We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saklikent

Saklikent
Yakakoy Seydikemer | Selale Park Yaka Selalesi, Fethiye 48300, Turkey
532 485 76 90
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 27 Attractions in Fethiye
Type: Canyons, National Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Wirral
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Refreshing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

A nice place to go for a change and some respite from the heat. Take your swimsuit or at least something that you can get wet in up to your hips. I wore my bikini and sarong. There are changing cubicles available and water shoes to hire which are necessary for walking on the rocks.
The first part of the water to walk through the gorge is quite deep and currents are strong in places so it might be hard for those with mobility issues or carrying children to keep their footing. After that it's only inches deep except in a couple of places and a lot calmer. You get good views of the gorge and lots of photo opportunities. There is mud that you can put on your skin but very little really I thought. We were warned not to accept help from boys asking if you wanted help as they would expect money from you and pester you.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    803
    336
    72
    19
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Very picturesque tried to cross gorge but lost my nerve..water very cold..went to ride the rapids from here ..great fun...visited the gorge on a jeep safari Michael the guide made the mud bath unmissable.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Nice views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We went there as part of a Jeep Safari from Fethiye. The entrance fee was 5 TL / person. The views from the canyon are spectacular and worth passing the cold water. You should get some water shoes as there are rocks and the flip-flops are usually taken by the river. If you don't have water shoes you can rent a pair for 2 TL. Almost all the walking is through the river and sometimes it gets deeper and slippery. Be prepared to get wet! At the entrance in the water, where the current is strong there is a photograph man and you can buy your photo for 5 TL at the exit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A dangerous beauty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The water is freeze as the sun doesn't penetrate the water but it's worthy swimming and walk trough the canyons to see the beauty of the place. But, make sure you bring a submersible shoes as the place is full of mud and stones. Besides, to "fight" against the water flow there is a need to dress appropriately. Don't make the same mistake that I did: bring a waterproof camera.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Seeing is believing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

It's no wonder this is a top attraction, this place is amazing! Our party spent the day on a Jeep Safari ( a fantastic days entertainment in itself). Do bring some money with you as there is a small charge to enter. Also take some neoprene type shoes, the current is initialy strong & some of the rocks are a little slippery. We had a great day out Alibaba Jeep Safari - if you don't mind getting a soaking! Not to be missed.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saklikent also viewed

Fethiye, Mugla Province
Fethiye, Mugla Province
 
Fethiye, Mugla Province
Fethiye, Mugla Province
 

Been to Saklikent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saklikent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.