We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saklikent

Saklikent
Yakakoy Seydikemer | Selale Park Yaka Selalesi, Fethiye 48300, Turkey
532 485 76 90
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 27 Attractions in Fethiye
Type: Canyons, National Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Ubud, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“An Excellent Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

First, the ride in -- we enjoyed the day trip into the Turkish countryside. Small towns, Roman ruins on the hillsides, pomegranate and olive groves and vineyards along the way. Then the gorge. A 2k hike through the icy pale blue/green water at the bottom of a stunning canyon with great water carved sculpted sides and layers of ancient exposed rock. Some climbing, slipping and sliding, then a waterfall. We only hiked that far. We didn't need a guide, but were very grateful for our swimsuits cause we got thoroughly wet, and the jelly shoes we rented at the entrance, cause the stream bed is very rocky. After returning to the canyon opening, we had fresh squeezed pomegranate juice from a vendor there, and a great trout lunch served on a rug padded platform out over the river.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    803
    336
    72
    19
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“wonderful day out*”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

long hot day went round tlos then excellent lunch at yaka park so the trip to the gorge was a welcoming sight and funny when my crazy hubby had a ice cold shower !

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Perfect on a hot day, and just a little bit adventurous!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Shady and cool water: I can imagine in the full heat of summer this is a welcome trip!
We went in October when it was still warm enough. I'm guessing the water levels may be at their lowest at this time of year, reaching not much more than top of legs at deepest part. The coldest, deepest and fast flowing bit is at the beginning so once you've done that you're ok!

After that it is mud which will pull off your shoes. We wore old trainers and were grateful for the laces. With plenty of rinsing afterwards they were unspoilt when they dried out.

Shower and changing cubicles at the end, so you can change afterwards.

Our group elected not to do rafting, which involves drifting down river away from the gorge and then being brought back up.

We went on to Tlos afterwards, with lunch at yakapark. A good day trip.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Do not get suckered into taking a guide - you do not have to have one no matter what people say. Its a moderately easy walk to the waterfall and well worth it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stunning scenery brilliant atmosphere. out of this world. would reccomend to anyone. visit this site

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saklikent also viewed

Fethiye, Mugla Province
Fethiye, Mugla Province
 
Fethiye, Mugla Province
Fethiye, Mugla Province
 

Been to Saklikent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saklikent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.