We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“going back but needs changes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mutlu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Mutlu to your Saves list
Hotel Mutlu
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baris Manco Bulv. 1332 Sok. Fethiye Merkez, Fethiye 48300, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 102 Hotels in Fethiye
stoke-on-trent
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“going back but needs changes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from an eleven day holiday in october and it was our second visit here. The hotels position is second to none and probably this paints over some of the poorer points of the hotel. We joined up with several returning guests and shall join them again in june 2014. Hussain the waiter was on compassionate leave leaving a young inexperienced lad to tend over breakfast.Eda on reception was a gem as was Tan on the bar.Mr Mutlu was in attendance at breakfast most mornings and I did find him ok although you had to make the first move. Cleanliness as usual was without a fault, breakfasts were sufficient but could do with shake up and more could be done to encourage guests to use the bar and the restaurant. Happy hours and quiz nights would be a start.The hotels location needs to be taken advantage of by the owners as its romantic setting is going to waste.
Nevertheless we are both looking forward to next years holiday, meeting up with old friends and that beautiful sunset.

Room Tip: not a problem with most rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    64
    23
    4
    3
See reviews for
43
120
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

went in october this year having been many times before, this hotel has the best position on calis
beach, but the rooms are in need of a bit of a refurb. Can't fault the staff ,all very friendly which is more than you can say about the owners, lucky if you get a nod. Eda is the new receptionist who seems to come in for a lot of stick, but i found her friendly and helpful, she works 7 days a week and does most jobs around the hotel, The cleanliness is second to none, clean towels every day,
Plenty of sunbeds with comfy cushions.

Room Tip: poolside rooms have great views of sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Went in September/October this year. Was wondering given some of the reviews what we were going to find this time. This was my 6th time at the Mutlu, and I went with my son, daughter-in-law and 2 year old grandson this year. It was great. Yes, there is a new receptionist Ada, and she is different to the wonderful Aylem. Who is a hard act to follow. But, Ada did her very best for everyone. She was helpful and polite and we had no problem with her at all. You have to speak as you find. What struck me was how rude some of the regular guest were to her. Not really giving her a chance. Being polite costs nothing at all, and she remained polite where clearly some people where being rude to her. I was shocked at how small minded people were. Its tricky when your in a new job to get things right 100% of the time, it's a learning curve. I think the trouble is most of the guests are well over retirement age and have forgotten what its like to have a new job, and how hard it can be to fit in. The owners were on hand everyday and were friendly and approachable. The food was good, the rooms and public areas are kept so clean. Tam is a total star at the bar !!! All in all it was a lovely holiday. Myself and my friend have re-booked for next year. Great place. Well done Mutlu, Ada & Tam.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a sea view so don't pay extra for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Just back from the staying at the Mutlu again and in my opinion it has really gone downhill. The rooms and building are beginning to look dated, old and tired. We stayed here last year and loved everything about it apart from the poor selection at breakfast, which hasn't changed. This year it looks like nothing has been updated on it at all. The rooms are still very clean, the maids do a good job, but they could do with a lick of paint. We stayed in room 102, it has two adjoining bedrooms, a family room really and only two of us so plenty of space, however the bathroom was tiny. No actual bath just a shower, loo and handbasin and every time you had a shower it turned into a wet room, literally. How you would manage with a family I've no idea. Also we lost the water three times during the fortnight we were there, broken pipes and tank splitting were the various things we were told, always seemed to happen at peak times. The staff are still very friendly, Tan on the bar, Hussain and a new young cheeky waiter in the restaurant. The receptionist however wasn't very helpful when we had any problems and she only seems to be happy when she's doing nothing, bring back Eylem is what we say. Shall be looking for a different hotel next stay although the views from this one are hard to beat and at the moment is the only thing going for it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front or poolside to get the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

There have been a lot of negative reviews of the Mutlu recently and we'd like to redress the balance. First of all, we didn't have any problem with the staff, including the receptionist. They all spoke and smiled back when spoken to. Secondly, we didn't have any problems with the bed; there have been a lot of people saying that they're very hard. Our bed was fine, perhaps we were lucky?

OK so there was some 'music' coming from the bar next door until about 2am most mornings, and I may have heard a dog bark one night, but it wasn't a big problem.

The Mutlu is in a perfect location. It's, right on the beach and great for watching the amazing sunsets - even better from the Mutlu's own roof terrace. Thanks to Eda the receptionist for telling us about that! Within ten minutes walk were our favourite restaurants; Casa di Mama, Bella Mamma, and Kassaba. Also, it's very close to the water taxi and dolmus which take you to Fethiye (well worth a visit and make sure you see the turtles in the harbour!).

Breakfasts were a bit samey but were perfectly adequate; and the coffee was particularly nice. When you take price into consideration we thought it was excellent value and we thoroughly enjoyed our 11 night stay. Recommended and looking forward to going back!

Room Tip: We had room 304. the third floor rooms will have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We arrived at Mutlu Beach Hotel Calis Beach late at night & was shown to our room (Rm 202) by the pleasant night porter. This was a large room that overlooked a small park & then to a Turkish Bar. The bedding was very clean & this & the towels were changed regularly by the cleaners who were also pleasant. We soon realised we were on the 'wrong' side of the hotel being kept awake by barking dogs in the park & the 'music' from the Turkish Bar that went on 'til at least 2a.m. Rm 202 needed a refurb & the shower was disgusting. We were brought a fridge which we thought was complimentary as we had not asked for one, this also needed a good clean. The hotel was in a nice spot & the restaurant & bar area were lovely & overlooked the sea however the staff were unfriendly & unwelcoming. The receptionist never smiled or acknowledged you when you passed. We have never been to a hotel before where guests have had to arrange the sunbeds &, in fact, after a stormy night it was up to us to wipe the cushions before we could place our towels on them. We came to this hotel on recommendation & because of the good ratings in the brochure. Other guests had been before were saying the same. We would come to Calis again but not to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassocks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was our first visit to this hotel and its location was on the beach. The receptionist Eda was very friendly and helpful during our stay. All the staff are very pleasant. The rooms were very clean and we had clean towels daily and the sheets were changed very often. The meals at the hotel were good and similarly priced to those restaurants on the promenade. We went to several restaurants and recommend Georges, Nil Restaurant, Bella Mammas, and Serkul 2 (not 1). In Nil Restaurant we had fillet steak which was the best we had ever tasted. Bella Mammas was Italian of course and Serkul did Turkish as well as chinese. We did not have Chinese but it looked good. Thomsons did an exclusive trip called Hidden Lake and we recommend this. It's a lovely boat ride, lunch and not commercial one bit. During our stay, we had a storm which lasted one day and consequently ate in the hotel. The chefs were wonderful and I don't know how they managed with two power cuts but they produced our dinners. Trips into Fethiye by the river taxi (only 5 lira each way) is well worth several trips. Fethiye is more up market whereas Calis Beach is more laid back - the best of both worlds. On the Sunday I cut my leg which was bleeding badly and she asked all the right questions - was I diabetic, taking aspirin or warfrin and then directed my husband to a local clinic to get gauze and elastoplast because the chemist was closed on the Sunday. Tan who was always smiling manned the beach bar and we had several lunches there which were good. Mutlu is a hotel we would go back to and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: We had a twin bedroom overlooking the park rather than the pool. My husband is a light sleeper an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mutlu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mutlu

Address: Baris Manco Bulv. 1332 Sok. Fethiye Merkez, Fethiye 48300, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Fethiye
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Fethiye
#11 Romantic Hotel in Fethiye
#12 Family Hotel in Fethiye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mutlu 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mutlu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mutlu Hotel Fethiye

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mutlu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.