We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner - breakfast menu a little confusing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Monkey Cafe&Bar

Blue Monkey Cafe&Bar
Carsi Cad. No: 11, Gocek 48300, Turkey
+90 252 645 2081
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 35 Restaurants in Gocek
Cuisines: Bar, Mediterranean, Continental
Restaurant details
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great dinner - breakfast menu a little confusing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Lovely location and easily our best meal in Gocek. Staff were friendly and a superb live band play most evenings. Be wary of English translations with eggs benedict being more mike a bacon club sandwich

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“The Sublime Blue Monkey - fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We decided to have lunch here on a whim but were intrigued by the menu which was a bit more imaginative than anything else we had seen on our visit to Gocek. Everything has a twist but not just for the sake of it. It is clearly a very new restaurant although we noticed that there was a Blue Monkey Bar closer to the main precinct. It was close to The Dice Bar and the Dim Hotel but looking straight out to sea. What also enticed us to go in was the number of Turkish professionals as well as visitors eating there.
We didn't intend to have a big lunch that day but the menu was so inviting we thought "to hell with it". I opted for a porcini fillet steak and my husband choose the sirloin steak in black pepper. Good choices it turned out. They know how to cook meat.
We were offered an unexpected and delicious loaf of smoked damper bread and an unctuous dip of goats cheese combined with delicious olive oil and sumac. It was surprising and delicious treat.
The main courses arrived and what stood out was the presentation. Quality white porcelain and substantial cutlery with really good knives which cut through the steaks with ease. And the food was presented with real artistry but without compromising on the taste. Every mouthful was bliss. Perfectly balanced sauce drizzled over herbed rosti potatoes, a stack of roasted courgette, aubergine and intense tomato, caramelised pearl onions and all designed to play flavours off one another. Neither of us could fault our dishes. And the quantities were perfectly judged.
Okay if you love a big thick juicy steak with a big pile of chips, rice and salad then this may not be your thing but if you genuinely want something more sophisticated and thoughtful then you must try The Blue Monkey.
Sadly our lunch budget didn't stretch to a bottle of wine this time. The choice is good but prices are higher. The total bill for both of us was 94 turkish lira including beer but for the level of service, cooking, presentation and the amazing location this was a bargain. We will definitely go back. Best place we have eaten in Turkey to date.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tasty sangria finally found in Turkey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Been at the opening night. It was cool! So hopefully Gocek now has a nice place to have your cocktail!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Execellent night with live music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

This is excellent bar in the center of Gocek, just near to central marina. Very nice atmosphere, drinks and adorable night with live music in Turkish. Thank you, guys, it was really great!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Monkey Cafe&Bar also viewed

 
Gocek, Mugla Province
Gocek, Mugla Province
 

Been to Blue Monkey Cafe&Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Monkey Cafe&Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.