We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mendos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mendos to your Saves list
Hotel Mendos
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calis Beach | 1080 Sokak, Fethiye 48300, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 101 Hotels in Fethiye
Cheshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

When you arrive at The Mendos, it does look a bit dark & gloomy. At check-in I asked if they had but a cot in the room which we had earlier requested, they hadn't but within an hour the room was ready, so glad we were in Mendos 2 which is right on the front. We paid £100 extra for a sea view room & my Father also paid the same, although he could only see the sea if he was a Giraffe stood on a coffee table, so the hotel reduced the extra supplement to only £50 for the fortnight. Once in the room, the room was clean & tidy, but you do have to request for the fridge to be unlocked. The linen & towels were changed everyday & the room was thoroughly cleaned too. The staff were fantastic & couldn't do enough for you. I asked for a yoghurt for my son, the hotel didn't have any, but one of the bar staff walked to the shop, about 10 minutes away to get me some. Ali & Joseph where great & the steak in Lileys Steak House is the best I have ever tasted, even better than Marco's & Rick Steins! I have not one really negative thing too say other than be on your guard for the towels on the sunbeds, I was at the pool at 7am with my baby son & all the sunbeds had gone, another slight negative is that guests staying in Mendos 1 came over the road to our pool, so at times it got very crowded. Unfortunately we had to visit the Hospital, where they have an English speaking translator on at all times. For those travelling with babies, Calis Beach does not have a shop that sells powdered or cartoned baby milk, or jars of food, but there is a Supermarket about 10minutes in a taxi. Holiday & reasort was that good, we are going back in about 3 weeks. The Terras Bar on top of the Hotel ,is a bit more expensive & hotel guests get 10% off the cost of the drinks, the sun set is amazing, the best I have seen.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    28
    11
    1
    4
See reviews for
16
14
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
middlesbrough
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

this was our first time in turkey, so we were unsure what to expect but were pleasently surprised by the hotel and resort, the reception staff were very friendly and helpful on arrival, carrying our cases to our room, The room was very clean and tidy, a little bit too much furniture in, there is no need for a coffee table, balcony was small but had table and two chairs overlooking a back lane and view of the mountains. The bathroom was ok, shower leaked quite a bit but was not too much of a problem,we were in the second block of the hotel and went to the beach front block for our breakfast over a small road. Breakfast was lovely, plenty of selection of cold meats, cheeses, eggs and salad, there was also cereal, yogurt and fresh fruit, you helped yourself to as much as you want. The staff were friendly and helpful, though they seemed to speak more german than english but this was fine, mixed nationality in the hotel but again more german people, but they didn't nick all the sunbeds! You hire the safety deposit box for ten pounds which is in your room, never felt worried about security in the hotel, you have to ask them to open the mini-bar which was locked when we got there and we were told it was only for items bought at the bar, not for items from outside the hotel, but bar was reasonably priced anyway. The location was great, one minute walk to the promanade and bars, plenty of choice of food, would recommend hotel and resort to over thirty age group and families, not for clubbers and party goers

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucuresti
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

clean hotel, good value for money, verry friendly staff.
the view over the seea at sunset is fantastic!
ideal for family , quiet and relaxing place.
nice black sand beach CALIS.
in the neighborhood are many interesting places.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

I have now stayed at Mendos Hotel twice in 2009, and can't fault it. The location is fantastic, situated on the beachfront of Calis Beach. Eating breakfast with the sound of the waves, amazing!
The hotel is 3 star, and certainly exceeds expectations. The rooms are spotless, yes they are a little small but perfectly adequate. The staff were always polite,friendly and helpful, and nothing was too much for them.
The resort is small and welcoming, some great restaurants and bars along the seafront. Perfect place to watch the amazing sunset.
One thing I would say is the hotel should advertise the "Teras Bar" more. Beautiful views of the resort, it was a shame it was so quiet up there.
Will be booking my next visit soon, and can't wait to be back there!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

I was surprised to find that the hotel was very very basic after reading the reviews. The room I stayed in could probably just accommodate 2 people so good job I was travelling alone with a single traveller group. The balcony was just about big enough for 1 person at a time. Lots of extra's charged for the fridge, safe and keeping on the room for a couple of extra hours as our flight was 5 mins past midnight so technically the next day. I wouldn't advise paying extra for half/full board as the food was terrible. The bloke behind the bar at the pool was very rude to one of our party just for drinking from a bottle of water not purchased at the hotel. The reception area is in the basement of the main building and is very dingy. However, saying all that the hotel was right on the beach which was very nice and the bars and restaurants along the promenade were great. There was a rooftop bar which was nice but not well advertised therefore nobody was ever up there!
I would visit the resort again but would not choose the Mendos Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

Officially rated 3 star, but in many respects better than some 4 star hotels I have stayed at.
This hotel is in two parts straddling a road, each with its own swimming pool, but with all facilities available to guests in both sections. The main part fronts onto the pedestrian promenade and the beach. The section furthest from the beach does not have a lift (elevator). No shampoo, body lotion or shower caps provided in the bathrooms.
The hotel is well run.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

It was my first time in turkey and I really enjoyed everything about it. There was nothing I could fault.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mendos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mendos

Address: Calis Beach | 1080 Sokak, Fethiye 48300, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Fethiye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Fethiye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mendos 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mendos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mendos Hotel Fethiye

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mendos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.