We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but some things to improve” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oykun Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Oykun Hotel to your Saves list
Oykun Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calic Mah. Bin Sok., Fethiye 48300, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 102 Hotels in Fethiye
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but some things to improve”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

The hotel was OK, good value for money, we were placed in a room in front of the pool and we were asked to move to a more private room and they did it without a problem, however, some of the tourist blocked the sun beds too early in the morning, so excepting for you to wake up at 7 am you won't get a place to rest.

Also, the guy at the bar, was quite rude with non British tourist and was too interested in talk and flirt with the drunk ladies rather than provide a good service, when we asked for Turkish tea (chai) we gave us Lipton tea telling us that was traditional Turkish tea, and he has a long nail in this little finger that looks disgusting.

The lady at the reception is lovely and very helpful and they allowed us to used internet because the wireless network was not working, and the cleaning ladies were delightful and very nice, and the breakfasts were great.

The only thing that is really disturbing (apart from the bloke at the bar), is that the hotel focuses only on British tourist, providing entertainment for them, as quizz nights and variety shows that are a bit "chav" and that the menu is based on fish and chips and burgers. It would be great if the praise the Turkish culture rather than blackpool entertaiment. I might go back, but not in the summer, considering that the area of Fethiye and Calis are great places.

Price: Good value for money
Service: OK
Staff: Almost perfect
Food: For British people only

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    106
    22
    5
    5
See reviews for
101
259
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tring, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We have just returned from a week spent at the Oykun hotel and we found it very good value with excellent service. It is set back from the beach which means it is much quieter, something we were looking for. Nothing was too much trouble and although the rooms can be fairly small, they are very clean and the staff are very friendly. The choice of two pools is good and we essentially had the place to ourselves despite it being October half term. Calis is a good place to explore the local area - the little boat into Fetiyhe is delightful and cheap. Calis Beach can be very 'English' in the sense that the 'strip' on the beach offers lots of English breakfast and roast dinners and you do get hassled by the restaurants and shops. If like us you prefer Turkish food served by locals then try the Oben Restaurant at the far end of the 'strip'. The food is prepared by a local family who obviously love preparing it as you hear lots of laughter coming from the kitchen. The food is very fresh, local and delicious which makes a change from the standard food in the commmercial part! The Oben restaurant is a little known gem - try it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

The Oykun is very good value, and an excellent choice for those on modest budgets. Oykun is effectively two hotels connected into one, and the quietest rooms are the outward facing rooms on the north side of the original Oykun block.
Our room was small and our bathroom was miniscule, no plugs of course, how are you supposed to have a bath without a plug? The towels were so worn you could see through them. It would be a nice gesture to supply at least a small bar of soap! There was a lot of mouldy silicone sealant everywhere.
You've a choice of two pools, each in a pleasantly sheltered courtyard setting, so there are two distinct areas to sunbathe, swim, read and relax. There are plenty of sunbeds, comfy cushions and parasols. Pools are very clean, a decent depth, but rather cold.
Food is very good. Service is excellent. We had booked a half board package through Olympic, but it would have been cheaper to pay Oykun's a la carte prices. In any case Cialis Beach has dozens of restaurants at competitive prices, so B&B is the sensible option for full flexibility.
Oykun's breakfast/dining/bar area is airy and cleverly laid out. If the weather is bad (we had three days of heavy rain) huge plastic roller shutters are lowered to keep the place cosy and dry but still provide an open view.

Cialis Beach itself is a mystery. It's filthy. It's ankle deep in dog-ends and plastic bottles, plus broken concrete blocks from parasol bases strewn around like land-mines. The beach is a mile long, enjoys fabulous sunsets, and should be Cialis's pride and joy. Admittedly it's just grey grit and gravel, but at least it could be cleaned up. What a tragic waste of Cialis's main asset.

Finally, a word of warning: Oykun has a bowling green and so the hotel is sometimes block booked by English bowling clubs. Members of the group which arrived during our stay were high spirited, easily amused, and presumably deaf. Certainly their endless high volume guffaws and cackling laughter became very tiresome. I'd recommend that non-bowlers check dates with Oykun before booking.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corby northants
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

my partner and I stayed in this Hotel for two weeks in september this year, we found the staff very friendly and nothing was too much trouble, it was bed and breakfast and the buffet choice was excellant, there was also a large main meal menu if required and the odd time we used this we found the food very good, when we go back to this area in the future we will definately be staying at the oykun, thank you all there for a wonderfull holiday.

Room Tip: try one looking onto the bowling green.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We have been holidaying in Calis for 14 years and stayed in a number of different hotels until we discovered the Oykun 5 years ago, now its the place for us every year. It is a friendly family run hotel, spotlessly clean and very conveniently located for shops bars and restauraunts. I would agree with 'Lollysoxs' comment about all staff being very nice and helpful apart from 1 barman who is not very friendly. Goldie on reception is lovely and nothing is any trouble for her. The hotel might be only 3 stars and some of the towels and sheets may have the odd hole in but I have stayed in a number of 4 star hotels when the service cleanliness and facilities are no where near as good as the Oykun. I can not really comment on the food, we always stay bed and breakfast and the breakfast is mainly Turkish and fine. We usually have a snack lunch in the hotel and these can vary in quality depending on who the cook is that day however in general the snacks are good. We have never had an evening meal in the hotel as we like to get out and about in the evenings, as others have stated Calis has many good restaurants and it is very cheap to eat out. Give the Oykun a try and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: No lifts so if you have difficulties with stairs, ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

After arriving late at night at Dalaman airport it was great to be greeted by the hotels mini bus. After about 50 minutes our party (24 in all) arrived at the hotel. Instead of going through the normal check in procedure, we were asked our names, given the room key and said we can complete all other formalities in the morning. This got us off to a great start and allowed us to stop and have a late night drink in the bar. The rooms were very clean however; the bedding on the first night did not include a top sheet but a rough type of blanket which did not allow a great night’s sleep. All this changed the next day when we asked and got a top sheet from reception. We stayed on a half board basis and found the food to be fairly basic and somewhat repetitive, but very edible. On Sunday we had a roast but unfortunately the vegetables were not even ‘al dente’. We agree with other comments about the towels being a bit rough and also we found them to be somewhat jaded some with many holes. One great point about the shower is the pressure of the water which was most impressive, especially when you can get poor water pressure in many higher star hotels.
All in all, the hotel was very clean, the staff and management extremely friendly who helped make our stay very enjoyable. There were a couple of days of heavy rain but that’s not unusual in October. There are many inexpensive restaurants around Calis, so it’s not difficult to go out and have a good evening if this takes your fancy.
Would we return? Yes. Would we recommend the hotel to friends? Yes providing they are aware that it is only three stars. Is it worth the 50 minutes transfer time? Yes, especially as this should improve when the new roads have been built.
Finally, many people gripe at paying £10 on entering the country, well this is well advertised and if people objected they should not have gone in the first place. We must bear in mind that our Government impose similar taxes when flying but these are included in the airline prices.

Room Tip: As the hotel does not have any lifts it would be sensible to ask for a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dersingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

well! what can i say to some of the reviews.Some people go on holiday with nothing on their minds except yo pick holes in everything they do and see, we do not, we go to relax and enjoy ourselves, meet new people and explore different ways of life.
Our fist time at the oyken this year was lovely,we were met by ihann?(excuse spelling) at the airport who took charge of our bags immediately and ushered us into the minibus to go to the hotel where we were met by the night receptionist and one of the owners.We were greeted and handed our keys to our room, we were told about breakfast times and escorted to our room by ihann, he showed us how to use the door key and phone system he carried our bags up the stairs and into our room, we were left to unpack and settle in.We went down to the bar area some 20mins later and were greeted by other residents and staff with hellos and smiles, all very friendly.our room was in block 1 and was always kept clean and fresh by the staff,our beds were made each day, floors washed if needed,towels changed and folded into amazing shapes on the beds.The staff all of them spoke to you when they saw you even the laundry ladies who spoke little english said good morning.the breakfast and all meals were wonderfull, plenty of choice and variation, of course some things were repeated but they are a staple diet.Freddy the barman and velli? were great they could not, as with all the staff do enough for you.Anything you wanted to know you just needed to ask goldie on reception during the days, she is a hive of information and always willing to pass the time of day if she has time.The turkish baths downstairs were lovely and well worth the money i had two and an oil massage which i found very relaxing, the lady masseuse is a very nice lady.
NOW.As for the party of bowlers from southend.........What a group?............My husband and i enjoyed their company so much so that even i sat and watched the bowls,,,Yes they were loud, They were happy, they were a lovely bunch of people on holiday who didnt go around with their mouths on the floor, they were lively,good fun,happy decent people over in turkey to play bowls and have a holiday at the same time, they joined in the hotels entertainment nights,turkish night was a scream, my mouth hurt from laughing so much,they were an entertaining bunch of people,always cheefull,smiling and polite ,even when they lost they smiled about it.It was the president of the clubs birthday whilst they were there and theyd arranged a surprise for him with a presentation and ended the night with a karaoke in the bar which freddie set up on the bars tv so everyone could join in, we were invited to sing and i soon found myself on the mike with my partner for the night SYLVIA,it was a great night and great fun was had by all who joined in, even freddy sang a song,lovely.
I certainly woudnt class myself as an oykenite(as someone has suggested people are)i am just a satisfied customer who goes on holiday to rest and enjoy myself, i can not fault the oyken and the staff and we will definately be going back next year for our anniversary in september.Well done oyken you have a lovely hotel....

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oykun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oykun Hotel

Address: Calic Mah. Bin Sok., Fethiye 48300, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Fethiye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Fethiye
#4 Spa Hotel in Fethiye
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fethiye
Hotel Class:3 star — Oykun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Also Known As:
Oykun Hotel Fethiye

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oykun Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.