We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing hotel and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bahar to your Saves list
Bahar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calis Plaji, Fethiye 48300, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 101 Hotels in Fethiye
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“amazing hotel and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Just returned from this wonderful hotel. Never been to turkey before and would definitely go back to this hotel. Food was limited but was plenty for us and the soups were to die for. The staff were lovely and very helpful. Pool area and hotel in general were spotless. I have no bad comments to make regarding this hotel and trust me there was no noise coming from the bar at the front, but they did make amazing cocktails. This hotel is a must.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    62
    26
    5
    1
See reviews for
41
131
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have just returned after a week at this little gem of a hotel. Having been to Turkey three times previously, this hotel and resort was by far our favourite. The room was beautiful, bathroom ultra modern and staff kept everywhere spotless. Food was of a limited choice but everything we ate was fresh and tasty...and no tummy upsets (1st time ever!)
The staff were all very friendly and approachable, giving advice when asked. The location is ideal, slap bang in the middle of a prom with great restaurants, bars, shops minutes walk away. The Lighthouse bar attached to hotel is very nice for a nightcap when all inc finishes at 11pm.
We LOVED the Bahar and plan to return as soon as we can.
(1 request....a chest of drawers under dressing table would be great)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Let me say that I am writing this from my room as we are still holidaying at Beautiful Bahar.
The review by Tony K criticising the food has little merit. OK.....if you are used to triple money 5 star Hotels that have massive menus of food and cocktails then you may possibly be disappointed at Bahar. If however, you enjoy fresh local produce cooked in traditional recipes by authentic chefs then you will love it here.

Breakfast today was omelettes as the hot option: salamis two local cheeses, olives,tomatoes melon,toast ,cereal etc etc etc.
Lunch was homemade mushroom soup , chicken goujons and home cut chips umpteen different fresh salads and cooked veg dishes ALL WERE SCRUMPTIOUS.
The same goes for dinner:only two hot options but both so delicious.

If you are a big carnivore then maybe book elsewhere but if variety is not high on you list of priorities then you'll be fine. The last word on this subject goes to my Greek wife. She says of the food it is like having food prepared by her late mother and aunties when she was back home in Cypress.....surely that is recommendation of the highest order!


Regarding the rest of the hotel every review says it all. From the moment you are greeted by Melda on reception you are welcomed into the family Bahar.

In all the countless hotels we have stayed at worldwide, non can come close to the friendliness, cleanliness and relaxiness (is there is such a word? )of this remarkable oasis.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Where to start? This holiday really was absolutely fantastic. I generally tend to not leave reviews, however, I felt my stay at the Bahar Hotel was so good I had to give praise. My girlfriend and I stayed at the hotel for 10 nights in early June- Aged 19 and 22 respectively.

First of all the food. Please ignore the comments others leave about the food served at this hotel. I feel people are forgetting they are on holiday in a DIFFERENT country. The whole experience is to try new foods and experience the local produce. The food was GREAT! It was healthy, colourful and plenty of it. The latest comment left saying there was only one choice and there was no vegetables is utterly ridiculous!! There were always three choices minimum, with soup also and a whole tables dedicated to fresh vegetables and salads. The comments people are leaving about not being served full english breakfasts, are you kidding me? You are in Turkey, the food they serve is lovely fresh and ideal for the climate. Stodgy, greasy bacon is not what you want in that heat. In short, the food is fantastic and anyone who says otherwise has done no research into the culture and if they want to eat fatty, sugary foods should not book a trip to a country with such a wealth in healthy produce therefore enjoy it and please ignore the comments from some people they are ridiculously narrow minded.

Secondly, the rooms were absolutely fantastic. Bedding and towels changed EVERY DAY, the rooms are large, come with free air conditioning and a large bathroom with a wonderful wet room style shower. We had hot water all week, even during longer showers. The room was spotless as soon as we entered. A TV gave a range of local channels which provided some great comedy and the BBC news so it was easy to keep up to date with at home also. Cannot fault the room at all.

The staff are really what makes this hotel so fantastic. They cannot help you enough. The fact that some people have the audacity to actually leave reviews saying there are not enough English speakers is crass beyond belief, once again. You are in TURKEY! Not the UK, you would not expect any Turkish visitors to the UK to speak only Turkish to you. Nevertheless, the lovely receptionist speaks remarkable fluent English and will do everything in her power to help you r stay- she gave us directions, recommendations and genuine conversation on a daily basis. The rest of the staff all speak enough English to go about day to day with great ease. They are all far more pleasent than you would find in any hotel in the UK, special mentions to the young waiter and bar girl who both are fantastic at their job.

General hotel comments. The pool is cleaned both at night and in the morning by the night watch man who will greet you very pleasantly if you are arriving or leaving late. The hotel provide sandwiches for guests who are leaving for the airport which is a great and caring touch. The reception area, toilets and pool areas are spotless and cannot be faulted at all. There are plenty of sun loungers to share and the pool is very large for the size of the hotel. The area around is quiet and peaceful. The bar serves a delicious local beer, local spirits and mixers. The bar is open 11-11 which worked perfectly for our stay.

All in all, this hotel really was fantastic. This is coming from a young couple- the primary suspects of whom would normally complain to the heavens if the place was not up to standards, however, we both could genuinely not fault one thing in our stay at Bahar, except to say it was not long enough of course.

Some last comments. I feel a lot of people on this website want a holiday were they pick up their British home and dump it somewhere with some sun. There is very little acceptance to the local culture and people need to stop being so naive and remember quite how much of a bargain this hotel is. TIP WELL!!

Room Tip: We had an "in-land" facing view which was absolutely fine. If you have a stay like we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

A group of 4 of mixed ages (60,16, 24, 28) stayed for a week at the end of June/early July.

We had an amazing stay, the staff could not have been more accommodating or welcoming. They go out of their way to ensure you are comfortable and happy at all times. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Mary, Marella and Farouk were splendid and the food is superb. It is cultured with something to please everyone and you can eat as much as you like. The bar is more than adequate with cold draught lager being served from 11am everyday.

The rooms are of such a high standard, above and beyond anywhere I have stayed abroad previously with a wet room, balcony and air con!! The room service is brilliant.

The rooms with a view are fantastic.

It was my birthday whilst we were staying and Marella (receptionist) ordered a cake on request which was here the next day and Mary (bar maid) lit the candles and sang to me and cut the cake up for me!!

The guests were all friendly and many people had been before or would definitely go back.

Overall, I could not rate this hotel highly enough and would encourage you to try it. I cannot wait to go back. We are looking at booking to go again in October but please don't book so we can't go back!! :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view as this is stunning. Our was on the 3rd floor and was fantastic!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Just got back and am feeling guilty about leaving this review, Staff, Rooms and Pool areas are great, but the two big issues are the food and Noise


Food - great if your on a diet, 1 choice only, No veg, and very basic salad, desert was an orange cut in 4, or banana chut in 5 !!! This needs toi be improved big time.

At the pool bar about 15 yards from our room there was loud music until 3 or 4 oclock every evening, was a nightmare.

Sorry guys these little things would make the Hotel a great place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Have just return from at week a this lovely family run hotel. I can only 'echo' previous comments. Have stayed in many 4* and 5* hotels worldwide and this is on par with the best for cleanness and beats some of them hands down.

We shall be returning sooner rather than later. Thank you to all the staff for a most enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahar

Address: Calis Plaji, Fethiye 48300, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Fethiye
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 101 Hotels in Fethiye
Hotel Class:3 star — Bahar 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Bahar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.