We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yediburunlar Lighthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Yediburunlar Lighthouse to your Saves list
Yediburunlar Lighthouse
Yediburunlar Mah. Bogazici Koyu Esen, Fethiye 48300, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 101 Hotels in Fethiye
UK
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“A taste of Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband treated me to an overnight stay in the best suite at this wonderful place, as a birthday gift. It was a magical experience and the memories will stay with us for ever.

Driving along the track to the hotel is quite daunting, but the journey gives a real flavour of rural Turkey and makes the arrival all the sweeter. We were greeted by a pleasant young lady who led us through the gardens of flowers and fragrant herbs, past the swimming pool and to our room, or rather, small building, furthest away from the hotel and perched on the edge of the mountain overlooking the stunning coastline.

There was a bench and hammock outside our front door, and a terrace reached through a sliding door from our bedroom, with table and chairs, and a jacuzzi - what bliss!

The room itself had a wall of windows opposite the bed, so that you could lie in bed and gaze at the stunning view. Likewise the side of the room that overlooked the terrace was windows and glass doors, meaning that you could see the sun rise while lying in bed.

The room had a selection of easy chairs, tables, a large comfortable bed, wardrobe, dressing table and a small area with sink, worktop, kettle, etc and well-stocked fridge. The bathroom was spacious with a very good shower.

We were the only guests there that afternoon and luxuriated in having the swimming pool to ourselves, likewise the comfy hammocks in dappled shade in the pool bar area. Staff were available but unobtrusive, so we were left alone after lunch. There is a fridge in the pool bar if you want to help yourself and jot down what you've taken.

Of course we had to try the jacuzzi in the evening before dinner and in the morning before breakfast! It was amazing to wallow in bubbles among the early morning cloud, like being in Heaven!

Semra was away while we were there but our dinner and breakfast were delicious. Only one other couple joined us for both meals, and as they left after breakfast, we were once again spoiled by having the pool area to ourselves until checkout at noon.

A wonderful stay, and I'm sure we shall return, at least for lunch if not to stay again. The one niggle was the mark-up on drinks, which we felt was excessive and unnecessary.

Room Tip: The two most expensive suites have air conditioning. The suite past the swimming pool has amazing vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    11
    3
    4
    4
See reviews for
6
59
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed in this incredibly romantic and secluded location in June 2013 for several nights on our honeymoon. Semra and her staff were terrific and caring, but unobtrusive hosts (which is perfect for a honeymoon!).

The food was always delicious and lovely. A vegetarian breakfast (an extensive buffet including eggs in accordance with your preference) and dinner were included in the price of our stay. It was possible to purchase a very reasonably priced (and equally delicious) lunch at the restaurant (including some non vegetarian options). The restaurant itself has unbelievable views of the coast, the hills and the cliffs.

Our charming room (which was under the restaurant) had unbelievably good and unobstructed views of the cliffs and the coast. It was cleaned carefully everyday. We particularly enjoyed the outside hot tub connected to our room (particularly after some hiking) and the hammocks with the extra ordinary views. There was a good amount of hot water both for the hot tub and the shower. It is extraordinarily quiet there at night and during the day - just the noises of nature.

There are lots of good hiking options from Yedi. Semra has good advice on these.

Semra organised transfers to and from Fethiye for us by car. Her staff insisted on carrying our backpacks to and from the car - so there was no issue about negotiating the stairs. The car trip (which goes through the country side) was itself very interesting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Yediburunlar has the most spectacular views of any place we stayed at on our two-week Turkey trip. You get to the lighthouse by winding your way up a small road through the hills above the coast through tiny villages. It's perched right at the top of cliffs that tower over the turquoise sea below.

We're really glad we opted to stay here instead of one of the touristy resorts in Fethiye or Oludeniz - this was a much nicer way to see rural Turkey and get away from the crowds. Our room was comfortable and cosy (with the magnificent views from both the room and the shower/bath), the grounds were lovely - a terraced garden filled with fruit trees and herbs - and the food was fantastic. Dinner is a buffet of delicious homemade vegetarian food - we loved the aubergine moussaka, purslane salad with pomegranate and walnut dressing and homemade pasta with yoghurt and tomatoes. All in all, a really lovely place for people who would prefer to be in nature rather than surrounded by package tourists.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

It was my husband's birthday yesterday so we chose to celebrate it with a birthday lunch at our favourite restaurant - Yediburunlar. Semra's food was delicious, colourful and a wonderful treat, & Yediburunlar itself is as magnificent as ever - perched high on a mountain-top overlooking the bays & coves. Semra made Chris a special & traditionally-Turkish birthday dessert of helva (with a candle on it!) - which was a very thoughtful and equally yummy surprise. Travellers to the Mugla / Antalya regions of Southern Turkey: this is a wonderful oasis, with Michelin-class vegetarian food and is a place NOT to be missed!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

8 Lycian Way walkers were here! Far a way from every noise and dust of the world, closer to heaven.. We met with hospitality of nice staff. magnificent panorama view, nice rooms, tasty food are the things that we'll never forget. I plan to visit you again in this year, this time with my wife for our tenth anniversary..

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Is there anything more to wish for? Leon and Semre were very helpful and hospitable in every way: they guided us to two beautiful walking tracks, cooked lovely food and created a lovely, quiet, well designed place to stay, at a paradislike spot. In the surroundings there are beautiful, spectacular walking tracks, amongst them Lycian Way tracks.
We chose the room with the bathtub at the window; a room with a view is an understatement.
Our visit to Yediburunlar was outside the peak season, so we had the place to ourselves.
The surrounding villages were great as were the villagers who invited us to drink tea and helped us out when we went astray. A great, unique experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Yediburunlar is a challenge to any reviewer. Firstly because the location and the views are impossible to put into words - they are simply stupendous. Secondly, the wonderful tasty food cannot be easily described. Thirdly, because there are some things about this place that are rather idiosyncratic. Some people will undoubtedly find these oddities irritating, while others will revel in the rustic individuality of the property. We fall into the latter category. We are willing to forgive lots of shortcomings for the sake of a unique experience in a stunning location.

You will not find a more lovely view over the Turkish coastline, with the sea way down below and mountain tops stretching into the distance. All food is normally served on the terrace which has this unbelievable view. Food is prepared by Semra and her assistants and laid out buffet style. We always looked forward to the evening meals because we found the food to be exceptionally tasty (but there is no a la carte, you take what you want from the range of dishes on offer). Breakfast is also help-yourself with cereals, fruits, yoghurt, bread and home-made jams. At lunchtime there is a good menu of simple but tasty dishes.

There is a small but beautiful swimming pool in the gardens with a nice shady area that has comfortable cushions and hammocks. There are foam sun-beds, but no loungers. By the pool there is a minibar with cold drinks available and a kettle for coffee/tea. There is no shower and no toilets by the pool, so it can be quite a climb to your room if you need to relieve yourself.

Three mornings a week, there are guided walks of about two hours through the local farmlands on rough stony tracks. You are accompanied by the hotel's resident dogs and the walk is led by one of the staff. While Leon was away this fell to Rejip who was very helpful, but he doesn't speak much English, so information was in short supply. This was a pity because we would have liked to understand the local village culture better.

The sea is inaccessible unless you are willing to climb down steep and rocky paths for an 3 hour round trip. Other marked walks are available in the area (along the Lycian way for example.

It is tarmac road to Gey village and then about half a mile on a dirt road. Fetiye is about an hour and a quarter and Kalkan about an hour away.

Our room was called Purple Rain (presumably after the Prince song of that name) and it did have some purple curtains above the bed! It is a large air-conditioned room with a big double bed - that was very comfortable - with two balconies and a modern bathroom. One balcony overlooks the rear of the hotel which is bordered by the local farmers' terraces. This is to the south west which means that it has lots of sunshine in the afternoon - fine in October, but could be too hot in the summer months - and great views of sunsets. The balcony is quite narrow and had some rather old furniture (up-right chairs) and a foam sun-bed. The second balcony has the fantastic view over the bays and the sea but can only be reached by climbing through the sliding window of the bathroom!

This is a unique and wonderful place, with great food and for that I am willing to forgive a few idiosyncrasies.

Room Tip: Check whether your room is in the main house or in one of the buildings in the garden. In the house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yediburunlar Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yediburunlar Lighthouse

Address: Yediburunlar Mah. Bogazici Koyu Esen, Fethiye 48300, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Fethiye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Fethiye
#16 Romantic Hotel in Fethiye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Yediburunlar Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yediburunlar Lighthouse Fethiye
Yediburunlar Lighthouse Hotel Fethiye

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yediburunlar Lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.