the diverse group of inmates (sorry- guests). Thrown together at random we quickly gelled and a blitz spirit prevailed.
Final words of warning. The BEES! In September thousands of beehives are brought to this area from Central Anatolia to take advantagee of the pine pollen. The bees are coming to the end of their lives and are blown down from the hills in hundreds. They flop down on towels and sunbeds and splash down in the pool and sea. Most people were stung at least once, oftten by leaning back onto an unseen bee.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    25
    11
    11
    33
See reviews for
30
38
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Don't know where to start, avoid this place like the plague, forget catching a suntan here, the only thing you would catch is a disease!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

On the up side location was great but secluded almost a private beach and no problem with sunbeds either on the beach or the at the pool. we hired a car from the airport so had no transfer issues and were able to get into the nearby towns.The accomadation was adequate but needed a refurb,room service was appallling no clean towels or sheets in 2 weeks unless you asked for them and the room was not cleaned the whole time we were there.The food was not for those that expected anything english and the variety of meatballs in various guises was amazing as were the aubergine dishes though i must say neither of us got an upset stomach which was good for Turkey.The staff had little english, but well we were abroad, unfortunately they were also rude and generally gave the impression they were doing us a favour letting us stay there. The barman made little effort to make you feel welcome and grudgingly poured you the watery drinks and the only bar was at the furthest point from the hotel by the beach so wine for dinner could be a bit of a mission at times.

The holiday was made by the group we met, most of them have left reviews also, as you will read below.

Would we go again? Yes but would be better prepared now we know how things work at the hotel and felt that for the price we paid we got a reasonable deal , basically we loved the location and watching the sun go down and the moon rise over the bay was a wonderful sight each evening

A little more effort from the staff would make this a holiday you would remeber for the right reasons

Aitch & Caz

Room Tip: if your travel agent wants you to pay extra for a sea view don't because all the rooms have one
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Food acceptable, however, don't bother if you are not a fan of aubergines (should write a book of 50 ways to cook aubergines), drinks were watered down, as many people have commented. Met fantastic people (one of which will be checking our spelling, hey Dave!), in particular South Africans and the Welsh, not forgetting "Toni & Guy". Like living on an animal farm, but baby chicks were gorgeous and calves walking on the beach were a bit surreal and the cockerel which woke at 1.30 in the morning (mistaking it for sunrise) started out as our worst nightmare and became our most favourite 'inmate' - you had to laugh. You are allowed out of the institution by means of taxi for 5TL to Turunc or Howard, and Carole does the 'UGG' run. Management not so friendly, however, staff were perfect. Asked twice for clean sheets and towels, but never arrived (don't understand English when you want something!). Fawlty Towers Abroad, would we go back? Probably, if we could guarantee on the company. Fantastic water sports (sounds wrong, however, it does involve a power boat and many inflatable rides on a daily basis. Boats of tourists arrive most days and can prove to be disruptive and where I would have loved to push that whistle is not printable. If you want to go on holiday on the cheap and be served on the cheap, then go, and hope for good company - we never stopped laughing, but don't expect too much and you might be pleasantly surprised. Thanks, it is not a holiday we will forget in a hurry xx

Room Tip: The higher the room, the less likely of cockroaches and treat people as you would expect to be treat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

I am writing this review as fair as I can.
Food: The food was good as I like trying the local fayre. We ate out one night and it wasn't as good as the hotel. However don't consider this hotel if you want English food as you will have to pay for it.
Location: great location if you like total peace and quiet. The hotel does run a bus into turunc for a fee of 5 lire or you can get a taxi for £10 each way. Stunning views from everywhere as there's not a building around to block.
Hotel: our room was very run down but we were lucky enough not to share with cockroaches like some other guests. We had to get a lock fitted to the balcony doors on the first day.
The aircon worked okay but was told we had to pay £3 per night but was not told this at the start of the holiday and there was no signs indicating this.
The toilet flush didn't work properly. I won't go into detail!
Staff: booking in to boot camp we was met by a stern faced elderly chap who didn't speak much English (until he wanted money for the aircon 7 days later!)
The bar was run by an even unhappier, grumpy, moody, man who I think expected guests not to ask for anything as we didn't have to pay. Although he was happy to poor water and coke, water and tonic and water flavoured wine ( my wife caught them watering down her drink). I will say though that the chap helping him was alright.
The other younger staff ( except the moody barmans daughter)were really good though, always smiling so that helped our holiday and was worth the tip at the end of the trip.
All in all I felt I was invading someone's home and was having to try and keep them happy rather than being a guest. And I am NOT a demanding customer.
Finally, even though this is not a great review, because it felt like I was part of a Turkish Faulty Towers remake and more importantly the GREAT people we met during the Siege of Verano ( you know who you are and can't wait to meet up) I had a ball so make what you will of this review

Room Tip: There are no good rooms. But all have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Well myself and my wife decided to go on holiday to turkey and found the pictures on the internet of the verano hotel it looked amazing....BUT- What a mistake going their.

to start we got our transfer from dalaman to the hotel witch we paid for but what we did not realise that we where going to get left in the town about 15 minutes from the hotel at 5 in the morning and told to find our own way to the hotel wtch we did but it cost us 30 lira. when we arrived at the hotel we where met by a guy who could not speak english other than saying i need your passports(scary). he then took us to our room and well i dont even have any words to describe it it was dirty and the toilet was a mess. we also had visitors in the room.(cockeroaches) but myself and my wife both realised if we let it get to us we would hate the holiday.

we had a hour sleep and went down stairs for breakfast well if that what they call breakfast. i cant complain about the food as the rest of the meals where good but breakfast was very basic but did the job.

their was a few friendly staff but the management at the hotel where bad they clearly did not want to do much that meant going out their way to help.

if you enjoyed a few drinks during the day it was best to go get your own drinks in the near by town as the drinks they have for al inclusive where all clear drinks and i know why i dont drink alchol but felt like a few drink and i was still standing at 10 55 at night haha witch i think is i was asking for vodka and coke but i have a feeling it was water and coke.

apart from all the bad points the veiws where amazing and the people we meet(mange 2) just made our first holiday amazing their was great water sports and a private beach with a large pool.

well our holiday was coming to a end and then was told that we had to pay for air con witch was not right as our remote was in our room when we arrived so their was no option to have it or not. i did not mind as we did need it but the principle was they did not tell us on arrival.

this holiday was far from all inclusive but all the veiws and the amazing people we met it was worth it.

we had problems with our transfer again when we where leaving so please make sure that if you ever do go to this hotel you make sure that your transfers take you to the hotel and you dont get left in the dark....

Room Tip: bring your own tent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Warwick and maria probably made this with paul and sheila well what can I say please please don't go it is a dirty smelly hotel watered down food and drink the burgers were like cookies the bar man was a rude fat horrible man and he smelled went up to the bar at 5 to 11 he said no you can't have a drink I've been drinking all day na didn't start until 1030 lol its not the point I paid all inclusive that means I can drink as much as I want but one thing it was a nice place for peace and relaxing rooms were filthy. How can theses other people put nice reviews about this hotel you must be mad really. If it wasn't for the company we had I would killed my self

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Verano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verano Hotel

Address: Kumlubuk Mevki Osmaniye Koyu, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 284 Hotels in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Verano Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Verano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verano Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.