We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caretta Apart Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Caretta Apart Hotel to your Saves list
Caretta Apart Hotel
Mustafa Kemal Bulvari No 49 | Calis, Fethiye 48300, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 101 Hotels in Fethiye
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

The Caretta Apartments are for most people, a home from home, with everything necessary to make your holiday the experience that you want. Whether it be quiet, or by being part of the 'family' trips that are organised by Dr John, the choice is yours. Everything possible is done by John, his family and staff to make your holiday special. The rooms are spacious with balconies. They have a small kitchen area with two to four rings for cooking. There is a fridge, toaster and kettle and a selection of crockery and cutlery.supplied and if required the use of an iron and ironing board. The maids will do a washing for you for a small charge. The swimming pool is small and you can get splashed with water if the children are jumping into the pool. The apartments are situated a short walk away from the town centre which makes them very quiet although there is evening entertainment provided by Dr John from Bingo to Belly Dancing but not every night so you can have a quiet drink at the bar if that is what takes your fancy. I used to come to these apartments with my husband but now that I am on my own, I still find that a welcome awaits me from guests that I have met over the years. Dont hesitate to book your visit here, otherwise you wont get in....İt is so popular that people return year after year!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    21
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
66
76
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

We stayed in two different apartments during our two weeks there, due to previous bookings being honoured, but were warned of this in advance. The first apartment was really special, with the balcony having a wonderful view over the swimming pool to the sea. The second didn't have such a nice outlook, but was still very comfortable and well equipped for preparing breakfasts and light snacks. There was a spacious living/dining room with kitchen area including kettle, microwave, fridge and bottled gas hob.Both had spacious separate bedrooms with a good amount of storage, and both has clean and modern bathrooms with shower.
A bit of a stroll down to Calis Beach, but we liked a bit of exercise after dinner if we went there to eat, and as other reviews have said, the dolmus stop is almost right outside.
John & his wife are extremely friendly & helpful, and the bar & restaurant area is a very pleasant place to sit, with wifi available (a bit intermittent in the apartments, but more often than not working ok there too).
The pool was lovely and clean, and usually plenty of beds available in both sun or shade.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenhithe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

I have been to the Caretta six times now and my partner (who I introduced to the Caretta) has been twice and we are both looking forward to visiting again this October. We have both been of the mind that we would never go to the same place twice, but once you visit the Caretta its very difficult not to go back. Your holiday starts from the moment you step off the plane, you are met by Duran (Dr John (the owners) right hand man), who immediately takes your bags and leads you to the waiting mini bus, which takes you on your journey to Calis. As you make your way towards Calis and the Caretta Apartments you get a weird feeling, like your on your way home to see family you haven't seen for ages. The Caretta Apartments are clean and spacious and if you require anything all you have to do is ask. Dr John, his wife Mary and the rest of the staff at the Caretta make sure your stay is relaxed and happy. Nothing is too much trouble for them. If you need to go into the nearby town of Fethiye, especially for the market, Dr John will most often offer you a lift. This is not the norm as I have never experienced this when I've been anywhere else. The apartments are situated close to local shops and is a short walk to the shingle beach. I would certainly recommend the Caretta to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

The Caretta Apts is a wonderful place to stay. close to the beach, right next to the dolmus stop that takes you into Fethiye or wherever you would like to go. small grocery store right down the road if you don't want to go into town. The rooms were clean, the beds comfortable, the shower was great with lots of hot water (and if you have travelled much you know how welcome that is..). Since it is an apartment, they do not supply everything a hotel might but it is not a problem to get what you need at the little market down the street. Highly recommend this place for longer stays. Can, the owner, is a friendly and helpful man who bends over backwards to make his guests comfortable. We had a wonderful time here and would love to go back. Only issue is: if you are a light sleeper like me, ask for an apt in the back away from the road.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

Perfect pick up and return airport service supplied by the owner in air- con people carrier.Good size shower/toilet unlike the normal Turkish size.Bedroom and living/dining area also good size for holiday appt.Pool and appt cleaning good,bar prices very reasonable,good location,beach/restaurants 10 min. stroll on the flat no hills here,bus stop at the front,supermarket 100mtrs where you can get just about everything to self cater,a very good host who is only too willing to help in any way he can.15 mins in to Fethiye and the harbour but above all this is a lovely quiet location so after the hustle and bustle of a day out you return to peace.Oh! and to my delight,no loud music ever played at the bar/pool area to disturb you which for me was a joy.In all honesty you would be hard pushed to fault it overall for the money paid.I travelled independently 2 adults and a child aged 11 for relaxing at the beach,dining out and diving.If you can`t relax here and enjoy, see a doctor.Bedding and towel changing was the best I have experienced after travelling Turkey umpteen times.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

Had a truly memorable holiday ,staff fantastic very helpful nothing to much trouble.
Hotel compfortable and clean. Ladies came in everyday to make beds and clean.
Placement good for all amenities.
No need to hire car local Dolmus bus stops near hotel or a short walk to get water taxi's lovely if you haven't tried it.
Would certainly go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

This hotel is incredibly cheap and absolutely wonderful value. For the price we paid, I was expecting something quite basic, and was pleasantly surprised by how clean and tidy it all was.

The owner, Dr John, is freindly, helpful, and very caring towards his guests. He does everything he can to make your stay enjoyable. In fact, all the staff and his family are fantastic.

Although I am not enamoured with the area - Calis Beach being a bit "karaoke" for my taste - I would certainly return to Caretta Aparts which is situated well back from the beach area and serves as a bit of an oasis away from the hubub. Yes, there is a bit of traffic noise as the hotel is situated on a corner with the main road, but it's not intrusive.

The rooms are spick and span and cleaned every day. I saw three rooms during our stay and all were quite different and individual, but equally nice. The lovely cleaning ladies would leave my clothes and towels folded in pretty origame-like designs on the bed which I thought was a sweet touch! The pool is clean and perfectly adequate in size, situated next to the garden bar, which is a pleasant area, lush with plants and containing a great gazebo where the hours can be whiled away, reading, enjoying a drink, or chatting with Dr John (he loves a natter!)

Crucially, music does not blare out day and night - bliss!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Caretta Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caretta Apart Hotel

Address: Mustafa Kemal Bulvari No 49 | Calis, Fethiye 48300, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Fethiye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 101 Hotels in Fethiye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caretta Apart Hotel is located in the centre of Calis Beach, 5 minutes from Fethiye on the beautiful Mediterranean coast. The Caretta Complex offers clean, modern accommodation in a quite location close to all holiday facilities. These apartments are particularly well suited to families. The resort centre is just 500 meters away. Bars, restaurants, shops discos and Calis Beach are within five minutes walk. There are frequent minibuses, as well as a taxi-boat service along the river between Calis to Fethiye in every half an hour during the summer season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Caretta Apart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caretta Apart Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.