We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, great people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oykun Hotel

Save Saved
You added Oykun Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oykun Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calic Mah. Bin Sok., Fethiye 48300, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 101 hotels in Fethiye
London
1 review
“Great stay, great people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Returned from this hotel after one week stay from 7 October. Was picked up by hotel minibus, lovely driver who stopped and got us bottled water. Hotel lovely and clean weather fantastic, staff soo lovely, especially Goldie. Waiters work so hard. Enjoyed the staff show on the Saturday was really funny. Freddie wad gangham style was hilarious. Thank you Oykun will return next year hopefully

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    305
    93
    20
    4
    5
See reviews for
90
230
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had a great time again at the Oykun, Went independently this time after awful Thomson flight experience last year. Great value for money. Hard working and friendly staff ensure a fantastic stay. Breakfasts were varied, loved the made to order pancakes, Well done Freddie for compering the staff entertainment night, great BBQ meal and what a Belly Dancer. Goldie is superb behind the desk, she is very helpful and has lots of good advice. For a great night out check out The Guitarist Bar in the square near the main road, fantastic entertainment from keyboard player and guitarist. Sit and listen or dance in the square under the moonlight.

Room Tip: Depends on the time of year. We were away from the bar area but you can't legislate for selfish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We have just returned from a two week stay a the Oykun Hotel. It is exactly as described - "small and friendly" and we were certainly not let down.

The staff are absolutely fantastic, so friendly and so helpful and they do go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant and enjoyable as possible. As many other people have said Goldie is a lovely lady and a fantastic receptionist.

The bedroom accommodation is quite small but is kept extremely clean by the lovely cleaning ladies.

The breakfast selection is one of the best I have ever experienced in Turkey and we have been to many other hotels in Turkey.

The pool areas are immaculately clean and very spacious and thankfully while we were there we did not have a problem getting a sunbed.

We can understand why people return to this hotel over and over again and we would certainly recommend it to others and may return there sometime in the future after we have tried a few other places for our holidays.

Our only little complaint - and this is not the hotel's fault - is the amount of people smoking in all the public areas and particularly on their balconies. Unfortunately for us we had a very heavy smoker next door, next door but one and underneath us, so it was impossible for us to sit out on our balcony and if we had the window open even slightly the smell filled our bedroom. As I said this isn't the hotel's fault but one way round this would be to make one bedroom block non smoking and the other one a smoking block if possible.

In conclusion this is a very well run, very clean, very friendly hotel and I would certainly recommend it for a pleasant holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckinghamshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My Mum and I stayed at the Oykun 13th September for a week. I chose this hotel due to the good reviews and good location and we were not disappointed. We arrived around 2 am to a fast and friendly check in, our bags carried up to the room, which was nice.
The room was very clean and an adequate size for the amount of time spent in there. The only slight fault I could find was that the bed cover was a bit strange, no sheet just sleeping straight under a bedspread, which was a bit scratchy. This however was resolved when we asked the maid for an extra sheet, which was no problem at all. In the bathroom we had a bath with shower over. The hair dryer in the bathroom is quite good for a wall mounted one.

The breakfast was very nice and exceeded our expectations for continental breakfast. There were cereals, lovely bread, jams, lots of cheese and ham etc. Also most days there was someone cooking eggs however you liked, fried, omelet etc. They have coffee, which is nice and Turkish apple tea, but not English tea, so if you like tea you should probably take your own. I’m sure anyone could find something they liked.
We had a salad in the pool bar at lunchtime one day, which was really lovely. The whole menu looked very good, but we didn’t try the main meals as we were bed and breakfast and there are so many lovely restaurants nearby.
The pool areas are kept very clean and tidy and the loungers comfortable. To be honest we didn’t spend that much time around the pool, as we loved the beach so much. Caretta and the Surf beach as others have mentioned are great value.

On our first day we made use of the Turkish bath that is in the hotel. We asked to have the female masseuse. What a fantastic experience! We’d never felt so clean and scrubbed. I would highly recommend this treatment and it’s only 25TL too! Do it when you first arrive though.

The location of the Oykun is great; everything is in easy walking distance. It is one road back about 2 mins walk from the main street where there are lots of shops and restaurants and about a further 5 mins to the sea front where there are loads more lovely restaurants. Between the two is the water taxi dock where you can go across to Fethitye, I recommend this it’s a nice ride for 5TL. It is very easy to get about on the Dolmus which seems to stop anywhere you want to get on or off for 2TL each way.

We had a late flight, but we were able to keep our room on until we left which was great because it meant we could have a full day and evening meal before we left.

All the staff are really friendly and helpful especially Goldie on reception in the daytime. You can see why there are so many repeat guests at this hotel and we fully intend to return as soon as we can!
For a great value, great location, relaxed and friendly hotel, the Oykun is a great choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

What can I say that others haven't about this hotel, from the food that was very good and fairly priced. The rooms and pools spotless and plenty of beds around the pool and the staff worked hard day and night and always had time for you. We needed to keep our room on because we would have had a 13 hour wait for our pick up so we asked goldie at reception who was great and she said no problem but you will have to change rooms which was no probs, plus we where allowed to keep it until midnight. Hotel close to bars and loads of places to eat also close to the beach a lovely little town, will most certainly will return for lovely relaxing holiday. (we stayed the first week of sept)

Room Tip: ask for the new block to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

For the money you just cannot fault the Oykun, we booked direct with hotel £15 each per night b+b also Airport return transfer £65.We were given a top floor apartment in the older block, towels and bedsheets a little worn but everything spotlessly clean.
Suffered a little noise from the bar area in the early hours a few times they could easily use an enclosed area after a particular time to prevent this.
The room maintenance was poor the shower head would not stay attached to wall and the towel rail bar(strangely situated above toilet) was also missing.The hotel need to monitor the rooms better rather than rely on maids or waiting for someone to complain.
Could only use the free wifi around bar area not room.
These are just minor issues to which i feel guilty in complaining about because the Oykun team were superb.
Most will arrive when its dark so to reach front turn right out of hotel then next left this will take you to the Main street, if you then turn right this takes you to the River bridge and towards the seafront, suggest then turn right for restaurants/bars.
We enjoyed Restaurants } Georges, Casa da Mamma,Kerim and also The Brothers for good value set meals.
Walk towards turkish flag to Caretta beach for free sunbeds and excellent food/drink service if you spend 10tl.

Room Tip: Email for either apartment, standard room or with balcony,or lower floor if more suitable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have just come back from the Oykun, where we stayed for 2 weeks. The hotel is basic, but good value if you just want a room to change, sleep etc. The staff are friendly, and the rooms and public areas are clean and functional. The hotel and area are quiet, and the majority of the guests staying won't see 50 again. If you want to go out clubbing until dawn, the Oykun is probably not going to suit you. If you want a relaxing holiday in a no-frills but good value hotel, I would recommend it. The other recent reviews have it spot on.
Made a mistake on the reviews of Fitness centre and room service, got carried away clicking. As far as I know, these are not provided, I certainly didn't use them. Don't know if this will appear in the final review, can't work out how to delete them.

Room Tip: No lifts, so if you can't get up the stairs, you need a ground floor room. Our room (1316) was q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oykun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oykun Hotel

Address: Calic Mah. Bin Sok., Fethiye 48300, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Fethiye
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Fethiye
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fethiye
Hotel Class:3 star — Oykun Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Oykun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oykun Hotel Fethiye

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oykun Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.