We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well we liked it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mutlu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Mutlu to your Saves list
Hotel Mutlu
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baris Manco Bulv. 1332 Sok. Fethiye Merkez, Fethiye 48300, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 102 Hotels in Fethiye
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Well we liked it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

There have been a lot of negative reviews of the Mutlu recently and we'd like to redress the balance. First of all, we didn't have any problem with the staff, including the receptionist. They all spoke and smiled back when spoken to. Secondly, we didn't have any problems with the bed; there have been a lot of people saying that they're very hard. Our bed was fine, perhaps we were lucky?

OK so there was some 'music' coming from the bar next door until about 2am most mornings, and I may have heard a dog bark one night, but it wasn't a big problem.

The Mutlu is in a perfect location. It's, right on the beach and great for watching the amazing sunsets - even better from the Mutlu's own roof terrace. Thanks to Eda the receptionist for telling us about that! Within ten minutes walk were our favourite restaurants; Casa di Mama, Bella Mamma, and Kassaba. Also, it's very close to the water taxi and dolmus which take you to Fethiye (well worth a visit and make sure you see the turtles in the harbour!).

Breakfasts were a bit samey but were perfectly adequate; and the coffee was particularly nice. When you take price into consideration we thought it was excellent value and we thoroughly enjoyed our 11 night stay. Recommended and looking forward to going back!

Room Tip: We had room 304. the third floor rooms will have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    64
    23
    4
    3
See reviews for
43
120
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We arrived at Mutlu Beach Hotel Calis Beach late at night & was shown to our room (Rm 202) by the pleasant night porter. This was a large room that overlooked a small park & then to a Turkish Bar. The bedding was very clean & this & the towels were changed regularly by the cleaners who were also pleasant. We soon realised we were on the 'wrong' side of the hotel being kept awake by barking dogs in the park & the 'music' from the Turkish Bar that went on 'til at least 2a.m. Rm 202 needed a refurb & the shower was disgusting. We were brought a fridge which we thought was complimentary as we had not asked for one, this also needed a good clean. The hotel was in a nice spot & the restaurant & bar area were lovely & overlooked the sea however the staff were unfriendly & unwelcoming. The receptionist never smiled or acknowledged you when you passed. We have never been to a hotel before where guests have had to arrange the sunbeds &, in fact, after a stormy night it was up to us to wipe the cushions before we could place our towels on them. We came to this hotel on recommendation & because of the good ratings in the brochure. Other guests had been before were saying the same. We would come to Calis again but not to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassocks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was our first visit to this hotel and its location was on the beach. The receptionist Eda was very friendly and helpful during our stay. All the staff are very pleasant. The rooms were very clean and we had clean towels daily and the sheets were changed very often. The meals at the hotel were good and similarly priced to those restaurants on the promenade. We went to several restaurants and recommend Georges, Nil Restaurant, Bella Mammas, and Serkul 2 (not 1). In Nil Restaurant we had fillet steak which was the best we had ever tasted. Bella Mammas was Italian of course and Serkul did Turkish as well as chinese. We did not have Chinese but it looked good. Thomsons did an exclusive trip called Hidden Lake and we recommend this. It's a lovely boat ride, lunch and not commercial one bit. During our stay, we had a storm which lasted one day and consequently ate in the hotel. The chefs were wonderful and I don't know how they managed with two power cuts but they produced our dinners. Trips into Fethiye by the river taxi (only 5 lira each way) is well worth several trips. Fethiye is more up market whereas Calis Beach is more laid back - the best of both worlds. On the Sunday I cut my leg which was bleeding badly and she asked all the right questions - was I diabetic, taking aspirin or warfrin and then directed my husband to a local clinic to get gauze and elastoplast because the chemist was closed on the Sunday. Tan who was always smiling manned the beach bar and we had several lunches there which were good. Mutlu is a hotel we would go back to and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: We had a twin bedroom overlooking the park rather than the pool. My husband is a light sleeper an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had a good holiday here. We liked the resort and the ease to go in to Fethiye, particularly on the water taxi. The views are very nice. Plenty of good restaurants to choose from. Beaches are cleaner than they were a couple of years ago.

We think that the hotel probably suits older couples and those that like a fairly quiet and relaxing atmosphere. The pool is fairly small, plenty of shade for those that want to escape the sun and enough room to move about and not be on top of each other.

There are a few dogs that roam the resort. They were no trouble at all but if you are worried about dogs that are loose then perhaps best to avoid Calis

We found the staff were fine. Some reviews said they were miserable. They were not over chatty but were polite and helpful. The receptionist and barman were very friendly.

Breakfasts are as stated. We found them adequate, a reasonable choice and we never found the need to purchase the full English breakfast which you can do if you want. We had some lunches at the hotel and they were very good. Although we went out to different restaurants in both Calis and Fethiye in the evenings we were told by those that ate at the hotel that their evening menu was very good.

All in all we had a lovely holiday and may well return there as we liked the resort very much. To us it was beautiful to look out at the sea views. I enjoyed my swims in the sea and as I said found the beach fairly clean. Enough good restaurants, bars and shops along a lovely sea side walk to have a nice chilled stroll. Not too far from the airport and trips out do not involve too much travel. We also went on Thomson hidden lake trip which is exclusive to Thomson. Really enjoyed it and hope it stays exclusive.

We hope this may be of some help. Forgot to mention that there tends to be a fairly strong on shore breeze through the hottest part of the day. I liked this.

Room Tip: We were in room 104. It was fine for us. We do not spend too much time in our room. There is a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Booked the Mutlu Beach Hotel primarily for its location for a good social week with some good friends.
On arrival we were checked in by Eda, our friends were immediately upgraded to a family room and we were promised one the next day ( which I might add at this point was duly executed) If you're looking for comfort at this hotel...keep searching because as other reviews inform you, the beds are rock hard. If this is not a big problem for you then read on......
Rooms are very clean thanks to an excellent crew of cleaning staff...rooms are basic...no tea making facilities, and you only get a fridge if you are prepared to pay for it.
Breakfast is strictly continental, for you Brits hoping for a good old fry up..forget it! You'll have to go down the bay a bit where you can get some excellent fry ups for 10-12 Turkish Lira ( about £3 )...that's the beauty of Turkey without the Euro influence!
The pool area on the garden is really nice...pool is lovely and clean and the bar is close by and well manned by Tan. recommend the Frappe and the milk shakes. Are very good as well! Local beers are EFES....very nice ....and cheap.
Cannot fault the location of this hotel. You are on the beach so literally 20 metres or so across the promenade and you are there....recommend jelly shoes for the beach as it's a bit pebbly.
The prom leads you down to a massive selection of excellent restaurants and bars...choice is yours...Too many to recommend.
You can get a river taxi to Fetihaye from Cali's Bay for 5TL each which takes about30 mins to get there.
from Fetihaye you can get a bus over to Oledinez and the Blue Lagoon...worth a trip!!
All in all the Mutlu is a nice clean hotel which is in a suberb location but needs a bit of TLC to the rooms...It would be nice if the Breakfast was adapted a bit better for the English taste. But ooohhh those mattresses ....so hard!....be warned!
Having said all this I would go back to this hotel even if it was just for the location.

Room Tip: Ask if a family room is available...take your kettle with you...don't forget jelly shoes for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Sept 5th was our second visit to the Hotel Mutlu and was not dissappointed. I was concerned about some of the reviews but to be honest I really did not see any difference other that a different receptionist. Location amazing, ok, rooms a bit tired looking but clean enough and the staff do an excellent job also agree with a recent review the the blanket was a tad small for the bed....but hey ho!! it caused some laughs. The Hotel is great for watching the lovely sunsets and of course made even better by being served by the fabulous Tan who made us very welcome, as always.Lots of restaurants nearby....Bella Mama really good but this time we tried the hotel for dinner on a couple of nights and it was well worth it ....food was really good and staff very nice to. Booked for next year already as it is our 25th Wedding Anniversary while were are out there so looking forward to another visit. The receptionist not as bad as some made out, found the young lady helpful and pleasent. Close to the sea, nice cooling breeze, so did not use the pool area which was busy.
Thank you again for a very nice holiday. AM & K Barbour x

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Just spent a week in September at the Hotel Mutlu . The location of the hotel is perfect, very close to the beach and just a stones throw away to the restaurants and bars. Other reviews mention the staff at the hotel which unfortunately is true they aren't the most welcoming and friendly people (they need to visit one of the restaurants along the front to see how guests should be really treated),The hotel is clean and the cleaners do an impeccable job and they seem to be the only members of staff who are pleased to see you and give you a friendly "good morning". Unfortunately the rooms area bit tired and like everyone says the beds are so hard it's unbelievable. You get a blanket that doesn't fit the bed and a throw to go over it, many a morning I would wake up trying to find what I was supposed to be sleeping under. The breakfast is ok with breads, cereals, pancakes,scrambled egg and sometimes omelettes but beware if the coffee machine stops which happens regularly as the waiter made me feel that it was my fault. The hotel location is amazing and why anyone would want lie by the pool when the beach is so close I really don't know. Would definitely use the hotel again but please softer mattresses would be nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mutlu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mutlu

Address: Baris Manco Bulv. 1332 Sok. Fethiye Merkez, Fethiye 48300, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Fethiye
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Fethiye
#11 Romantic Hotel in Fethiye
#12 Family Hotel in Fethiye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mutlu 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mutlu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mutlu Hotel Fethiye

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mutlu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.