We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“8th Visit to Mutlu Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mutlu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Mutlu to your Saves list
Hotel Mutlu
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baris Manco Bulv. 1332 Sok. Fethiye Merkez, Fethiye 48300, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 101 Hotels in Fethiye
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“8th Visit to Mutlu Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We have just returned from our 8th stay at The Mutlu. They have made a very good job of improving the gardens around the pool by cutting down some trees and making more room. We miss Eylem on reception but Eda the new receptionist is very helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble for her. All the staff are excellent. As in previous reviews the rooms are kept spotless by the cleaners. The breakfast is adequate, but would be nice to have some fresh fruit. Only complaint is that it is about time the matresses for the sun beds were replaced with more comfortable ones.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    62
    23
    4
    3
See reviews for
43
117
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

What can I say - this is probably the best holiday hotel I have stayed in, and I have stayed in many 5 star ones. It's not luxury, the rooms are simple but well equipped and maintained. The breakfast is typically Turkish, usually with one hot additive, but well presented and fresh. What sets it apart is the location and staff. It sits at the southern end of the beach, so it is quiet but still only 100 metres from the centre, sandwiched between the sea and the canal. Views are amazing whether eating breakfast outside or sitting at the beachfront bar with a beer. The staff, from the waiter right through to the boss are extremely helpful and friendly. I can't think of a better place to have a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: None of the balconies have sun all day. Even numbered room get early morning sun and odd ones overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the mutlu hotel 7th-21st july last year.
We don't normally book 3 star hotels as we like a bit of comfort,but due to a few extra celebrations and having a couple more holidays than expected we decided to cut back a bit!
We were pleased we did as the location was perfect for beach,restaurants,shops and walks etc.
The receptionist Eylem was exceptional ( although it took me a couple of days to pronounce her name) she knew ours after the first day.Nothing was ever too much for her,she was very attentive when need be.All the other staff were also very friendly and attentive.
We hope to return again soon for definitely.
A big thank you to Eylem and staff

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipe Gate
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My Partner & I have just returned from a 21 night stay (8th Oct – 29th Oct) at the Mutlu Beach we choose the hotel because we had earlier this year holidayed in Egypt (Luxor) and Portugal (Albufura) but at both 4 star hotels we had to endure loud noise from in-house discos or entertainment bars often into the early hours.

The Mutlu Beach advertised neither and was described as “small & friendly” , it was small 45 rooms but certainly not friendly maybe because it was nearing the end of the season but that is no excuse for poor service – this was our first experience of a 3 star hotel and for us a lesson learned and never to be repeated.

Reception – was staffed by mostly sullen unhelpful males more interested in their mobile phone conversations or watching TV, rarely did we receive a good morning or good evening in fact most times the counter was unmanned.

Accommodation – The room was very basic but clean the biggest problem was the lack of hot water most days, the a/c was controlled by reception the room temperature was set by them which remained at 24° day & night. We paid an extra £75 for the use of a safety deposit box and mini fridge. Out of 22 TV stations only one (BBC World) was in English and this was frequently unavailable due to “no signal” none of the other 21 were affected.

Breakfast – If you could call it that consisted of either an omelette or fried eggs, toast, damp cereal, dried fruit , jam, four tasteless cheeses, sliced salami, tomato & cucumber with tea & coffee. The most spartan breakfast selection we have ever experienced. We bought our own fresh fruit, cheese & cereal.

Pool Area/Gardens – the “spacious gardens” advertised were unkempt with many areas of bare grass leaving just bare earth; the local dogs roam the area constantly leaving their messages which remained in situ for days.

The Mutlu Beach is located at the farthest end of Calis promenade adjacent to a very noisy Turkish restaurant & dancing venue which operates well into the early hours. When we raised the issue with reception they were well aware of the problem and stated that as the restaurant operators enjoyed a good relationship with the local municipal authorities there was little they could do and suggested we complain to the Tourist Office, this we did and the noise reduced dramatically.

One afternoon we were in our room when smoke entered our room we immediately checked the corridor as we were aware there was just one stairway serving all four floors (no alternative means of escape!!). The corridor was clear and we found that the smoke was coming from the kitchen service yard below our second floor window and balcony, staff were burning rubbish which permeated into our room via a poorly fitted window. We reported the incident to the management who instructed the burning to cease but we had to leave the room for the rest of the afternoon to allow the smoke & smell to disperse.

We would rate the Mutlu beach 2 stars and would never return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed here in August 2012 for two weeks.

Positives:
1. beautiful views of the bay - make sure you ask for a sea view and not a pool view as the view is spectacular!
2. rooms are basic but clean - power shower, small bath and spacious balconies; and the cleaning staff are second to non.
3. bar area and restraunt offers stunning views of the bay and the food is delicious (probably the best on the prom), with a lovely ambiance - great place to have a beer/glass of wine and a bowl of olives/slice of pizza after a long day on the beach (two minute walk to the hotel)
4. staff are friendly and helpful - always a relaxed atmosphere and a wealth of local knowledge
5. Calis area is perfect for a relaxing holiday and offers a lot of options for exploring - the dolmas (bus) and water taxis are very accessible and fair in price (don't be afraid to use them, there perfect and v.popular); also you can arrange for a boat trip for the day with the water taxi people which are much smaller than the commercial (expensive) 'booze cruises'; and are great fun, traveling to all the same areas.
6. Go to Rhodes for the day - book with Seaside Travel on the prom and travel from Fetiye harbour! Perfect day trip!

Negatives:
1. aircon in the hotel was sometimes faulty and stopped working completely one night... the slamming of the balcony door to get the air con working gets a bit tedious but mamagable
2. a fridge is not in with the price and cost £50 for the two weeks - they need updating as not as cold as you might like, but would absolutely recommend it
3. the pool area can get quite rowdy as others (non residents) are allowed to use if they buy a drink - ignore the signs 'no towels before 8am' as we witnessed a free for all at sun up and the staff did nothing to prevent it
4. bar tab - don't be tempted to use one as many staff serve behind the bar and we witnessed a mix up between local spirits and imported ones (the prices differ)

Overall, this hotel is superb and perfect for a chill out holiday; so much so, it entices return guests every year (some for many years).

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Mutlu Hotel is lovely and in an excellent location. Most rooms have wonderful sea views. We were lucky to have a full sea view room and enjoyed sitting in the balcony every evening watching the gorgeous sunset. Gonca is in reception and is such a lovely person - nothing is
a bother for her - always a smile - a little angel! All the staff are good but Tan in the Bar is so
nice and always happy. Good choice of breakfast. Rooms are kept so clean with fresh towels
every day and the cleaners are again very friendly and hard working. Looking forward to a
return visit next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

a great hotel, right on the seafront, could not be better location. The rooms were fine, all with balconies and sea views.
There are 4 floors and one lift which broke down a couple of times whilst we were there, so if you are reliant on a lift, I would ask for 1st floor rooms only.
I would definately go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mutlu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mutlu

Address: Baris Manco Bulv. 1332 Sok. Fethiye Merkez, Fethiye 48300, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Fethiye
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Fethiye
#11 Romantic Hotel in Fethiye
#12 Family Hotel in Fethiye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mutlu 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Mutlu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mutlu Hotel Fethiye

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mutlu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.